Automotive Holiday Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_plcc_6M_fly_beacon Indie for the Holidays egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Get Ready for the Winter Gifts Under $50 Amazon Gift Card Offer bf15 bf15 bf15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $30 Off Fire HD 6 Kindle Black Friday Deals Outdoor Deals on DOTD

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars43
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:$19.70+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
on February 24, 2002
This book is the first of its kind to exclusively profile the use of hydrosols for phytoaromatherapy.and I expect it will revolutionize aromatherapy practice. Well written and researched, this book is based on Suzanne Catty's personal research. She has tried everything in this book, often on herself, and she speaks from well informed experience! I appreciate her honesty and candor. However, since the use of hydrosols (or hydrolates) is so new, often the reader is left with many questions, no fault of Ms. Catty, to be sure. What I would have appreciated was some sort of a chart or summary at the end that easily condensed much of the information in the book. As a healthcare professional and nationally certified Aromatherapist, I highly recommend this landmark achievement.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
HALL OF FAMEon May 22, 2005
Suzanne Catty says many folks believe they are allergic to scents, but scent allergies are usually owing to the impurity of the substance used. "If we used unpolluted, totally natural smells, the chances of negative health reactions would be dramatically reduced."Catty says she discovered hydrosols when she received a brochure from the Aromatic Plant Project initiated by Jeanne Rose and other pioneers. Catty thinks these substances are as effective as oils, tisanes, and other plant-based remedies.

HYDROSOLS: THE NEXT AROMA THERAPY includes a good deal of information about the beginning of the use of hydrosols and a discussion about water. Good clean water is in demand and growing scarcer every day. In years to come a growing share of the world's population will not have access to clean water. Because humans are 60-70 percent water, and totally dependent on the stuff, this is a crises. Catty suggests good water, in addition to being a life-source, can also be medicine when combined with plant substances.

A large section of the book discusses specific hydrosols, rthe water products which form as a by-product during essential oil production (i.e. healthful water derivatives). In a section entitled `The Monographs' Catty covers specific information discovered by researchers about the properties and some applications of hydrosols. Here Catty is concerned with the chemical makeup as well as various phases of hydrosol production. Temperature, filter quality and water source all play a role in the end product(production and storage).

In subsequent chapters she goes into more depth, covering uses of hydrosols: as compresses; sitz baths and regular baths; topical compresses such as masks, scrubs, and compresses; and shampoos, conditioners and rinses. She also considers hydrosols for oral use as tonics, eye-washes or douches.

I like Catty's matter-of-fact writing about these useful products. She also provides a list of sources in the appendix, including information about her own company 'Acqua Vita'.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
on May 8, 2001
A wonderful wonderful book that takes the reader on a journey through the process of distilling plants specially for the hydrosols, gives information on the proper handling of these special waters, then goes on the open up a whole new world of healing with the other side of Aromatherapy: Hydrosols. A must-have book for any serious Aromatherapist. Suzanne Catty mirrors so much of my own understanding on "Life, the Universe & Aromatherapy" that reading this book is a true joy. She has opened new doors for me that I have been trying to pick the locks of for some time now. Thank you Suzanne !
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
on February 14, 2006
I purchased this book when it first came out. I thoroughly enjoyed it at that time, and have used it as a reference ever since. What so many do not realize is that different treatments (distillation vs. tincture vs. absolute vs. hydrosol, etc.) of a plant result in often VERY different properties comprising that substance. So finally having some insights into the properties of hydrosols, the water remaining from the distillation of a plant, is/was much needed. No other work like it had been available.

And what a revelation about many of them. Most people, even those working with essential oils and their cousins were not aware of what this or that hydrosol might do, let alone how to get their hands on it.

Really needed and really wonderful work!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
on December 6, 2012
I bought the book based on the reviews. And while I expect that this will become a good reference for me, I wished the author had not glossed over how to make hydrosols at home. If you are looking for that information, don't buy this book. If you want something that you can use to refer to what specific hydrosols can do, than this is worth buying.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
on November 9, 2006
This is the best collection of information about hydrosols on the market! I make lotions and oils for dogs and cats so learning about hydrosols is critical.

The author has easy to understand information about the history and process of making hydrosols. She includes concise information on specific scents and provides recipes for their use.

I'm going to use this book on a regular basis. Hydrosols: The Next Aromatherapy was strongly suggested in Kristen Leigh Bell's book, Holistic Aromatherapy for Animals (another great work).
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on September 25, 2014
Excellent book for anyone that wants to learn more about Hydrosols and their many uses. Especially if you work with cats since you cannot use essential oils with cats, hydrosols are a great alternative. A must have for any library.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on July 22, 2015
I bought the Kindle version as it was on sale. I recently got to know about the world of essential oils and as I researched more, found out about hydrosols. This book is like the bible for hydrosols. Every website or FB group about hydrosols always has this book recommended. I must say it lives up to its name. I have a 11 months old baby and do not want to use essential oils topically on her. She has eczema and I spray a mix of hydrosols recommended in the book which have healing and calming properties to soothe her skin. A lot of improvement after just a few days and continued usage.

I like how the book is organized. It is easy to look for the monograph of each hydrosol. There are a lot of uncommon hydrosol monographs too, with typical usage, properties, shelf life and stability. The recipes come at the end if you wish to search by ailment instead. I read the book cover to cover and refer to it whenever I need. A good buy!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on December 7, 2011
This book is a extremely thorough, informative, and interesting. It is not a superficial revue of Hydrosols, rather, it is both penetrating and thought provoking. I plan to give it to a friend who owns an international Essential Oil company (dealing largely in fine, organic oils). My friend is a consummate professional who already sells Hydrosols, yet I believe that even he will appreciate and gain from the knowledge in this book.
I highly recommend it!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on December 8, 2014
Fabulous book, full of information. It does expect you to make some connections and draw some conclusions yourself, which I like. Suzanne Catty is the go-to reference for hydrosols, as I have found out while reading other books written since this one. You can save yourself from having to find a lot of storage for the other authors' books by buying this one first!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed

375 Essential Oils and Hydrosols
375 Essential Oils and Hydrosols by Jeanne Rose (Paperback - August 28, 1999)


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.