Customer Reviews


90 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hooper does it yet again!
I am an avid Kay Hooper fan- because she is always able to keep me guessing until the very end...and she didn't disappoint me this time.

In this book, Lucas Jordan of the Special Crimes Unit is called in to deal with a serial kidnapper, who puts his victims in hazardous contraptions that will kill them eventually if they are not found in time...and so far- no...
Published on August 31, 2004 by A. Marbach

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Emotionless main characters
I am still not quite sure what to write about this book. I did enjoy it. The beginning did grab me from the start. The whole fear issue was a bit chilling at times, but I still feel some things could have had improvement.

First, I didn't feel enough emotion from Lucas and Samantha. Too much about the past was vague and unanswered. Maybe something was mentioned...
Published on May 19, 2005 by A. Rowley


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hooper does it yet again!, August 31, 2004
By 
A. Marbach "badgroove" (Sometimes Sunny California) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hunting Fear (Hardcover)
I am an avid Kay Hooper fan- because she is always able to keep me guessing until the very end...and she didn't disappoint me this time.

In this book, Lucas Jordan of the Special Crimes Unit is called in to deal with a serial kidnapper, who puts his victims in hazardous contraptions that will kill them eventually if they are not found in time...and so far- no one has gotten out alive.

In true Hooper style this book is fast paced, and intriguing. And as always there is a paranormal thread that ties the story together. The serial kidnapper is playing a game of life and death with Jordan, and so far the kidnapper is winning. Lucas Jordan of the SCU is experiencing a paranormal block that is only allowing him reach the kidnapped victims to late. The only question is can Luke overcome the block before someone else is killed.

Hooper incorporates the paranormal, romance, and lots of suspense, that kept me turning the pages! Her characters are not run of the mill heros, but real people with real problems and issues- which makes them interesting.

It is going to be a long wait until Summer 2005 when the next book is scheduled to come out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ms. Hooper Has Started Another Great Series!!, December 20, 2004
This review is from: Hunting Fear (Hardcover)
Ms. Hooper is one of the best when it comes to the paranormal suspense genre. She has kicked off a new series with "Hunting Fear" and if this is any indication of how good this series is going to be...well, lets just say you won't want to miss a single title.

Bishop is back with his crime fighting team that uses more than police investingation techiques to catch the bad guy. In Ms. Hoopers latest Lucas Jordan is tracking a serial kidnapper that takes the victim, askes for the ransom, and than kills the victim all without leaving any clues behind. Luke as been on his trail for eighteen months when the case takes a turn and becomes very personal. Now the clock is ticking and his past has now caught up to his future but is he strong enough to deal with the fear that lives inside of him?

Samantha Burke has not had an easy life. She lives day to day working as a seer for a carnival and it's one night at the carnivale that she picks up an item and has a vision. She knows that she must face her past and that means dealing with Lucas Jordan. But that's okay because she has the strength to do what she must in order to stop a serial killer that hunts a person's fear.

This was a strong paranormal romance that fans of Ms. Hooper will inhale. This is a complex story with equally complex characters. Readers will be drawn to both Lucas and Sam for very different reasons. Their chemistry is intense but will not overshadow the main storyline and that is catching a killer before he has a chance to kill again. I highly recommend Ms. Hooper as well as her latest effort.

Official Reviewer for [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent "spine-tingling" mystery!, September 28, 2004
By 
This review is from: Hunting Fear (Hardcover)
Lucas Jordan, FBI agent and profiler comes to Clayton County, North Carolina to track and capture a notorious serial kidnapper, whose has been on a killing spree for 18 months. Noah Bishop recruited Jordan five years ago to work for a Special Crimes Unit of the FBI. Lucas had been working a kidnapping case in Clayton County with the help of Samantha Blake. Not by coincidence, he encounters once again Samantha Blake, a seer, "Madame Zarina" working for a traveling carnival in Golden, North Carolina. Sam connects with people by having psychic visions by her sense of touch. Lucas in contrast connects with people in danger by their sense of fear. Sheriff Wyatt Metcalf and his staff are working the kidnapping case of Mitch Callahan as the FBI arrives on the scene. Wyatt Metcalf and Police Officer Lindsay Graham are lovers when they're off duty. Time quickly runs out on two victims. Lucas and his partner Jaylene are too late to rescue Mitch Callahan and Police Officer Lindsay Graham. Working together to the best of their psychic and non-psychic abilities, Lucas and Sam find a third victim in time. The killer seems to enjoy being one step ahead of Lucas. Sam predicts that Lucas needs her to win this "game" as they believe the killer likes to perceive it. Clayton County is the perfect place with miles of uninhabited land for these crimes to take place. The Carnival after Dark serves as a distraction to the residents of Golden. However with publicity from working the case, Sam develops a notoriety that attracts the killer. Hunting Fear keeps you on the edge of your seat, guessing and hoping they will find the killer before its too late.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GRADE A READING OF THIS THRILLER, October 28, 2004
Voice performer par excellence Dick Hill delivers one more stunning reading of a suspense tale heightened by the presence of the paranormal. Those with a penchant for psychics will find this right down their alley. Those who appreciate a compelling voice performance will applaud Dick Hill.

Author Hooper begins her Fear series by introducing Lucas Jordan and his team of clairvoyants. Now, Lucas is a cop with more than attitude - he's known for finding missing persons. Needle in a haystack? Doesn't faze Lucas, a profiler in Noah Bishop's Special Crimes Unit.

North Carolina is the setting; the place where Lucas has come to find not only a kidnapper but a killer. Not satisfied with just snatching victims, this psycho has to kill them. Also on hand in this small Southern town is Samantha Burke (a page from Lucas's past) now a carnival psychic. Of course, the local constabulary doesn't think much of Lucas or Samantha.

