Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you dislike HDN previously, please take another look, August 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hyperdimension Neptunia Re;Birth1 - PlayStation Vita (Video Game)
Verified purchase from day one. Have put in more than 30 hours and have already finished the game.

TL;DR: This game is not a port of the previous title that everyone puts down, it is a very good/excellent title that deserves to be given a chance. Seemingly every professional reviewer and individual who's played both games would agree with this sentiment. Anyone who doesn't play this title and bashes it on another forum because of how its predecessor played is doing all of us a disservice by lowering the chances of more decent quality titles from making it to the west. If you don't believe me, then give it a while. In a few weeks, you will return to this product page and see a ton of 5 star reviews saying 'Wow, this is way better than the PS3 versions' or 'This game was surprisingly good, I'm glad I bought it and ignored the hate associated with previous games'.

Normal Review:

If you played the original game and didn't like it, or you have heard people badmouth this game, please hear me out. I played the original HDN as well, and I too thought it was pretty bad. I never finished it and sold it on Ebay years ago. When people mock this series, or say its purely fan-service, its usually in reference to the original PS3 game. Even for those who played Mk2, it was still pretty 'janky'. As for the remake, Re;birth 1, I will never sell this game.

The quality of these games has increased substantially. I am very glad that I didn't decide to write it off because of my experience with the first game. There really is no comparison between the original HDN and the remake, Re;birth 1 (I will provide proof below). When people talk about the differences between the two versions, they really should underscore the difference in quality. Just check this out - Famitsu, the Japanese voice for gaming reviews (similar to IGN, Gamespot, etc. in the US and Europe), also agreed that the first game wasn't that great, but look at what they said about later games:

Originals on PS3, in order
Hyperdimension Neptunia - 26/40
Hyperdimension Neptunia Mk2 - 28/40
Hyperdimension Neptunia Victory - 30/40

Now for the remake:
Hyperdimension Neptunia Re;birth 1 - 33/40

As you can see, the original series improved with each new iteration(as you typically hear from the fans). But then, there is quite a jump in quality from the PS3 versions to the PS Vita versions. 26 -> 33 for the first game. These two titles are simply not comparable. What's different? Pretty much everything has been completely redone and all that still holds is the characters, voice acting, and same basic story premise. Similarly, the differences in scores from western critics (USA, EU, etc.) are even greater. on Metacritic (which is an aggregate score from many reviewers in the west), the critic score went from 45 -> 75. These scores are on par with Tales of Xilia, and all other 'Tales of' games. Objectively, I would personally give HDN 1 a 3/10, mk2 a 6/10, Victory a 7/10 and Re;Birth 1 a 8.5/10. The second game, Re;birth 2, received about the same score as this one in Japan and is also becoming a hit over there.

A metacritic score of 75 isn't as high as The Last of Us or Uncharted 3, but its a score that indicates an enjoyable game, whereas a score of 45 (original PS3 version) indicates an unenjoyable one. Your own individual score will be many points higher if you like JRPGs and anime-styled gameplay/characters, which many western reviewers tend to be biased against. And this decent score comes from a studio that doesn't have millions of dollars for 'movie theater quality graphics and soundtracks' like Tomb Raider and The Last of Us, which literally need to make 100 million dollars in order to be considered 'truly profitable'. This is the work of Idea Factory and Compile Hearts, a studio that started out very small with a small, dedicated fanbase, and is quickly improving game quality with each new title as they build up their company. Recently, Idea Factory opened an international division that is trying to bring over as many of their titles to USA and EU as viable. Another good example of a new, good quality jrpg coming to the west Fairy Fencer F coming to the PS3 next month, a game that was also made by IF/CH, but is being localized by NISA. The game also scored about as well as this HDN remake.

