Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What Storm Chasing is all about!
I strongly recommend Hunting Nature's Fury to storm chasers and especially to those who want to know more about storm chasing and why they might want to also get out and try it.
Hunting Nature's Fury should definitely appeal to many readers for assorted ages and backgrounds.
For those of us who know Roger Hill, and have chased with him, it should be no surprise...
Published on October 26, 2009 by Thomas A. Howley, Jr.

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars storm lover
I went storm chasing with roger in may of 2001. Unfortunately, that was a dull year to storm chase. I was surprised when he took over the silver lining tours, but it sounds like he's done very well. This book has a nice flow to it as he describes the many storms,which makes it very easy read. My only criticism would be the writing is not very interesting or thoughtful. It...
Published on December 4, 2009 by Kathleen T. Rostkoski


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What Storm Chasing is all about!, October 26, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hunting Nature's Fury: A Storm Chaser's Obsession with Tornadoes, Hurricanes, and other Natural Disasters (Paperback)
I strongly recommend Hunting Nature's Fury to storm chasers and especially to those who want to know more about storm chasing and why they might want to also get out and try it.
Hunting Nature's Fury should definitely appeal to many readers for assorted ages and backgrounds.
For those of us who know Roger Hill, and have chased with him, it should be no surprise that it reflects his unequaled passion for the joy of storm chasing. His well known enthusiasm comes through as he recounts his interesting background and especially as he relates a sampling of his assorted storm chasing adventures.
The chasing stories in Hunting Nature's Fury accurately reflect what chasers do when they chase storms and give a real sense of why we do it.
It is a fast, entertaining and easy read for all.
Way to go Roger!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars storm lover, December 4, 2009
This review is from: Hunting Nature's Fury: A Storm Chaser's Obsession with Tornadoes, Hurricanes, and other Natural Disasters (Paperback)
I went storm chasing with roger in may of 2001. Unfortunately, that was a dull year to storm chase. I was surprised when he took over the silver lining tours, but it sounds like he's done very well. This book has a nice flow to it as he describes the many storms,which makes it very easy read. My only criticism would be the writing is not very interesting or thoughtful. It seems to be written for children. I realize he is not a professional writer and I assume that's why he had someone assist him in writing the book. There are other more interesting books out that on the same subject. For example, Mark Svenvold wrote a great book called "Big Weather".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gregg L. Friedman MD, Psychiatrist, Hallandale Beach, FL, August 8, 2012
This review is from: Hunting Nature's Fury: A Storm Chaser's Obsession with Tornadoes, Hurricanes, and other Natural Disasters (Paperback)
This book explores the greatest storms on earth, Hurricanes and Tornadoes. The author presents excellent facts and photos in a fun to read book which is very educational. By Gregg L. Friedman MD, Psychiatrist, Hallandale Beach, FL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Read! Suspenseful Stormchasing Storytelling coupled with the Science and History of Tornadoes and Forecasting, April 25, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hunting Nature's Fury: A Storm Chaser's Obsession with Tornadoes, Hurricanes, and other Natural Disasters (Paperback)
After asking Roger Hill about his favorite storm chases one night at dinner, I, along with the rest of our diners, sat mesmerized as he vividly recounted his June 23, 2003 chase in South Dakota. It wasn't just that the Roger Hill led tour group recorded 16 tornadoes, or that they saw several multivotex tornadoes or even that it included the largest tornado he'd ever seen - the Manchester, South Dakota F4 with winds over 200 mph - that made his recounting so memorable, but it was the passion and excitement he embodied as he recounted that chase day. Listening to him made you feel as if you were right there in that van along for the ride. Having witness over 400 tornadoes, if Roger's greatest skill is finding the elusive twister in a sea of storms, then mastering the art of storytelling would be not far behind.

How wonderful it is now to be able to read about that chase along with so many others in his book, "Hunting Nature's Fury". I found this book, co-written by Peter Bronski, to be a perfect blend of great storytelling and knowledge sharing about the science and history of thunderstorms, tornadoes, forecasting, and chasing. The stories are exciting and the science is delivered in an easily comprehendable form, including a useful glossary of weather terms and chasing slang.

