Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4.5 stars for Hunger Untamed (Feral Warriors, book 5)
The one person who holds the power to save two trapped Feral Warriors is the same woman who broke Kougar's heart and their mating bond a thousand years ago. The love and heartbreaking loss Kougar felt for Ariana is now replaced with anger and contempt for letting him believe she has been dead. Whether she wants to or not, he will make her help his fellow Ferals. Ariana,...
Published on February 22, 2011 by Stephanie G (Reviewer for Para...

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3.5 stars - Kougar's mate returns from the 'dead'
There is less than a week left before the spirits of Feral Warriors Hawke and Tighe are severed and their dead bodies expelled from the mystical trap they are caught in. Just when there seems to be no hope, fellow warrior Kougar discovers that his mate Ariana and her mist-shifter people are not extinct. Ariana is the only one with the power to rescue beings caught in a...
Published on March 3, 2011 by melindeeloo


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4.5 stars for Hunger Untamed (Feral Warriors, book 5), February 22, 2011
The one person who holds the power to save two trapped Feral Warriors is the same woman who broke Kougar's heart and their mating bond a thousand years ago. The love and heartbreaking loss Kougar felt for Ariana is now replaced with anger and contempt for letting him believe she has been dead. Whether she wants to or not, he will make her help his fellow Ferals. Ariana, queen of the Ilinas, did what she had to a thousand years ago to save the remaining of her kind and Kougar's life. The threat to them all is more dangerous than ever. Seeing Kougar again reminds her that she has never stopped loving the strong warrior. It's a love that must remain hidden. The lives of many depend on it.

I had a serious dislike of Ariana at first. By breaking her bond with Kougar, she not only hurt him physically but emotionally. Then I learned why she did it. A Mage used the strong disapproval of one of the Ilinas for Kougar and Ariana's bonding as a way to hurt them all. With her people dying, Ariana had to make the decision to hide her maidens away and sever the bond between her and Kougar. She loved Kougar and it took everything in her to stay away from him. I felt for her and respected her for the difficult choice she had to make.

Kougar has lived in a state of numbness since the break of his mating bond. When it was remade at the end of the last book, it was as if a fire was lit inside him. He is rightfully angry at Ariana and plans to force her to save his fellow Feral, not caring about the cost to Ariana or the Ilinas. They quickly realize that their people must work together in order to save each other. This causes Ariana to spend more time with Kougar and the love and lust they once had comes back. Kougar begins to understand why Ariana did what she did. He opens up to her more than he did when they were first mated. Kougar is a mystery wrapped in a sexy alpha package and he's hard not to love.

When Kougar talks to Ariana about his early years, we learn more about what happened when the Mages and Therians combined their power to defeat Satanan and his horde. I found it all really interesting because he wasn't retailing it from a story someone shared with him. He was talking about what he saw first hand and it gave a more personal touch to the tale instead of it feeling like I was reading it from an old text.

The Mage who caused all the pain between Ariana and Kougar has not given up his hold on the Ilinas. Through the bond between Ariana and Kougar, the Mage will use all his power to destroy the Feral Warriors, paving the way from the release of Satanan. Pamela Palmer's latest is full of passion, action and heartache. The race to save the lives of Hawke and Tighe is a nail biter. There was a subplot involving the badly scared Wolfe and a human that needed her memories erased. I really hope that means that Wolfe's books is next because the way things were left off really had me wanting to read his story. I say this each time I finish a book but this is my favorite in the Feral Warriors series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Read, July 13, 2011
When a reader is in the mood for a gripping and suspenseful read on the dark side, where the hero and heroines have to be strong because the villains seem stronger, then this book delivers with nail biting intensity.

Hunger Untamed is the latest adventure that follows the Feral Warriors - men with animal spirits who guard the unsuspecting human population from an unspeakable evil. Their world is harsh, violet and blood flows freely. The bad guys are a tragedy because they weren't always this twisted and bent. There's another force trying to break free into our world and it not only has corrupted people of magic and beauty and consumed their souls, it has destroyed families and lovers. The only thing that stands in its way is the Feral Warriors.

