Professional restaurant supplies Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Sixx AM Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Made in Italy Amazon Gift Card Offer out2 out2 out2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors Kindle Paperwhite UniOrlando Spring Arrivals in Outdoor Clothing STEM

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars29
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 2, 2014
With Chris Cornell and Eddie Vedder, you really can't go wrong. This song was always my favourite on the CD and since the CD "disappeared" I decided to just purchase this song rather than the whole CD again. The download went well and fast. I am please to have this in my collection again.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2015
Hunger strike song review
By Brad Wallace.

A deep and troubling tune that harkens back to depression era struggles. The song focuses on Eddies reminiscent and visual description of his life in the shanty with his kin Chris Cornell. It is obvious from the lyrics and video that Eddie has wondered off and lost his way home, metaphorically and literally. Like in "an american tale" where feivel sings under the moon the camera shows back and forth vocal diatribe between the separated singers who long for each others comforts in a cold and foodless world.

Song grade B+
Video grade A-
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2013
I remember hearing this song on the radio back when I was in high school but didn't know anything about it, I heard it on the radio the other day and found out what it was and bought it. Brings back memories, nice song too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2015
a lot of people love this song but dont know its true meaning. chris cornell has been quoted as saying that the lyrics are about an olden cabin in the middle of the woods, and a family that stole bread from decadance, they killed a deer and spilled blood on the table, the fire was cookin' and they choked on blood at some point but its origins are unknown at this time. pearl jam heard of this story and were compelled to visit the olden cabin with their band gear and a gas generator. they all jammed out, including matt cameron of soundgarden fame and then told fables of the olden family and their trials in the foodless lands.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2012
This song comes out of the alternative side of the house. Nevertheless it should have broad appeal across most genres. It's well written, great melody, vocals rock, and the band obviously gave it all on this track. I would have given it a 4.5 if possible. All serious rock fans should enjoy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 25, 2012
I heard this song when I was a kid. I didn't know what it was called, or who sang it, or the lyrics. I was so psyched that Amazon had it. Real easy to download.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 2013
Soundgarden and Pearl Jam together. Can't go wrong. Great mix of both bands. Bring back the flannel, go Seattle! Long live grunge
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2013
This tribute to Andy Wood by his original group, Chris Cornell and Eddie Vedder is one of Chris's best, yet. The music and lyrics, everything! Love every song.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 11, 2013
Eddie Vedder with or without Pearl Jam has a powerful voice and can make a song come "Alive", this is a great song with a powerful haunting chorus!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 26, 2012
For me, it doesn't get better than the voices of Pearl Jam and Soundgarden together in one song, and such a beautiful song at that. YAY!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.