Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of Robards' Best - Some great story telling
Will Lyman, an agent with the FBI, has been sent to Kentucky to investigate some questionable winnings at the horse tracks. Just when he believes he is tying up the case as they watch for the criminal to pick up their $5,000 bait money, a beautiful woman appears in the barn, looks into the sack that contains the money, and then picks it up and walks off. Will is close...
Published on January 6, 2003 by V

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointed !
I was unhappy, because it has no real ending. Feel like you were just getting started & then it's the end.
I won't be recommending this book!
That's why I gave a 2, lucky you got that!
Published 14 months ago by RoseyFlygirl


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of Robards' Best - Some great story telling, January 6, 2003
By 
V "readinganddreaming" (Tulsa, Ok, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Will Lyman, an agent with the FBI, has been sent to Kentucky to investigate some questionable winnings at the horse tracks. Just when he believes he is tying up the case as they watch for the criminal to pick up their $5,000 bait money, a beautiful woman appears in the barn, looks into the sack that contains the money, and then picks it up and walks off. Will is close to speechless. How could such an easy assignment go so wrong and who was that woman?
Molly Ballard has just quit her job as groomer at the Kentucky stable and has come to pick up her final check. She accidentally finds the bait money and on a whim - takes it! She is beside herself with worry but is totally broke and she is responsible for the care of her four younger siblings. She is sure that no one saw her take the money and figures it is money that was earned illegally anyway. Within hours, a gorgeous man in a distinguished suit appears at her door sporting a FBI bag and a tape of her taking the bait money.
Will Lyman takes in the young lady's surroundings and determines that she is probably just plain desperate. She lives in a very run down home and is barely surviving financially as she takes care of her two brothers and two sisters. He decides to let her off the hook and not charge her with theft. Then he discovers that his informant has died and returns to asks (really demands) Molly to participate in the sting operation. To enable easy communication during the sting, Will acts the role of her boyfriend.
This was a really good, enjoyable story. Karen Robards can write some good male leads and I believe Will Lyman is one of her best yet. You just like being around this guy. It was a stretch for me to accept that he is fifteen years older than Molly. He has an eighteen-year-old son and it doesn't seem to fit with his other personality traits that he would be attracted to someone so much younger than himself. Molly is supposed to be a really kind person but she treats others with disdain more than kindness. She is protective and loving towards her siblings under her care but she is also quite prickly.
Eventually Will and Molly develop an attraction to each other that neither has pursued but cannot ignore. He is pure sophistication, from Chicago, and apparently lives the good life. Molly has only a high school education, is actually poor, and has never had any real advantages in her life. She has not been exposed to many refinements but is basically a good, hard working person. Her prickly nature is due to many hardships as she grew up.
I was engrossed in this story until half way through the book. Robards had managed to write a fresh story that was interesting on every page. Then, without warning, the author introduces one of the most overused, maddening romance novel plot lines. I just had to put the book down for a while. I felt betrayed. Molly discovers that she loves Will and realizes that there is no future for them. She decides the best way to handle her newly found feelings is to treat him with hate. She kicks into high hateful gear, treating Will with a huge amount of disdain when he has done nothing wrong, and doesn't speak to him unless it is with meanness. This "I love you so I must treat you as I hate you" is one of my least favorite things about romance writing. Fortunately, Will does not accept this treatment from her and ignores her. He has recognized her game and will not play into it. This contrived misunderstanding is the turning point of the book. Although I did not appreciate this particular turn of events, I kept reading and, with relief, found this situation did not drag on for long. This is the reason for a four star rating rather than a five star.
The story is actually very tender. There are only a couple of sensual scenes and they rate no more than a three out of five (see More About Me for rating guidelines). The story does not need any more sensual pages - it is just right for the framework of the book.
Although the heroine stretches the limits of realism more than once, it is a book that I would read again some day. After all, romance writing is not very realistic. How could we depend on those happy endings if it were not? It is a pleasurable read with some degree of depth. I could actually read two more books with this hero starting today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A new author for me to explore ..., November 7, 2002
This review is from: Hunter's Moon (Hardcover)
This is a fun book for me to read ~~ I think I found it at a library booksale and it was a quick and fun read. It is a mystery/romance novel ~~ the first Robards book I have ever read.
Molly Ballard, working as a groomer at a Kentucky stable while raising her younger brothers and sisters, runs into trouble with the law when she spirits away $5,000 that the FBI had planted in one of the barns. She was planning to use the money to feed her brothers and sisters, but FBI agent Will Lyman thought otherwise. Once he realized that she was speaking the truth, he decided to use Molly as an insider to investigate a race-horsing fixing scheme. Only Lyman got more than he bargained for ~~ not only was he focusing on the race-horsing fixing scheme, there were horse mulitations happening, a unsolved murder case, and a suicide in the peaceful Kentucky countryside. And falling in love with Molly ~~ it all provides entertainment and mystery throughout the book.
I would have given this book a 5 if it weren't for some explicit sex scenes in the book ~~ I am one of the readers who likes to be teased, not told of every sexual act in the story. Must be the midwestern in me. Other than that, this book provides great entertainment for me ~~ a fast read, which is something I need around here in a house full of happenings and it's fun to read as well.
If I run across Robards' other books, I'll be sure to pick them up since I enjoyed this book. She is a new author for me to explore and this book is hard to put down. I don't regret picking this one up at all.
11-7-02
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book was enthralling., July 14, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Hunter's Moon (Audio Cassette)
I must say that this novel ranks as high as Walking After Midnight. I find myself reading it again and again. I fell in love with Will, the hard-nosed, nothing but business, FBI agent. Though he tries not to become emotionally involved with Molly Ballard, he can't resist her . This is a must read for all KR fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Page-Turner Par Excellence, July 18, 2012
By 
Bookcat "Cat" (Alexandria, VA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hunter's Moon (Mass Market Paperback)
This is a keeper I've reread for years, one written when Karen Robards was at the height of her ability to intertwine a suspense plot with a sizzling romance.

