Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Terrific "B" Action Flick
I wasn't terribly impressed with the last Anchor Bay DTV action flick starring former wrestler "Stone Cold" Steve Austin, THE STRANGER, but as I'm always up for some testosterone-fueled cinematic mayhem, I decided to give the latest Austin vehicle, HUNT TO KILL (2010) a spin anyway.

I'm glad I did.

Austin plays a Border Patrol Agent named Jim Rhodes...
Published on November 25, 2010 by Christopher Mills

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Can Austin Contend With The Wilderness, Villians, And His Own Daughter?
Steve Austin multi-picture deal with Anchor Bay films has resulted in another direct to DVD feature here in "Hunt To Kill." Austin stars as a Jim Rhodes, a U.S. Border Patrol agent in Montana, who has his daughter with him on Winter vacation with them having a strained relationship. She gets caught shoplifting & is being held in the local sheriff's office for him to...
Published on November 8, 2010 by D.P.


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Can Austin Contend With The Wilderness, Villians, And His Own Daughter?, November 8, 2010
By 
D.P. (California) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Hunt To Kill (DVD)
Steve Austin multi-picture deal with Anchor Bay films has resulted in another direct to DVD feature here in "Hunt To Kill." Austin stars as a Jim Rhodes, a U.S. Border Patrol agent in Montana, who has his daughter with him on Winter vacation with them having a strained relationship. She gets caught shoplifting & is being held in the local sheriff's office for him to come pick her up. Meanwhile a band of robbers in Las Vegas were betrayed by one of their own members of the team who takes off with all the loot leading the head villian Banks (Gil Bellows) to the same Sheriff's office where Rhodes & his daughter is. From there, Rhodes is forced to lead the band of criminals throught the wilderness with so many issues being dealt with such as the villians turning on each other, his daughter being held hostage while she's still having issues & conflict with him, and just trying to survive in the wild.

Most of the action in this movie consist of using weapons (shooting weapons like guns & a crossbow) along with an explosion & some stunts but there are two fights with one being between Rhodes & Banks along with one of two mini reunions from the "Expendables" movie with Austin's character fighting Gary Daniels' character of Jensen. Your also treated to another "Expendables" reunion in the beginning of the movie between Steve Austin & a cameo made by Eric Roberts. Overall I enjoyed this more than his previous DVD flick "The Stranger" but that doesn't say much as the plot was very basic but some of the characters were too "cartoonish" for my taste & none of the action here really got an emotion out me unlike Austin's previous roles in "The Expendables" , "The Condemded", or "Damaged." In the end, I would only recommend renting this if you have around 90 mins. of your life that you won't miss but besides that...you can pass on this too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Terrific "B" Action Flick, November 25, 2010
This review is from: Hunt To Kill (DVD)
I wasn't terribly impressed with the last Anchor Bay DTV action flick starring former wrestler "Stone Cold" Steve Austin, THE STRANGER, but as I'm always up for some testosterone-fueled cinematic mayhem, I decided to give the latest Austin vehicle, HUNT TO KILL (2010) a spin anyway.

I'm glad I did.

Austin plays a Border Patrol Agent named Jim Rhodes. After a bitter divorce that leaves him raising his teenage daughter Kim (Marie Avgeropoulis) alone and the brutal murder of his partner (Eric Roberts, picking up a check for a quick cameo), Rhodes accepts a promotion that finds him stationed in Northern Montana. But his quiet life in the woods is upset when a band of ruthless heist artists led by a sociopath named Banks (Gil Bellows, THE SHAWSHANK REDEMPTION, LOVE & A .45) roll into the neighborhood with a fortune in stolen bearer bonds. They take his daughter hostage, and coerce him into leading them through the wilderness and over the Canadian border. Of course, it isn't long before there's conflict and falling outs among the crooks, and the opportunity for a little random Rambo-styled mayhem on Stone Cold's part.

HUNT TO KILL, despite the blandly generic title and somewhat over-familiar plotline, is a terrific low-budget B-action film. Austin is surprisingly effective in the lead role, exhibiting some unexpected bits of human emotion along with the expected brute force. The cast is better than average for the genre, with Bellows turning in a fine, sly turn as the leader of the crooks, and British martial arts star Gary Daniels (THE EXPENDABLES, BLOODFIST IV) making a formidable physical opponent for the hulking Austin. BATTLESTAR GALACTICA vets Michael Hogan and Donnelly Rhodes appear in brief cameos, while Emilie Ullerup of SyFy's SANCTUARY (and a few GALACTICAs) portrays a sexy, felonious femme fatale.