Lucas always rises to a challenge but this case becomes more than that when a fellow officer is a victim. Now, it's up to him to find the killer before the killer finds him.

Sustained suspense throughout proves to be Grade A listening.

- Gail Cooke
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Concept, September 11, 2005
I've heard a little about Kay Hooper so I selected one of her books. After reading my first Hooper novel I have to say, I'm very impressed.

Hunting fear is based on a special unit FBI officer Lucas Jordan. He has a peculiar psychic ability, he can sense fear. He is part of a psychic FBI unit know as Bishop/Special Crimes Unit.

In Hunting Fear he comes across a serial kidnapper that gets the ransom and then kills the victim anyway. The killer seems to have heard of Lucas Jordan and in a way challenges him to a twisted game in which he kidnaps people and has Jordan try to get to them before he kills them.

This book is excellently written with an intriguing storyline and some great suspense, highly reccomended. I will definately read Chill of Fear, another Bishop/Special Crimes Unit novel.

-Kyle Walker
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SIX para...stars, August 12, 2005
By 
It doesn't matter if you believe or not in paranormal things. It doesn't matter if you don't read paranormal books because they're spooky. Albeit this book has all of that and yes, you'll be spooked two or three times, it's worth to read the book because the plot won't let you put it down. The spooky part is almost nothing and you can enjoy an excellent reading even if you don't like that. And I have to tell you that the end of the book is really creepy but not spooky.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Emotionless main characters, May 19, 2005
This review is from: Hunting Fear (Hardcover)
I am still not quite sure what to write about this book. I did enjoy it. The beginning did grab me from the start. The whole fear issue was a bit chilling at times, but I still feel some things could have had improvement.

First, I didn't feel enough emotion from Lucas and Samantha. Too much about the past was vague and unanswered. Maybe something was mentioned in one of her earlier books that I haven't read, but I did not sense any of what I think the author was trying to get across. The characters constantly fought with oneanother. You know they have a past that ended poorly, but you never got a strong sense of emotion. You are left to assume and just take it for what it is. I wasn't looking for a romance or even romantic suspense in this, but I did not feel any real connection with the main characters.

The paranormal pyschic story line was intriguing and I did enjoy that part of the book. The suspense was fairly decent and kept me guessing. My only problem with this is that the book was labeled a mystery. When I see that, I expect to have to use the clues however subtle they may be and try to figure out who done it. This one came up a bit short in that area. I can not go into it anymore without giving more away. The ending definitely led into the next book and possibly many others in the fear series. I only hope that the author develops her character relationships better from here on out.

Other than those few remarks, I mostly enjoyed the book. Maybe I'm asking for too much, but the way I look at it, if the author wants you to continue buying the rest of the books in the series than she should make you connect with the characters. I actually felt more for the secondary people than the main ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, August 27, 2004
This review is from: Hunting Fear (Hardcover)
HUNTING FEAR takes us back into the SCU (special crimes unit) established by Noah Bishop.

Luke Jordan is one of Bishop's leaders, he is a profiler as well as a psychic, he and his partner Jaylene Avery have come to Golden, NC chasing a serial murderer who kidnaps his victims and kills them when the ransom is paid.

For over a year and a half Luke has been behind in the game. Just arriving as time runs out for the victims. It is a game to the murderer. He is playing with Luke, a sinister chess match.

Not only is Luke here but an old friend of his as well. Samantha Burke, a woman who has been as haunted by Luke as he has been haunted by her. They arrive to find the victim dead, but he had been warned by Sam.

Samantha is a fortune teller in a carnival, but there is nothing phony about her. She is a psychic seer. Her visions are similar to Bishop's.

Luke has the ability to sense fear. He has learned to find people by the fear they feel. Now in this place he faces the fact that this killer is totally centered on him. With each murder Luke faces his inability to out think this killer.

Obviously Luke has done a profile on the killer but the murderer seems to have a profile on Luke.

As with her other novels there are suprises and unexpected developements on every other page. Very fast paced, and lots of the suspense and romance we enjoy in her books. A good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved It!, August 6, 2010
I am a big fan of Kay Hooper and this book does not disappoint. Hunting Fear is the first in what is sort of a series within a series. The broader series is about a special unit within the FBI, formed by Noah Bishop. All its members have some sort of psychic ability, including "seers" and "mediums". These agents use their abilities to hunt down the worst and most elusive criminals.

The Fear series follows agent Lucas Jordan, as he tries to find a serial killer who makes a game of murder. Lucas' psychic talent relies on his ability to tap into the fear of the victim. However, tapping into that fear comes at a great personal price.

The plot never has a dull moment. The characters are each well developed and their relationships are as much a part of the story as the murders. While Hunting Fear is part of a series, a reader could easily pick this one up and read it as a stand-alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very impressive and a must read for fans., May 1, 2005
By 
This review is from: Hunting Fear (Hardcover)
I absolutely love Kay Hooper's psychic series and couldn't put this book down. I'm sure the other drivers were getting tired of beeping at me when the light turned green.

Anyway, I want to say that the beginning was quite powerful and very chilling. It hooked me right away despite the imagined terror I was feeling. From there, the surprises kept me guessing and mentally biting my nails. The question, "Who's next?" was a constant in my mind and Hooper didn't shy away from using the supporting characters. I don't want to give it away, so I'll just say that the first "real" kidnapped victim came as a complete shock. The next one even more so. Again, a well plotted book with lots of suspense and thrills.

In keeping with her "Bishop" series, it had a well thought out plot, characters, and background. Everything came together quite satisfactory and my heartbeat never slowed for long. If you're into thrillers with a twist of the paranormal and romance, this book has it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Hunting Fear
Hunting Fear by Kay Hooper (Hardcover - August 17, 2004)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.