Customer Reviews


101 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


80 of 87 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars AN EDUCATIONAL ODYSSEY AND POWERFUL POLITICAL STATEMENT...
In this autobiographical work, the author attempts to put forth his views on a number of topics within a personal context. He does this within the framework of his being Mexican-American. His parsing of the effect that education had on his life is both interesting and food for thought. While education provided a means of connecting to the world outside his cultural...
Published on May 8, 2005 by Lawyeraau

versus
25 of 34 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Makes some good points but boring as hell
Indeed Richard makes some good points about bilingual education and affirmative action - and they ARE well worth noting (how affirmative action doesn't benefit those who need it the most)....but everything else about this book [is bad]. His writing style is very self-absorbed. His opinions are inserted after just about EVERY comment and EVERY action ANYONE (his family...
Published on August 17, 2003 by DP


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

80 of 87 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars AN EDUCATIONAL ODYSSEY AND POWERFUL POLITICAL STATEMENT..., May 8, 2005
This review is from: Hunger of Memory : The Education of Richard Rodriguez (Mass Market Paperback)
In this autobiographical work, the author attempts to put forth his views on a number of topics within a personal context. He does this within the framework of his being Mexican-American. His parsing of the effect that education had on his life is both interesting and food for thought. While education provided a means of connecting to the world outside his cultural enclave, it also created a distance between him and his cultural roots. As he assimilated into the larger world outside his immediate cultural milieu, it created a divide between him and his parents. As they remained in their self-contained, unassimilated world, only their mutual love for each other was able to bridge the chasm that education created, for figuratively they no longer spoke the same language.

Likewise, the impact and influence that his early Catholic parochial school experience had on him resonated with me, as I myself was a product of such schooling. His reminiscences brought back many memories for me, most of them positive ones, despite some of the obvious pitfalls inherent in that sometimes narrow, parochial education framework that often favored rote learning over intellectual or critical thinking. Indeed, his love of reading, as is mine, emanated from that early educational experience, which greatly emphasized reading. The impact and influence that Catholicism had on him had are fertile grounds for discussion in the context of liturgical reform and its effects upon community. As a Catholic having lived through the reforms initiated by Vatican II, I understand and appreciate his analysis on the demystification of the liturgy and the loss of the mystical in its transition from Latin into a vernacular language in its celebration of the concept of community. These reflections are intermingled with his thoughts on the Catholicism that he was taught in school by the nuns, a Catholicism that was influenced by the "bleak melancholic strain" that runs through Irish Catholicism. Having been taught by Irish nuns as a child, this, too, resonated with me. I also remember well those lessons taught through the strict use of the Baltimore Catechism, a fairly dogmatic and rote approach to Catholicism that is, for the most part, no longer employed.

The author's personal educational experiences and reflections have caused him to formulate certain views on bi-lingual education and affirmative action. His views on these issues are the very same views that I hold. Being a Cuban-American, I relate to many of his experiences as a Mexican-American, and his careful analysis of these issues hits home in many ways. Integrated into his analysis is a certain amount of irony. I agree that, oftentimes, a minority who has succeeded academically and professionally is often marginalized by society, relegated to speaking for all minorities, as if one size fits all. Missing from the equation, now a parody of social reform, is the fundamental issue of class. It is an issue that is largely unaddressed n in these programs of social reform. For those who claim that the author was the beneficiary of affirmative action, it should be noted that the author would have been able to get into Stanford, where he went to college, on his own merits, as he was certainly not educationally disadvantaged. Moreover, as a scholar who desired the intellectual stimulation of academic life, he chose to give it up as a form of protest against affirmative action. Instead, he became a noted essayist and social critic.

What is also of interest in this book is what is missing. As I read the book, the sense of estrangement from his family was palpable, as was his loneliness and the lack of any mention of social congress. His was, indeed, a solitary existence, as if the author were not yet in touch with a part of himself that he had sublimated. His sexual identity is a totally blank slate within the pages of this book, as if a portion of himself had been excised. Where it is indirectly alluded, it is ambiguous, at best, referred to as sexual anxieties. At Stanford, he notes, however, that he began to have something of a "conventional" sex life". This, I felt was a curious use of the adjectival and more meaningful within the context of what is not discussed. His mother called him, "Mr. Secrets", ostensibly because he told her little about his work in San Francisco. As a mother, I suspect it is probably because she already knew at some level what the author was reluctant to reveal at the time, even to himself. Later on, the author made a declaration that was probably already subliminally known to his family. As did his educational advancement, this secret may have also contributed to his feeling of estrangement from his family and his culture. After all, in the world of machismo, the concept of homosexuality is one that many traditional Latino families still have difficulty accepting. It took the author many years to come to grips with his sexual orientation. It was only years later that he publicly acknowledged what is evident to the discerning reader of this book.