The combat system in HDN Re;birth 1 is extremely addicting. The humor is great throughout the entire game - I found myself laughing out loud on multiple occasions and I'm only 5 hours in. The graphics are fantastic - If anything, the graphics on this game look as sharp or sharper than HDN Victory on the PS3. I'm willing to say that this is one of the nicest looking games on the PS Vita at the moment, and one of the best well-rounded experiences to be had on it. I'd say that Uncharted: Golden Abyss and Killzone Mercenary have better visuals than this game, but this game looks nicer or as nice as every other PS Vita game. For those that like anime-styled jrpgs, but don't like too much fan-service being shoved down their throats, know that this game is less mature compared to HDN mk2 or Victory. It has been toned down in a way that strikes a good balance between keeping the fans pleased and not warding off new players.

One of the biggest overhauls of the new game is the remake system which replaces the scouting system in HDN Victory. This new system offers even more content than the scouting system and is nowhere near as tedious. No longer do I need to send 20 scouts to an area before finally triggering the 'tough enemies' shift. Now, all you need to do is collect a 'plan' for tough enemies in an area and gather the required materials to activate that plan. Once activated, it can be toggled on or off whenever you like. There are several other plans - for awesome weapons, crafting ingredients, costumes, gameplay elements (like increasing or decreasing the difficulty), new items to be sold in shops, etc.)

I've never played the Japanese edition of Re;birth, so I can't say how close it is to the Japanese version, but so far I think Idea Factory International did an excellent job of translating it (This was my biggest fear). I'm on the third chapter and I haven't notice any 'Engrish'. There is more voice acting than HDN Victory. Depending on the point in the story, I'd say about 40-50% is voiced, which is a great improvement from the PS3 games. The jokes are not too specific to Japan, so westerners won't get lost - One of the lines Neptunia says when she dies in battle is "I'll be back" as a Terminator 2 reference. LOL. The only complaint I have is that, while there is a lot more content in this game than any other (seemingly so far), ~50% of enemy sprites, level designs, and costumes are recycled from previous games. In this way, it may seem like the game is lacking content, but don't be fooled - the game really shines in other ways. For example, each character has several moves that are acquired through progression in the story line, leveling up, and character relationships. Most of these moves are fully animated and are awesome (something akin to a Final Fantasy game where you summon 'Ifrit' or 'Shiva' and watch the short movie of him/her attacking) Yup... each character has several (sometimes dozens) of these short videos. Given that you can transform many of the characters into 'goddess form' and change their normal and goddess outfits, a lot of custimization can be had here - almost no other rpg puts that much effort into combat video clips, sometimes it almost feels like watching an action anime. Also, many of the characters look a bit different and the major cities are strikingly different. I don't remember Lastation being 'Steam-punk' styled in any of the other games, nor do I remember the world existing on a series of floating islands.

This game is more difficult than previous games - here are a few tips for those unfamiliar with these games: A) As part of the remake system, one of the first 'plans' you acquire is to make enemies weaker or harder - use these if necessary. B) The EXE gauge exists for a few reasons. One is for finishing moves that come later in the game, but early on, you use it primarily for an extra attack each turn. You need to go into the menu and turn this on manually by going to Menu -> Commands -> Combo Skills -> *Select Character* -> and give the character an 'EX Finish' at the bottom of the screen. Furthermore, as your character levels up, you can toggle their regular attacks to make them more powerful in this same menu.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Vita's Best JRPG's, August 28, 2014
This review is from: Hyperdimension Neptunia Re;Birth1 - PlayStation Vita (Video Game)
This is my first Hyper dimension game, so I may miss some things.

I have played for roughly ~4hrs now on Chpt 2 (I bought the LE & normal version locally), and I can say this is one of m favorite JRPGs for Vita.

Characters:
While the main cast is female there is still a large of variety between the characters. You begin the game with Neptuna, a girl who has lost her memories and is now going on an adventure with Iffy & Compa in hopes of regaining her memories. As of now I find these characters entertaining, they do make many references to the gaming industry, some which are more obvious than others I suppose. During conversations the characters do have some movement, their faces also change based on their reaction. The ENG voice acting in this game is spot on, I don't have any complaints here.