Will Lyman, a special agent for the FBI, finds himself fighting a powerful and inconvenient attraction to young, poverty-stricken Molly Ballard, whom he has coerced into working undercover to help him crack a case of horse-racing fraud in a sleepy town in the bluegrass region of Kentucky. Detailed from Chicago, Will is a fish out of water in the rural South, and Molly, caught on camera committing an impulsive crime in a weak moment, has no choice but to pose as his unlikely girlfriend. Despite the negative first impression, Molly works hard as a groom on a horse farm, and is the dedicated, sole support of her four younger, motherless siblings. Defensive, prickly, suspicious, and, though no fool, somewhat reckless, she is also strongly attracted to Will; both are determined to hold the upper hand in the situation and in their fiery, alternately antagonistic and tender relationship. As Will becomes more and more involved with her and her family, Molly fears the inevitable heartbreak of a temporary romance; Will tells himself he only wants to enjoy the benefits of a short-term sexual relationship. Will's return to Chicago leaves them both on their high horses (pun intended), yet unable to move on.

As you might suspect, the horse-racing case is the MacGuffin of the story. An old unsolved crime, a recent murder, and a series of animal tortures resurface and quickly escalate to the unthinkable, and Molly turns to Will for help. The plot twists and turns, and suspense mounts to a fever pitch as Will races to solve an ugly case that could shatter their lives and the entire community. This is a rare suspenseful romance that actually surprised me at its conclusion.

It's quite a feat to build and maintain a superheated romance in the grisly atmosphere of this story, but Robards succeeds. Despite differences in age, background, and temperament, Will and Molly seem made for each other; the reader believes. They're real characters with real flaws.