The direction by Keoni Waxman is well-paced and engaging, and he makes good use of his cast and locations. The gorgeous, dangerous Canadian wilderness is captured in all its majesty by cinematographer Tom Harting and the score by Michael Plowman is excellent. The script isn't particularly original, but there are a few good twists, a couple of interesting characters, some intentional humor, and plenty of action set-pieces.

The stuntwork is excellent, and the action is extremely well-shot and edited. The standout scene is the inevitable throw-down between Austin and Daniels, and when it finally occurs, it proves to be worth the wait. The fight is well-staged and clearly photographed, without the now-passe shaky camerawork, rapid editing and MATRIX-y computer crap that is usually employed to obscure bad choreography. No, this is a duel of mock-combat titans and truly a joy to behold.

Anchor Bay's DVD of HUNT TO KILL sports a pristine, razor-sharp 1.78:1 anamorphic widescreen transfer and a very robust Dolby Digital 5.1 soundtrack. The only bonus features are an audio commentary by director Keoni Waxman and actor Michael Eklund, a "Behind the Scenes" featurette, and a trailer.

HUNT TO KILL isn't an action classic, but it's a damned good manly entertainment, with plenty of thrills, spills and a couple of big explosions. Fans of B-action flicks should definitely give it a spin. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hunt to kill, January 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hunt To Kill (DVD)
Another fast action pack movie by Steve Austin.Well written story and produce.Secondary cast members played there parts well.Steve was great in this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'When I hunt, I hunt to kill.', October 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hunt To Kill (DVD)
Watching Steve Austin movies is a guilty pleasure of mine. Rough, tough, bloody - usually a gore fest. What's not to like?

NOTE: Minor spoilers
Casting was "five star" for the movie. Steve Austin plays Jim Rhodes - macho good guy and single dad - and Marie Avgeropoulos plays his snotty, know-it-all teenage daughter, Kim Rhodes (I felt like putting a gag on her myself at times). Gil Bellows plays Banks, super bad guy, and Emilie Ullerup plays Dominika, his nasty mean girlfriend. All the other characters are mainly bad guys and they are all good at being bad.

One small complaint I had was location where the movie was shot. It was supposed to be Montana but didn't look like Montana at all to me. Lush, green, coastal is what I saw and I found out it was filmed in Vancouver, British Columbia. The scenery was gorgeous, dandy cinematography but it wasn't Montana. Too bad because parts of Montana are just as beautiful.

Story was fairly simplistic. Bad guys rob casino, double cross each other and then chase the one bad guy who got away with the bearer bonds. They end up in Montana and by accident, take Kim Rhodes captive. Well...you just know that Jim Rhodes isn't going to stand for that. So the rest of the movie is Rhodes getting rid of bad guys and protecting his daughter. It's a simplistic formula, one that's been used many times, but Steve Austin does a righteous job of kicking ass.

In this type of movie, you DO have to suspend your sense of belief sometimes (slides down cliffs and an oh-so-convenient backpack). Jim Rhodes must be the toughest, luckiest guy alive to live through his ordeals but...it is a movie and who wants true to life all the time? Not me.

I enjoyed Austin in Damage too. So if you like Steve Austin, try that one too.

NOTE: There is violence in this movie and references to rape. So, in other words, probably not the best movie for the little kiddos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What's not to like about this movie?, August 28, 2011
This review is from: Hunt To Kill (DVD)
My husband and I watched this movie together as we both love action packed movies. This movie delivers! This movie kept my husband's attention the whole time.. I was on the edge of my seat and excited about all the action in this movie.. I was thrilled to watch this movie, the fight scenes are great!

We loved the setting of this movie, and the characters.. The plot was also great to us. Austin did a great job in this movie along with all the other characters.. I also think that this movie can be used as a teaching tool for rebellious teens.

If you like action and suspense, then this is one great movie filled with both! If you like survival movies, then you will love this movie. Well back to seeing this again! What a great addition for your movie collection, as it brings a different twist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars FIRST BLOOD LIGHT, December 5, 2010
This review is from: Hunt To Kill (DVD)
PLOT SPOILERS
Steve Austin simply can't act outside of a "wrastling" ring. He really stank up the movie along with a bad script. Austin plays a border patrol guard in Texas and his partner gets killed in a Meth lab raid. Some Mexican steals Austin's wallet and claims he never forgets a face. Other than the watch with a 50 foot rope wrist band, this really isn't part of the movie as the next thing we know Austin is in Montana living in the woods, chomping on grizzly burgers while his daughter hates him, but we get that information more from the DVD box than we do the script or acting.