Audio:
One thing that's important in a game is the music/effects/etc. Re;Birth1 is no exception, it has a good music (there is an in game music viewer that allows you to play the game's tracks).

Graphics:
Since I have NOT played the PS3 version I am unsure of how much better the models are in the Vita version. However, I can tell you this game looks great on Vita. The enemies and playable characters have a good amount of detail on them. Environments/level design isn't anything special, nothing that willl "wow" you anyway.

Gameplay:
With this remake there's a new battle system that gives the player more control:
1. You can move freely (within a set area while in a battle)
2. You can control your entire team of 3 people (6 if they are partnered with others)
3. During battle you can switch out for another character that's on your party
4. Goddesses can transform, and gain a significant power boost
5. Status effects such as poison, stunned, etc exist
6. You can run into enemies that are "dangerous" (These guys are extremely powerful)
7. Run/flee a fight (doesn't work often if enemy if very strong)
8. It's important to break enemy's guard to inflict more damage

Missions:
Besides story missions you are offered many side quests (which I believe can be repeated over and over) for rewards. If you are familiar with RPGs you'll know what to expect from side quests.

Difficulty:
Well...I feel you need to grind somewhat, if you don't fight wild enemies you'll get killed easily in Chpt 1 even. I have had party members die since I didn't fully get the battle system at 1st but, now I see how important guard breaking is. Also I highly suggest attacking from behind & not from the enemy's face.

DLC:
While not directly part of the game, there are DLC characters on PSN. So far I am only using Plutia, and she's more useful for healing than Compa. Keep in mind these DLC characters only speak during battle, and do not contribute to the main story (they do have outfits in the store though).

Controls:
While in a dungeon you can jump & hit enemies with Neptune's weapon. If you hit the enemy 1st you'll have an advantage in battle (sort of like FF13-2). There is also the ability to search for hidden treasure. And the direction keys allow you to zoom in & out while in dungeons.

During conversations you can tap the screen to continue the text, or use the buttons, the rear touch pad doesn't seem to be used in this game at all.

Conclusion:
If you are a fan of (J)RPG's or even anime there's a big chance you'll like this game as well. Honestly there aren't many negative things to say, I would probably just want ask that IF pack an OST with their LE instead...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Neptune deserves the premium pudding for this game., September 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hyperdimension Neptunia Re;Birth1 - PlayStation Vita (Video Game)
While I have not played the original PS3 game, I watched a full playthrough of it on YouTube and could easily tell how bad it was. Watching the battles became so tedious and boring that I started to skip through most of them. Not to mention, the overuse of the "silly" music in cut-scenes...
This was my first Hyperdimension Neptunia game, and my only previous experience with the series was the anime, what I watched of the original PS3 game, and what little I've seen of the rest of the series.

Character-wise, the cast is quite diverse. There's definitely a character for everybody. Just keep in mind that it's an all-female cast, with only a few male NPCs.

The music is good, but frankly, I'm a bit disappointed that some of the better themes from the original lost their way to this remake. The Lowee snowfield music ("White Time", I think it was called) is one of them. It seems like some of the music was rearranged from the first game, while other tracks were recycled from later games. I don't have too much of a problem with this, but I wish there were more battle themes, especially for normal enemies.

The voice work is also quite good, and right off the bat, we got three reputable voice actresses: Melissa Fahn (Neptune), Christina Vee (Compa) and Kate Higgins (IF). My only problem is that only about half of the cut-scenes have English voice acting. If you choose to use the Japanese voices (which aren't bad either), you'll find that practically all the cut-scenes are voiced. Plus, the Japanese voice option has one more clip for everybody's jump, if you care about that.