That's a lot of pressure and stress to place on someone's shoulders. There's been four Feral Warriors that have found their happily ever after for now, so far. I say that they have a HEAFN because their lives are always on the line; danger stalks them at every turn, so love and tenderness, sentimentality and passion are treasured gifts that possibly could be taken away at a moment's notice. That is where this book picks up. In the last book, two of the warriors are caught in a trap set by the corrupted mages - magical people who are tied to the earth. It would be helpful for readers to have read the previous books but by no means mandatory. Ms. Palmer presents enough information for a reader by the emotions and actions of the characters within the story, and through internal and external dialogue so what is at stake and who can be hurt by the current conflict is clear and concise.

In Hunger Untamed, Kougar reunites in a bitter fashion with the absolute love of his life. There's a ton of angst, anger, hurt and mistrust muddying the waters. Add to the potential loss of his brethren and Kougar's a man on the edge, willing to do whatever he has to do save his brothers. But will that include forgiving the woman who betrayed him? That's a tough call and one that seems an impossible task. The author allowed me to get into Kougar's head a bit where none of the other characters seem to be able to. There are things that are hidden still, but I found out about the depth of his pain through the telling of the story. The fact that he survived what he has, that he didn't go mentally loony as I know I would have, is a true testament to his courage, loyalty and honor. It describes the man that he is and he fits my description of a tortured hero.

Ariana is a warrior queen who, unbeknownst to Kougar, has had to carry a burden of equal severity for a thousand years. Her loss is a tragedy itself. Her fears are real and she's haunted, tormented and on the run. She's a woman of great beauty inside and out with a fierce loyalty and dedication to those in her care. She's paid the ultimate sacrifice by losing Kougar the first time, but to lose him again will kill her. Talk about drama and emotional connection. This book has it all.

What shines through is the love the hero and heroine truly have for each other. It should have died because of all the lies and deception but true love, the kind that weathers the storms and brings strength out of chaos, never dies - it just gets sidelined for a bit. Their love is battle-born and stronger for it, much to my fascination. As harsh and cruel as things seem to get, I still found hints that gave me hope that had me rooting for their love to conquer all.

Like all good books, heroes and heroines need a little bit of help from their friends. Secondary characters abound. Again, although most are from the previous stories, I don't believe readers will get lost. If anything, it might intrigue them enough to read the previous adventures in the series. Roar is really cool and I enjoyed his tale. Ms. Palmer is great with tortured heroes and every one of them fits the bill to one degree or another. There's even a secondary thread that I think might be a curveball. Although it seems resolved, with Wulfe and Natalie, I somehow don't think so. When you read this book, keep an eye out for that part and how Wulfe reacts; it could be my wishful imagination, but I don't think so. Then again, the author never seems to do what I expect of her. Half the fun is the surprises she throws at me.

I do have to warn readers about some of the violence. There's this one part that really grossed me out. It wasn't gratuitous and it wasn't arbitrary and it turns out to be the only course of action that would have worked. What I'd like to know is how in the world Ms. Palmer even imagined such a thing in the first place. Didn't it give her nightmares? Feel me shudder.

A different kind of shuddering goes on when Kougar and Ariana succumb to their passion and explore their physical love. It's scorching and worthy of a cold shower. Or two. Kougar sure knows how to please a woman and Ms. Palmer sure knows how to write all about it.

Hunger Unleashed will grip a reader's imagination, heart and emotions. I wanted to rail against the injustice of it all and kick the bad guys into the next worm hole for daring to mess with my favorite guys' happiness. All the Feral Warriors deserve their happily ever after and Kougar's story is one that satisfies on many levels. Now, I'm chomping at the bit for who is next because every one of those hot and hunky men has a story to tell and a woman to find. Readers who enjoy the talents of J. R. Ward will find much to enjoy in the Feral Warriors series - the men are just as charismatic and alpha as one could wish, tempered with the ability to love a woman senseless. What more can a reader ask for?