While the author has a voice that should be heard, his style of writing is often pedantic and somewhat strained. The construction can be quite awkward and stilted, as if the author were stylistically distancing himself from his own life. So, while I find his critical analysis of certain issues to be on point and often brilliant, the style in which he conveys his thoughts, at times, acts as a distraction and an irritant. Still, for those readers who can look past some of the stylistic bombast, they will find a wellspring of insightful, critical analysis of social issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful and deeply moving., October 23, 1999
This review is from: Hunger of Memory : The Education of Richard Rodriguez (Mass Market Paperback)
Vance Packard, in researching his book "The Status Seekers," found that upward mobility in the United States was much more difficult than Americans would like to believe, and that those who were successful made it largely by cutting ties to their roots. Although framed in the context of ethnicity--Richard Rodriguez' book makes that same point. Moving up from working class to upper middle class promised success and acceptance and self-respect, but getting there was a little like edging out onto the ice, feeling inadequate and fearful that at any moment he might fall through. This book will resonate with anyone--immigrant or not, minority or not--who has made such a journey. Rodriguez scathingly criticizes affirmative action and bi-lingual education programs, correctly identifying the first as promoting socially crippling labels--"disadvantaged minority"--and the second as an obstacle to what he sees as the keys to success in America--a solid education and learning to speak and write English well. Rodriguez discovers early on what many of those with romantic notions about their ethnic or racial heritage eventually come to realize--that he is an American. But in the sadness he feels at the growing distance between himself and his parents, he fails--and several previous reviewers of this book fail--to note one very important thing. Upward mobility occurs incrementally, not in one leap. Rodriguez was put in a position to get that excellent education, to learn to speak unaccented English, and to become a respected author and scholar by parents who left Mexico and the little homogeneous Catholic towns and moved to the United States. In short, by parents who had cut the ties to their own roots.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still Controversial--After All These Years, September 19, 2001
By 
This review is from: Hunger of Memory : The Education of Richard Rodriguez (Mass Market Paperback)
I'm an author of a mystery novel in current release that features a Stanford-educated detective of Latino heritage as its protagonist, an American government/economics teacher (for over twenty years) in a rural California high school with a student population that is over 98% Latino, and I have attended several lectures/discussions by Richard Rodriguez over the years. His HUNGER OF MEMORY remains one of the most controversial books in the community in which I work for a significant portion of every year. HUNGER OF MEMORY is viciously hated by some of the most gifted students I have ever had. Others love it. My fellow professionals argue over Mr. Rodriguez and his positions on assimilation and bilingual education. I respect this book and this man. I don't necessarily agree with all he writes, but I do agree he writes what he writes well. I admire what Richard Rodriguez has gone through in life, and I admire the courage of his positions. HUNGER OF MEMORY is an excellent book that anyone interested in the contemporary American Southwest should read. It is extremely educational.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb job of capturing with words what many of us (first and second generation Americans) feel, June 4, 2006
This review is from: Hunger of Memory : The Education of Richard Rodriguez (Mass Market Paperback)
I return to this book 8 years after I read if for the first time. Within minutes I find myself recalling the Sunday brunches my parents used to prepare for our entire family, the joyful sounds of my growing up in Virginia, after spending my early years in Eastern Europe. I intimately know the things Mr. Rodriguez writes about, because I've experienced them.

The book itself is an abstract approach to the original structure of an autobiography. It lacks the voluminous accounts of monthly or yearly accomplishments (Colin Powell `My American Journey' or Bill Clinton's `My Life' come to mind). Rather, the author takes on a path of moral reflection on the time it took one boy to become a man and the education it took to transform one's identity. He assembles a combination of essays through which via a free flowing narrative, he conducts self-examination over the emergence of his `public' character and the replacement of his `private' persona.

But there is something else in this book. There is longing. Longing for the days when the 'sounds' of his family brought meaning and recognition for what he was meant to be, for where he was meant to go (or was that a childhood illusion?). A reader would find it difficult to ignore the author's emotional yearning for the past for a childhood now gone, when love, and family, and values, and identity made sense.

Mr. Rodriguez has done a superb job of capturing with words what many of us (first or second generation Americans) feel as members of families with similar backgrounds.
I highly recommend this book.

-by Simon Cleveland
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stealing Caliban's Advice: On Hunger and Coming of Age, January 23, 2000
By 
This review is from: Hunger of Memory : The Education of Richard Rodriguez (Mass Market Paperback)
To my surprise, in the index of my eleventh grade American literature textbook, I found my own surname. I quickly turned to the listed page, and I found out what U.S. author shared my name. Richard Rodriguez. I found an excerpt of HUNGER OF MEMORY (1982). I read about the "grandiose" reading program the emerging author embarked upon to become what he believed was "educated." This was to become for me the beginning of such interest in the power and pleasure of words and languages.

Although many critics, including Mexican Americans and U.S Latinos, publicly challenge and denounce the author and his thoughts, I am surprised to find that rarely is the book read in its entirety--a reading that the autobiography merits. Instead, readers tackle the author's political positions of the early 1980s.