Whether you want to know what ingredients and processes are required for tornadoes to form, or learn fascinating facts about things like the largest hailstone ever recorded (1.67 pounds) or why the word tornado was offically banned from public broadcasts for 65 years, or be able to separate tornado myths (opening windows alleviates tornado pressure) from reality (fish have fallen from the sky), or to imagine what it's like to chase storms with a stormchasing guru, then you'll really enjoy reading this book....likely more than once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must for Storm Chasers!, November 15, 2009
This review is from: Hunting Nature's Fury: A Storm Chaser's Obsession with Tornadoes, Hurricanes, and other Natural Disasters (Paperback)
Those interested in tornadoes, and who have already seen some of the various video documentaries about storm chasers in the American prairies, have certainly heard of this author!
Roger Hill is one of the best (if not the best) in his field, and in this very exciting book he tells us how he became who he is now: a storm chaser.
The traumatic experience of the devastation of his parent's home by an F5 tornado when he was 9 years old left a lasting impression on him. As a young adult it breaks through again and makes him begin to search for the storms, to drive towards them, to chase them.
It is not only exciting but also fascinating to read how he describes his ever increasing obsession, which eventually causes complications in his personal and professional life.
And naturally the storms, the tornadoes, are again and again in the center of his fast paced depiction.
The need to share with others the incredible experience of untamed (and potentially very dangerous) nature, makes him turn his passion into his main occupation: for many years now he has been taking photographers and tourists like me to "Tornado Alley" from April to July and has now seen far more than 400 tornadoes.
All this is the subject of his book, complete with some of his many thousand photos, which document the extraordinary beauty of the spectacle.
An absolute must for everyone interested in untamed nature and in weather!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chase this book!, November 6, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hunting Nature's Fury: A Storm Chaser's Obsession with Tornadoes, Hurricanes, and other Natural Disasters (Paperback)
As someone who has chased with Roger many times, I wanted to read his book to learn even more than he has already taught me. As an avid reader, I was looking forward to a book about a topic that interests me. Hunting Nature's Fury provides both beyond my expectations. The action described in these chapters will put the reader on the plains, waiting to see what the storm will offer up next and wanting more. Hunting Nature's Fury both educates and entertains. I've been reading this book at work and on the train. I've already missed the end of my lunch hour, my train stop on the way home and I'm only half way through!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Thrill of the Chase, November 18, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hunting Nature's Fury: A Storm Chaser's Obsession with Tornadoes, Hurricanes, and other Natural Disasters (Paperback)
Like other storm chasers, I have been eagerly waiting for Roger's book for a long time. My copy arrived last week. Normally, I am a very slow reader but was so taken by this book that I completed it in a matter of hours. It was a thrill to read the many stories I've heard Roger tell over the years. Tears came to my eyes as I read chapter 9, for I was a part of that story. Anyone who wishes to read the book but has never chased will come away with a desire to hit the Plains with Roger. I recommend this book to anyone who is interested a) in chasing and/or b) tales of great adventures. You will not be sorry!

Marie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Roger Hill at his BEST!, November 6, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hunting Nature's Fury: A Storm Chaser's Obsession with Tornadoes, Hurricanes, and other Natural Disasters (Paperback)
If you have never met Roger Hill in person, you will truly know him after reading this book. As someone who has been there with him, I can tell you that all the excitement, awe and wonder Roger expresses in Hunting Nature's Fury is REAL! This man has an absolute PASSION for severe weather, and this comes across in every page of the book. Best of all, the stories ALL really happened...I know, I was in one of them. This is a must read for anyone who has ever looked at the gathering clouds and saw the wonder of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Passion and obsession..., January 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hunting Nature's Fury: A Storm Chaser's Obsession with Tornadoes, Hurricanes, and other Natural Disasters (Paperback)
Are clearly defined here. Roger Hill seems to be one that was clearly addicted to the weather so much so that it affected his life, and yet, it seems, for the better, as he has managed to wrangle a good satisfying career from it, something that not many can do as Storm chasing provides very limited options for those who pursue it. He has spent his time in the chase, and has since run tours to take people who would pay to see what he has seen and has over time, become a premier Storm chaser in the field. His is an interesting tale, not only about his own life, but of the storms that he has seen and described in detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars hunting natures fury: a storm chasers obsession with tornadoes, March 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
i chose this 5 star rating, because i do love tornadoes, and i think there very interesting though :). this is a very good book to read on the kindle :). it has a lot of pages to read, which i didn't realize that it had a lot of pages in it lol. i love this book, because it tells about this guy that has two jobs, and goes storm chasing the whole time looking for tornadoes that are producing :). i recommend this book to everyone that loves storm chasing lol :).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Hunting Nature's Fury: A Storm Chaser's Obsession with Tornadoes, Hurricanes, and other Natural Disasters
$17.95 $14.50
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.