Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must if you love department stores or Baltimore
This is a great easy read filled with wonderful pictures and great tales of Baltimore's old and beloved department store. This book really explains why Hutzler's is Baltimore. Beautifully written. If you are interested in Baltimore, history, or department stores, you will love this.
Published on November 22, 2009 by Grandma Annie

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hoped for More
I grew up in the shadow of the Towson store and my father worked at Hutzler's, so I really wanted to enjoy this book. Sadly, I was disappointed. I had hoped for a more in-depth look at the family and their store, from its origins and through the years to its eventual decline. While the book does have these elements, they are very lightly treated. Within the span of 15...
Published on September 6, 2012 by TR Douglas


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must if you love department stores or Baltimore, November 22, 2009
This review is from: Hutzler's (MD): Where Baltimore Shops (Landmarks) (Paperback)
This is a great easy read filled with wonderful pictures and great tales of Baltimore's old and beloved department store. This book really explains why Hutzler's is Baltimore. Beautifully written. If you are interested in Baltimore, history, or department stores, you will love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, Easy Read with lots of Extras, November 24, 2009
By 
This review is from: Hutzler's (MD): Where Baltimore Shops (Landmarks) (Paperback)
A fun read about an old Baltimore institution; especially loved the additions of photos and recipes(!!!). I miss Hutzler's and bought the book for a bunch of my family members for Christmas because I loved it so much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memories of bygone days, March 31, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hutzler's (MD): Where Baltimore Shops (Landmarks) (Paperback)
HUTZLER'S - Where Baltimore shops, brought back so many happy memories, not only of Hutzler's, but of all the downtown stores that used to be.
One thing that I thought was conspicuous by its absence was not mentioning anything about Hutzler's downtown garage that you entered and exited onto Mulberry St. and where packages were delivered from the store and picked up by customers when they got their cars. It was a great service as were many of the other services Hutzlers offered.
The references were well documented and made for much nostalgia of pre-war and post war times in the major retail area of Baltimore.
I've recommended the book to several friends who knew the area as well as I did. I'm eager for my older chldren to read it but they will only have sketchy memories except for the Towson store.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hoped for More, September 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I grew up in the shadow of the Towson store and my father worked at Hutzler's, so I really wanted to enjoy this book. Sadly, I was disappointed. I had hoped for a more in-depth look at the family and their store, from its origins and through the years to its eventual decline. While the book does have these elements, they are very lightly treated. Within the span of 15 pages (on my Kindle), we speed from the Hutzler Brothers setting up shop to its 75th anniversary.

While the scope of the book was clearly intended to be local, I wanted more context to show Hutzler's in its times. The store lived through several transformative eras that created and defined society, cities, culture, commerce and retailing. I would have enjoyed reading about how and why the store grew and flourished in these times.

In the end, while I'm sure many will enjoy this book for its numerous personal recollections and fond memories, it should not be confused with a serious work that examines and explains how Hutzler's was truly built, and ultimately lost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hutzlers: Where Baltimore Shops, a review., November 2, 2012
By 
Joel Hutzler (WESTON, CT, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hutzler's (MD): Where Baltimore Shops (Landmarks) (Paperback)
1.
How do you rate this item? 5 stars selected

5 stars

2. Please enter a title for your review:

Item being reviewed
Hutzler's (MD): Where Baltimore Shops (Landmarks)

Michael J. Lisicky has an interesting style of writing and completed his research carefully before putting his manuscript in print. It was a tough subject to tackle. He covers many of the background facts of the founding and operation of the 132-year family dynasty without becoming too serious and text-bookish. There are many family stories that he omitted, perhaps because he was not aware of them or perhaps because they were excessive.
The downfall of the store would make an interesting sequel to this story. I found this book most entertaining.
Joel Hutzler, Jr. (A great grandson of Moses Hutzler who's three sons were THE Hutzler Brothers.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nostalgia at its best, December 25, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hutzler's (MD): Where Baltimore Shops (Landmarks) (Paperback)
This is a slim little book that has plenty of meat in it. Anyone who ever shopped at Hutzler's knows how special it was, and this book captures best fact and spirit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, January 23, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hutzler's (MD): Where Baltimore Shops (Landmarks) (Paperback)
For anyone who grew up in Baltimore over the age of 50...this is a must...it is so enjoyable and nostalgic...brings back so many pleasant memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, February 14, 2010
This review is from: Hutzler's (MD): Where Baltimore Shops (Landmarks) (Paperback)
I bought this book after going to see the author give a speech about Hutzler's. Very informative, and very easy to read! Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hutzler's (MD): Where Baltimore Shops, August 19, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hutzler's (MD): Where Baltimore Shops (Landmarks) (Paperback)
Received quickly and packaged nicely. Nice selection of books at a reasonable price. Will definitely buy from this seller again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hutzler's Where Baltimore Shops, February 14, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hutzler's (MD): Where Baltimore Shops (Landmarks) (Paperback)
Lovely book...I especially liked it since my Mother, who passed away just 3 years ago, and I were FREQUENT shoppers at Hutzler's. As a tiny child, we rode the bus "downtown" since Mom didn't drive. In my teen years, Hutzler's opened a store in the suburbs...Towson, MD where when I obtained my driver's license, I could take myself and some friends. In my adult years, I visited Hutzler's Tearoom, with my Aunt and Mother EVERY Saturday. Whoops, I almost forgot...before the tradition with Mother and my Aunt, Mother would take me and my older daughter there, EVERY Saturday, after her weekly allergy shot. The shot made my daughter lethargic, and she didn't REALLY enjoy lunch until the chocolate ice-cream clown made its appearance.
Another plus is that the book is written by a member of the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra...with whom my husband and I have held season tix for over 30 years. I also support the Orchestra through its volunteer organization, the Baltimore Symphony Associates.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Hutzler's (MD): Where Baltimore Shops (Landmarks)
Hutzler's (MD): Where Baltimore Shops (Landmarks) by Michael J. Lisicky (Paperback - October 30, 2009)
$19.99 $15.82
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.