The autobiography flows with clear, succinct prose and addresses issues of language, literacy, schooling, and education. I highly recommend the book for its style and grace. Readers will learn how Richard Rodriguez achieves academic success and the position of a public man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-read for teachers of immigrant and minority students, November 1, 2000
By 
This review is from: Hunger of Memory : The Education of Richard Rodriguez (Mass Market Paperback)
I just finished reading Hunger of Memory as an assignment for a Language and Literacy class I'm taking in my teacher training program. I recommend this book to all teachers or to people like myself who are planning to be teachers. Rodriguez does a outstanding job of capturing the feelings of confusion and separation one feels when learning English. I liked how Rodriguez corelates language with intimacy. He talks a lot about how Spanish was for him a language of intimacy and family. When he learned English in school, however, he lost a lot of that intimacy in the home when he began to lose his language. One particularly sad part was when his grandmother died and he wasn't able to speak to her or say goodbye beforehand because his Spanish was so limited and his grandmother spoke only Spanish. Towards the end of the book, Rodriguez exhibits a lot of honesty and courage in writing about his feelings on affirmative action. As a result of assimilation and studying in England, Rodriguez no longer felt like he could be an effective role model for minority students. However, because he was a Mexican-American with a Phd in Renaissance Literature and because he was a "minority professor", he was expected by Berkley administrators (and students) to be such a role model. When some hispanic students ask him to teach a minority literature class at a community center, he declines. As a result, they treat him like a sell-out. All in all, I admire how Rodriguez is not afraid to take stances on issues like affirmative action and bilingual education that go against what is expected, considering his race. One would expect him to be in support of both programs, but he is not. Though I do not agree on his stances on these issues, I truly admire his ability to be true to his convictions in spite of being called a sell-out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A POIGNANT TRANSFORMATION, August 12, 2001
By 
Dorothy Weiss (ORLANDO, FLORIDA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Richard Rodriguez shares how education transformed his life forever in this searing, poignant, candid autobiography. He became a confident, capable, knowledgable, strong individual who could speak, write, debate, communicate with others beyond the comfort zone of his immediate family. He ultimately amazed elite scholars with his brilliance, but he writes that he lost the close, warm loving affinity with his family, his roots. He is painfully candid. His courageous stance on both bi-lingual and affirmative action programs may make some readers uncomfortable, but his reasoning is sound.Read the book. It is an honest attempt to portray one man's journey from illiteracy. It is the american dream gained, and a detailed passionate account of the price one man paid to achieve it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Powerful Book Which Reaches us All, October 1, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Hunger of Memory : The Education of Richard Rodriguez (Mass Market Paperback)
Richard Rodriguez has taken the time to write about what many people experience. An amazing author, Rodriguez takes experiences from his own life, and he extends them to strangers who unwillingly relate. Rodriguez is a Mexican-American man who grew apart from his family in order to gain a "public identity." He does an outstanding job of pointing out how both Mexican and American society simultaneously alienates people for being different. His powerful experiences and writing style can extend to any class, race, age, or gender. His common experiences are what many people have also experienced. Rodriguez does a tremendous job in explaining the public vs. private self, which I have found to be extremely true. A great deal of people in today's society can either compare or contrast their own experiences to his life, which makes his writing so much more powerful than his fellow authors. The issues Rodriguez discuss are all important in society and too many people can relate to his suffering, which says something about society. This is a tremendous book to read, because it makes people reflect on their own life, and take a closer look at how society truly transforms a human being.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Analysis of Identity and Culture, March 31, 2003
By 
"kjm92648" (Fullerton, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hunger of Memory : The Education of Richard Rodriguez (Mass Market Paperback)
This is truly an amazing work by Richard Rodriguez. He touches on the very nature of personal identity, and how one's public identity interacts with the majority culture.
Rodriguez is definitely a "pocho," but perhaps that is why I, and I suspect many others, relate to him so fully. Hunger of Memory is much more than a coming of age story; it is a journey of self realization and cultural observation.
For anyone who has ever felt a part of two different worlds, yet not fully resembled either, this is the book to read. It compels you to think beyond convention, and search your soul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intimacy through language, February 6, 2000
This review is from: Hunger of Memory : The Education of Richard Rodriguez (Mass Market Paperback)
Rodriguez writes about the intimacy of the native tongue. The Spanish language allows him to express thoughts and feelings in ways that the Enlgish language cannot. My feelings are similar when speaking to my parents and grandparents. This book changed my outlook on culture and language and the interplay between the two. I have focused on maintaining tradition that I once saw as unnecessary. I am once again buying this book to keep on my shelves to read and re-read again and again......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Hunger of Memory : The Education of Richard Rodriguez
Hunger of Memory : The Education of Richard Rodriguez by Richard Rodriguez (Mass Market Paperback - February 1, 1983)
$7.99 $7.19
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.