Professional restaurant supplies Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Gifts for Mom to look and feel great Mother's Day Gifts Amazon Gift Card Offer bschs2 bschs2 bschs2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite UniOrlando Shop Now SnS


Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 19, 2011
This is a great book by world-renowned photojournalist Ken Jarecke, a Nebraska lad himself. It's a wonderful keepsake of the Cornhuskers in their last season in their previous conference. Not only are the action and detail photos great, but Ken has an exquisite eye for those "in between" and "quiet" moments that many fans miss, or don't have the opportunity to even see. I think any Husker fan would treasure this book, and it would become a family heirloom. It records the end of a chapter in Husker history that people will want to have in their library. Highly recommended.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2013
Mr. Jarecke got this one right. He is a photographer by trade and stuck with what he does best for this effort. There is very little text which adds to the book's desirability. It is a visual feast! Note that the book is true to its title as it only covers the Big Twelve games and Holiday Bowl. Selfishly, the only thing that keeps the book from being perfect in my eyes is the content is not solely game action photography. There is plenty, but the book also has fans and events surrounding the game as well. Any one who enjoys football photography will not be disappointed with this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2012
This is far more than a "sports book" It is an intimate look at the extensive family of people that make a football game possible. In this case a whole season of games. Watching the Nebraska coach praying in a private corner outside the locker room before the game is one of many photos that gives the viewer a sense of being at the game AND being being "back stage" at the same time. Renowned photojournalist Kenneth Jarecke also showcases some of the best sports action photography I have seen. Stunning moments on the field. The historical aspect of this book should also be mentioned. It is the last season the storied Nebraska team played in the big 12 before entering the Big 10. This book is a "must have" for all Nebraska fans an anyone who loves football amd great photography. These photographs are simply amazing!Husker Game Day 2010 - Farewell Big Twelve ("Husker Game Day", 2010)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2011
2010 was a historic year for Nebraska football; never before has the program's move from one conference to another (a rare event in itself) been formally documented. Husker Game Day 2010 - Farewell Big 12 is a loving look at the drama, pageantry and action of this transitional season through the photos and words of photojournalist, Ken Jarecke.

This wonderful book transcends its subject, Nebraska football and connects with the reader on a number of levels. From a photographic standpoint, Ken Jarecke has created a book that can be appreciated by anyone from a purely artistic standpoint; these photos are vibrant, beautifully realized pictures capturing the action of the game and the singular event that is college football.
Jarecke is one of the finest photojournalists working today and his creative "eye", craft and professional intuition are on display throughout this heirloom-quality book. Sports fans and certainly all football fans even if not followers of the University of Nebraska athletics will be enthralled by the photos and written insights delivered in this book.

From a historical perspective it captures a moment in time when the very foundations of college athletics are in transition: old rivalries are dying and new alliances are being formed on what seems like a daily basis. I suspect that the importance of this book will only be fully realized with the passage of time. This truly is a book that can connect generations with remembrances of a historic season of exhilarating highs and painful lows rekindled through the magic of these wonderful images. As a Nebraskan, I am very proud to own this book and the fact that it was designed, printed and bound in Nebraska makes it even more of a treasure that I, my children and their children to come will thoroughly enjoy for years.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2013
Ken Jarecke's book is a marvelous collection of unique and artful images and a rare glimpse into Nebraska football that few will see with their own eyes.

His work captures the sheer physical intensity of football but also captures the very human side of things with heartfelt images of the people that love the Huskers.

This is more than a mere collection of sports photographs, it's a look as football as Americana and the people that not only play the game, but love it.

It's beautifully designed and printed and Jarecke's commitment to this project is as impressive as the work itself. This is a project from the heart and it shows. I highly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2012
I bought this book for my husband's birthday, and he loves it. His "man cave" is devoted to Husker football even to the point that he said our wedding album couldn't be on display in there..."it doesn't have anything Husker in it." The photographs in this book tell stories of fans, players, coaches, and even opposing teams. The book itself is of good quality and will last through many generations of Husker fans perusing the pages and reliving our last year with the Big 12. And I appreciate that the book was created by a Husker, in Nebraska: "designed, printed and bound in Nebraska, not overseas. It's also licensed by the university, which means 10% of the retail price goes back to the athletic department" (K. Jarecke, author). As I understand, this will be the ONLY printing of this book. I highly recommend it!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 23, 2011
Ken Jarecke has traveled to the heartland of this nation to capture a photo record of the heart of the Huskers. Each time I open the book, I find something that I missed before. He captures the determination of the players and coaches; like gladiators of another age, they battle in the blood and sweat to be their best. He records the loyal fans in all of the activities that bring them to life on game day. Truly, the game is their life as with the players and coaches. The half time activities, behind the scene locker room activities, and spontaneous shots add to make this a most unusual book and a must have item. It is a collectors dream. Each journey through the book is a roller coaster ride of emotions that make it truly a "game day".
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2012
If you want a unique pictographic retrospection of last year's season, look no further. Kenneth Jarecke's documentation of the Huskers is unmatched. The images away from the action often amuse and enlighten. From the action shots, you'll find many up close details not elicited in other day-to-day images of our boys on the gridiron. It's truly hard for me to decide which images I like best. Kenneth has done an excellent job of really capturing the essence of each game and of Husker Football in general.

I for one hope that the Kenneth turns this into a season-by-season series. I've already enjoyed immensely the images and the idea that I own a limited edition that will surely be a collectible.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 21, 2012
Ken Jarecke is one of the premier photojournalists of our time. He has travelled the world to document history, but has never turned his back on his own country as a subject: he makes heartfelt, passionate pictures of the United States as well. His pictures have the utmost integrity, elegance, and humor. Ava.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 16, 2011
Ken, thanks for the opportunity to meet and visit with you for a moment. We spent some time with our copy of your book this afternoon and found it to truly be a work of art. Not only are the photos superb, the narrative and captions made them come alive. I know that the guys will really like their signed copies.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.