Originally posted at the Long and Short of It Romance Reviews
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hunger Untamed, April 11, 2011
Kougar has been simply surviving for a thousand years. The woman he loved and mated betrayed him with such ease that Kougar has yet to forgive himself for being so stupid. He can't stop thinking about her, not because he still cares, but because he wants revenge. Two of his fellow warriors, men he loves like brothers, have been thrown into a vortex with no hope of surviving. That is unless Kougar finds Ariana, the lover who deceived him so long ago. He will find her and when he does, she will pay.

Ariana is the Queen of the Ilinas. She can change to mist and infiltrate even the most forbidden of places. Many eons ago she was married and in love but had to choose her fellow Ilinas above herself. Now, Kougar has found her and demands her help. And she wants to help him, but for one minor problem. To do so could mean death.

Hunger Untamed is the story of Kougar and Ariana. Both believe the other has forgotten what they used to mean to each other. Their hearts have been broken because of an epic battle that took place so long ago but is still fresh in their minds. The hunger and passion they feel for each other is wild, passionate and for lack of a better word, completely untamed! Kougar strived so hard to not love Ariana that I smiled at his fearsome persona, but could totally see underneath his bluster to the man yearning for his woman. It was totally shiver-licious!

If you aren't addicted to this fabulous series then let me suggest you start at book one, Desire Untamed! Pamela Palmer has woven an intricate world with her Feral Warriors being the good guys striving to keep humans safe from demonic domination. Hunger Untamed, Book 5, will leave you breathless with anticipation as to what is going to happen to these mighty men and the women they love!

Talia
Reviewed for Joyfully Reviewed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3.5 stars - Kougar's mate returns from the 'dead', March 3, 2011
There is less than a week left before the spirits of Feral Warriors Hawke and Tighe are severed and their dead bodies expelled from the mystical trap they are caught in. Just when there seems to be no hope, fellow warrior Kougar discovers that his mate Ariana and her mist-shifter people are not extinct. Ariana is the only one with the power to rescue beings caught in a spirit trap - but convincing her to save his friends seems like an impossibility because in order to enter the trap she'd have to sacrifice her own people in order to save his.

Hunger Untamed was a mixed read for me. A thousand years ago a spell caused the queen Ariana to sever her bond with her shifter mate Kougar - the then leader or the Feral warriors - emotionally crippling him from grief from her 'death' and leaving him thinking that all her people were extinct as well. Over the course of the story when they come back together, Ariana's reasons for her actions feel like they change and then it's almost like the whole thing was just one great big misunderstanding which is a plot device that I don't care for at all. It didn't help that I also had a hard time warming up to the Ariana, and it bugged me that physical attraction is what made Kougar overcome his animosity towards her. I would have been happier if some bigger action on her part was what helped to make up for the pain of her deception, abandonment and betrayal.

Balancing my issues with Ariana out a bit was that Palmer filled in a fair amount of the back story for the Feral warriors decline. Since Kougar was there when the clans lost something important, she showed us what that meant to those who retained that power. My favorite part of the story though was a sub-thread focused on the scarred Wullf, involving his interactions with a human woman, and her blind brother - the humans both now know too much after being victims of the Daemon attack in the last book. I hope this was setup for the next book because I'd really like to see more of Wullf - although I suspect that the spiritually damaged Hawke is likely to be the next feral warrior up to bat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hunger Untamed/ By Pamela Palmer, November 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hunger Untamed (Feral Warriors Book 5) (Kindle Edition)
This book starts out with love and betrayal a thousand years ago with a lost so great it tears the heart and soul into. Leaving only gray and no feeling to live with. It brings us to this time and a man looking to save two of his friends from a spirit trap. To do so he must open up an old wound and find the woman he had been let to believe had been dead for a thousand years, as she is the only one who can get his friends out of the spirit trap. Mean time she's been fighting a battle of her own, trying to keep a poison from killing her people for the last thousand years. If she does what he wants before she finds the cure all her people will die. Its a matter of trust. If they had trusted enough to share a thousand years ago a lot of good people could have been saved both his and hers. In order to win they're going to have to learn love and trust as they never have before. Lots of action,and battles between shape-shifters,mist woman, and the evil Mage.
I hope you enjoy this 4th book of the feral warriors series as much as I did. I can't wait to read the next one. A.D.A.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Book Series, October 13, 2012
This review is from: Hunger Untamed (Feral Warriors Book 5) (Kindle Edition)
The Feral Warrior Series was a great find! I read one of them in another book series and got hooked! I think this was one of my favorite in the series. There is a mix of everything in these books and I can't wait for the next two releases!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Feral Warriors #5, September 13, 2012
One of the many things I love about this series is how when going from one book to the next there isn't any time gap. When we closed Jag and Olivia's book Kougar was going to hunt an Ilina. He is hoping to find his mate that he has had no contact with for a thousand years. For this being a rekindle story it did not flow in that sense. There is a reason they have been apart, it is the reason they have remained apart. When Ariana and Kougar initially became mates someone close to them slipped them a Mage potion that kept the mating bond from forming properly. It did a lot more. As we know the Mage are evil and want only their society succeed. This is where most of my annoyance comes in. The individual that sabotaged the mating and thus set up an entire race to fail is still very present. No one views this person as a big evil who must be punished. (I did! And I hated that character from the very first.) That aspect right there brought this book way down for me.