However, I do have a few caveats about this book. Despite the wonderful romance and the gripping suspense, there are some portions of the book that are told from the point of view of a murderer; I found these disturbing, and I have to admit I skimmed over most of them. For readers in the Nightmare on Elm Street generation, they are child's play, I'm sure. For those who were shocked by Psycho as a child, it's a different story (more puns intended). Also a climactic scene between Will and Molly seems contrived. On the whole, however, their soul-stirring romance carries the day; there may not be enough crime procedure for mystery fans, but there's romance and suspense aplenty for the rest of us. A supreme page-turner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!!!!!!, July 16, 1999
By A Customer
Great suspence, great romance, great characters, great plot and great love scenes to boot. I've read a lot of Robards most recent contemporaries and this is definitely a standout. In fact the only one I've kept it on my shelf for years and would never think of trading it away or donating to the neighborhood library book sale. Wonderful!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simply Fantastic - Another great read from Ms Robards, October 20, 1998
By A Customer
Hunter's Moon offers a thoroughly enjoyable read. This is definitely one of her best books. The importance of family, love and trust are the resounding issues in this novel. Readers should find Molly's strength admirable as she is torn between doing what is right and what is best for her family in her relationship with Will and in references to her tumultous childhood. This novel will not disappoint you - so enjoy it soon !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This book should be read while chilling at the beach., June 23, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Hunter's Moon (Hardcover)
When I bought this book I didn't know what to expect. What I got was a shock. It was great! The story is all about falling in love at the worst possible time in your life. The fear of losing a loved one and not being sure if you can trust the person you are completely in love with. To succeed you have to come to grips with your own reality and reach to the other person and pray that you're in time to save their life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Captivating..., June 9, 1999
By A Customer
This was my first KR book and I have to say, I will read more. I enjoyed her style and had a hard time putting it down. There were a couple of parts that I thought weren't necessary, but overall the storyline captivated me. I couldn't put it down. A little tense at the end....a nail biter. I was very drawn to Mr. FBI man. He was quite the knight in shining armor. A must read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love It, January 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hunter's Moon (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoy Karen Robards books. Hunter's Moon was interesting, exciting and a quick read. Would recommend to others. Great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Her best book, October 23, 2014
This review is from: Hunter's Moon (Kindle Edition)
Sometimes historical romance authors don’t make the transition from Regency to modern day in a seamless fashion, but Karen Robards does beautifully in her thriller Hunter’s Moon. This is hands down her best story.

Set in the horse country of Kentucky, heroine Molly Ballard is a poor working girl who is responsible for her four younger brothers and sisters. She is young only in her mid-twenties and she feels the burden of raising her younger siblings keenly with little money. So when she finds a sackful of money in the horse barn she absconds with it hoping the five thousand dollars inside can help the Ballards keep afloat for a while.

Will Lyman is a straight shooter, an FBI agent who is assigned to investigate some horse racing shenanigans and he is stunned to see Molly take the bait money they have planted. When he confronts her, Molly is surly, scared and defensive.

Will sees Molly, at first, as the perfect insider to assist him in his investigation and since Molly has little choice in the matter, she agrees albeit reluctantly. At first this couple is truly at odds with each other. Molly hides her embarrassment and uncertainty (she feels their class differences greatly) behind a smart mouth and this could have become frustrating for the reader except Will, does not jump to the bait. He’s smarter than that. As a widower and being fifteen years older than Molly, he has enough life experience to recognize that responding to her anger will not solve their problems.

Willis an incredible hero, I liked him more than the heroine although her spunky nature is well written. He is calm, self-assured and kind. He doesn’t play games and he is a generous person, demonstrated in his interactions with each member of Molly’s family.
This novel has a very well knit plot and the tension is great throughout the novel, no lags in action and the dialogue is superb. This is a great couple who falls in love despite their many differences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Hunter's Moon
Hunter's Moon by Karen Robards (Mass Market Paperback - January 25, 2011)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.