Meanwhile in Reno, a group of thieves, who are not Mexican drug dealers, steal some unmarked bonds. One of the thieves double crosses the rest and heads to Montana of all places so he can walk miles (and days) through the woods to the Canadian border (HEY! Park a little closer next time!) Now it just so happens he is carrying a tracking device so the other crooks can follow him. While this gang of crooks is in town, they force Austin and his daughter to guide them through the woods. How they knew this guy took off on foot, I don't know as he left the tracking device in an abandon vehicle on the road.

The gang of crooks are not too bright and always in disagreement. At some point in time Austin is shot, falls off a mountain side and washes up on First Blood beach. He then finds a hunter's pack with a cross bow and carves out perfectly straight arrows and even attaches feathers from...? At night he puts black shoe polish under his eyes (shiny bald head is not an issue) and by day (when he really needs the polish) the shoe polish is all gone.

If bad acting, corny lines, and the stupidity of the script doesn't bother you, go ahead. No sex or nudity. Drops f-bomb. I recommend you watch "The Expendables" instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Revenge is sweet, November 13, 2010
This review is from: Hunt To Kill (DVD)
On second viewing it turns out better than I expected, still rather predictable of course and rather reminiscent of 'Rambo: First blood' (even down to the background music) as it involves a chase in the forests of Montana. Great start as Steve 'Rambo' Austin and fellow Border Patrol chum Eric Roberts flush out and eliminate some low-life drug makers in a trailer.

Unfortunately the great Eric Roberts departs with the druggies, a pity because he would have livened the movie up no end, this now falls to Gil Bellows to provide the dramatic bits. Austin and daughter, now captives of the baddies, have to lead them through the woods to catch up with Mr Big who cleared off with stolen bonds in a neat double cross back in Vegas where they executed the perfect heist.

It all turns out for the best in the end with the baddies squabbling amongst themselves as well as having to deal with Austin. I was surprised that there wasn't more action, there's only one set piece fight between Austin and kick-box champ Gary Daniels. The ending, true to the genre, means that the death of the final baddie is strung out because you just can't keep a top baddie down; eventually he gets the point though.

Overall worth a look with excellent outdoor cinematography from Tom Harting and the movie delivers, more or less, what it's supposed to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Full marks for effort..., November 8, 2010
This review is from: Hunt To Kill (DVD)
Steve Austin fans probably never look for much of a plot in his movies beyond the nice and simple "big guy kicks some serious ass" kind. This 2009 direct-to-video release, "Hunt To Kill", may therefore come as something of a pleasant surprise to some viewers (although "pleasant" is hardly the correct word, peppered as it is with almost non-stop violence and general nastiness establishing the need for the big guy to get stuck into the serious ass-kicking). It does at least try to deliver something of a substantial plot--albeit one that is lifted wholesale from "Cliffhanger (1992)"--and for much of the time actually succeeds. Getting the main story line established takes an eternity, though, and so as a consequence an all but irrelevant high-octane frontispiece has had to be glued on as an opener to prevent action-movie fans from falling asleep at the start. Apart from this, though, the story flows reasonably well until it needs to be interrupted for the obligatory standard fight action set-pieces, before finally disintegrating into a succession of surprises and set-backs which become so regular as to be entirely predictable. By then, though, the action is coming thick and fast, so I doubt that fans of this genre will care one little bit.

The movie's main highlight is the strong supporting cast, especially Gil Bellows in the role of an incredibly nasty cartoon villain, which he hams up to perfection and is entirely believable as a serious match to the protagonist. The production's weak points are the dialogue, which by and large is truly appalling throughout, and the musical soundtrack which is totally OTT and takes things altogether too seriously. Neither of those will deter the die-hard serious ass-kicking fan who can comfortably just sit back and watch the pretty explosions and sprays of blood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, June 22, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hunt To Kill (DVD)
I love Steve Austin, so I was very excited to see him in this movie. This is a great action movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Movie, November 13, 2010
This review is from: Hunt To Kill (DVD)
Steve plays Jim, a border patrol agent who moves from Texas to Montana to raise his teenage daughter who he does not have the best of relationships with. When Jim's (STEVE AUSTIN) teenage daughter is kidnapped by some ruthless killers, he's forced to lead the killers into the wilderness to retrieve their share of a missing heist score. I was disappointed their was not more action in the film, but overall worth a rent. I did find it better than The Stranger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9fd551a4)

This product

Hunt To Kill
Hunt To Kill by Keoni Waxman (DVD - 2010)
$14.98 $9.07
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.