Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Hunting: Gathering / String Quartet 6
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

Hunting: Gathering / String Quartet 6

3 customer reviews

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Listen Instantly with Amazon Music Album
Hunting: Gathering
"Please retry"
Other Formats & Versions Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, November 26, 2002
"Please retry"
$25.55 $31.76

1. I.
2. II.
3. III.
4. String Quartet No.6
5. First Dance
6. Second Dance
7. Third Dance
8. Fourth Dance
9. Fifth Dance

Product Details

  • Performer: The Duke Quartet
  • Composer: Kevin Volans
  • Audio CD (November 26, 2002)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Black Box Classics
  • ASIN: B0000631BS
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #269,543 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See all 3 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

7 of 9 people found the following review helpful By Sparky P. on August 4, 2003
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
To me Kevin Volans' string quartets are the best since Elliott Carter's five (and I hope that Mr. Carter will be able to get to a sixth one too). The two composers have taken the well established (and far far from being cliched) medium and made it distinctly their own. This disc presents three of Volans' seven [as of 3/06: ten] string quartets (nos. 3-5, plus a short separate quartet movement, are out of print but very well worth seeking out; the most recent quartets, 7-10, have not yet been recorded). This disc shows two sides of Volans in his composing career. In this corner there is the African Volans, represented by Quartets 1&2. They both offer a wealth of material from not only his South African homeland, but from the entire continent as well, and presented in a "non-pretentious New Age" manner. The first quartet is a series dance rhythms, while the second one could be seen as a Charles Ives channeling of indigenous material, the way ideas quickly follow each other or are juxtaposed. In the other corner there is the Abstract Volans, greatly influenced by Morton Feldman, blurring the lines of stillness and motion. The 6th String Quartet was written for live string quartet and a taped version of itself (similar to Steve Reich's Different Trains and Triple Quartet). The material is shared between both entities so that the source and its echo becomes blurred. There is very little motion to speak of. Whereas the 1st and 2nd quartets present a plethora of material, the 6th Quartet has only a handful of ideas at most and could easily proceed endlessly like Feldman's 2nd String Quartet if it had wanted to (and the folks who commissioned it allowed it to). There is so little there, just for the most part a toggling between two chords, usually based on fifths.Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Audio CD
I have been recently following with much enthusiasm Kevin Volans' compositional development, as illustrated by his output for String Quartet. It started with the hugely appealing African-inspired, dance-like repetitiveness of his first two String Quartets, "White Man Sleeps" and "Hunting: Gathering", and moved in the direction of increasing minimalism and pointillism in the 4th and 5th (the latter recorded on the now-defunct Collins Classics by the same Duke Quartet that is featured on this disc, with a Quartet movement from 1987, Duke Quartet). Mind you, the repetitiveness of the first two quartets was NOT minimal, and Volans even called his second, "Hunting: Gathering", the opposite of minimalism, as he sought to include in it as many different music parcels as possible - 23 in the course of its 26 minutes (said Volans - Kronos took less than 22 minutes to play it). The first three quartets were commissioned and premiered by the Kronos Quartet (White Man Sleeps was in fact the reworking for string quartet, at the behest of the Kronos Quartet, of an earlier piece), but they recorded only the first two (Pieces of Africa and Kevin Volans: Hunting: Gathering (String Quartet No. 2) (1987) - Kronos Quartet) and not the third (that was done by the Balanescu Quartet, along with the second, ...Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful By scarecrow VINE VOICE on February 26, 2007
Format: Audio CD
I like these latter Quartets, but I doubt if I would listen a second time. Volans is a rare composer. His honesty has a nurturing quality if you ever hear him speak (Go to You Tube) of what he does, finding a context, knwos where he wants to go, and unashamed to be utilizing "other's materials" "cultures", or ones he claims to understand. Everyone likes to utilize accessible materials,it has become the only means to survive.Whether this makes for interesting culture, and useable saleable cultural products is another matter.

The genre of the Quartet now seems to be saturated beyond belief. Like the free market itself when a "buzz" a "hook" is found, something that has market potential everyone utilzes it, but very few can make something original about it.Perhaps originality is also a forgtten term, one who has gone from existence.

Volans listenes to much music and you hear it in these works, the rhytmic patternings gestures are entirely his own. Composers think they can simply adopt for themselves a popular lick or idea or concept and simply make money like everyone else. We do live in a free democracy !!? Why Not!. Volans studied for a time with Richard Toop and the Great Stockhausen,curious what with a sensibility of Volans (more cosmopolitan and ecumenical)would learn from so hard-boiled a music philosophy as Stockhausen? We learn from Volans that and (for a time) Stockhausen only listened to his own works, why should he listen to anyone else?, Volans saw this as retrogressive,conservative in that the creative mind becomes very one-dimensional,tunnel-visioned, and perhaps that's what is suggested promuligated in Stockhausen's massive opera LICHT.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Look for Similar Items by Category