This book is almost a 3 Star. Wulfe, Natalie and Xavier save this book. We learn some very interesting stuff about the oversized wolf resident at Feral House. We get a peek at how he viewed his mating with Beatrice, the previous Radiant. He is currently having some problems due to the death of his mate. I also think he currently has a crush on someone and it is really sweet. Really makes one look forward to reading his book. Natalie and Xavier are two of the humans that were saved from the very climatic ending of Rapture Untamed. There is interesting stuff going on with how Feral House handles humans who know their secrets. Feral house also gets a new resident. Also we are five books into a series that has plenty of sex going on between all these mated couples.... One of the females is finally pregnant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars strong Untamed romantic urban fantasy, February 24, 2011
Hawke and Tighe are caught in a spirit trap with no way to escape without external help. Kougar knows one person who can free the two trapped Feral Warriors; the one person he does not want to ever see, a woman who betrayed their love. However, he pleads with his former mate, Ariana Queen of the Linas to help them.

Ariana conceals something from the male she has cherished from afar for over a millennium even when he turned his back on her as they come from two different races. She would like to help his beleaguered friends, but is unable to do so though a frustrated Kougar assumes she is just being spiteful. Instead she knows that in spite of their being soulmates, she and her beloved must never reconcile or else the darkness will accelerate the pace engulfing this realm.

The fifth Feral Warrior romantic urban fantasy (see Passion Untamed, Desire Untamed, Obsession Untamed and Rogue Untamed) is a super tale filled with action yet driven by the lead couple as each knows it is not easy being in love with someone from the other race. The story line is fast-paced from the moment a frantic Kougar begs his soul mate to save his comrades and never slows down as the heroine struggles with a dilemma between her desires and her responsibilities. Fans will relish this strong Untamed thriller.

Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My favorite so far, May 21, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
First off, let's discuss the cover. When this series started, I actually hesitated to buy the books because the covers were kinda....well, tacky. Things have definitely changed for the better with the last 2 installments. I think this has got to be my favorite so far. Anyhooooo...

I think Ms. Palmer has now really hit her stride with these stories, also starting with the last book. Though the first were entertaining, I think we're now seeing a higher emotional level between our alpha males and their woman, and the stories flow much more smoothly. I thoroughly enjoyed this outing. I've liked Kougar since the beginning, and was looking forward to finding out about his broken mating bond. And what an emotional rollercoaster Kougar and Ariana's story ending up being! I'm really looking foward to the next book...and I'm keeping my fingers crossed that it will be Wulfe's!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great Feral Warrior book!, April 16, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Pamela's heros are always the perfect blend of sexy, naughty, and vulnerable. They are irresistible and this latest is not exception! Her take on shifters and paranormal feels really fresh. I recommend starting at her first book in the series and going in order, but this one could stand alone too. She is not afraid to write "hot' and even though we always know that the H/H are going to get together at the end, she really knows how to play up the tension keeps you wondering! The whole series is great! Get it!
xox
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.