The story by itself isn't anything to write home about, but the whole atmosphere it creates with all the references to games, anime and manga change this. The story is set in Gamindustry with four lands ruled by the goddesses who essentially represent major game companies. At the very beginning of the story, Neptune, whose name comes from the unreleased Sega console, Sega Neptune, is knocked out of the Console War by the other three goddesses, Noire (Playstation/Sony), Blanc (Wii/Nintendo), and Vert (Xbox/Microsoft). She loses her memories (yet strangely knows a whoooole lot...), and is rescued by Compa (Compile Heart's representative). From here, Compa and Neptune set out to attempt to recover her memories and unseal the tome, Histoire.
The dialogue is comedic and throws references and almost any chance it gets.

The graphics aren't bad, but aren't great either. Put simply, they get the job done, they represent what they are trying to.
That said, the artwork in the cut-scenes is great. Not only is it beautifully drawn, but the characters are animated, despite being in a visual novel style. The characters are even animated to show breathing and subtle head movements. It's really incredible to look at, and it's awesome that the artist had so much attention to tiny details like that. It's not choppy either; it's practically butter-smooth. It's something you have to see to believe, but trust me, it's awesome.

The gameplay is great, and definitely one of the best things about this game. While the battles are turn based, you are able to move around and position yourself to attack enemies. You can customize your attack combos as well. In these combos, you can set up to nine attacks (3 rush, 3 power, 3 break), and up to four EX attacks that you obtain as your level increases. Naturally, there are also special moves you can utilize. You can only bring three party members into battle, but you can also pair them up with three more members and switch out as needed (it takes a turn, though).
The dungeons, on the other hand... you'll probably be disappointed in. While at first, it may seem like you are encountering a fresh, new dungeon all the time, you will soon find that the designs get recycled frequently. The only things that change in these recycled dungeons are the items and enemies you encounter. Had this one issue not been present, I would have given this game a higher rating. They really went for quantity over quality here.
The "Plan" system is worth noting. It functions not only as an item crafting system, but also as a way to modify how the game works, to a certain extent. For example, you can change the enemies and items that appear in dungeons, weaken or strengthen the enemies, or reveal all hidden treasures.

There is some DLC for this game, but on the bright side, it is very cheap. It only cost me $6 to get all of it. There are three packs that increase your level cap by 300 (each) and add new dungeons, as well as three characters: Plutia, Peashy, and Histoire.
The DLC characters are all pretty useful, especially Plutia and Histoire. Peashy, not as much, but she still has her use early on if you need her.

Something to note is that initially, there were bugs with the voices of Plutia and Peashy. Plutia had the jumping voice clips from Noire, and Peashy and the battle voice clips from Nepgear. This has recently been fixed as of the 1.01 update.

To conclude, this is a great game to add to your Vita library. The fun gameplay and dialogue really add to this game, and it's worth going through multiple times to tackle all of the challenges it has to offer. If this game had a unique design for every dungeon, I would have given this five stars, but since they are recycled too frequently, I just can't give it that many.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nep of the year, September 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hyperdimension Neptunia Re;Birth1 - PlayStation Vita (Video Game)
It's amazing to consider this a remake since almost everything has been changed, almost all of it for the better. Easily the best Neptunia game you can get at the moment in English, but aside form that it's one of the best jrpgs i've played in the past 6 or 7 years. The frame rate is silky smooth, something you can't even see bigger companies doing right and the same VA's are back but must have a better director or something. Also IFI did an amazing job with the localization, this is the closest thing I think i'll ever see to a 1/1 translation to the Japanese version
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This version is way better than the first title in the series, August 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hyperdimension Neptunia Re;Birth1 - PlayStation Vita (Video Game)
This version is way better than the first title in the series! Much more enjoyable and balanced compared to the first Hyperdimension Neptunia on the Playstation 3. If your a fan of the Neptunia series or an avid RPG player I recommend picking this one up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A game that I've always wanted to play, October 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hyperdimension Neptunia Re;Birth1 - PlayStation Vita (Video Game)
I always loved the drawings of Tsunako so this game satisfies me the most. The rebuilt system is based on the system of HDN Victory on PS3, and it has significantly improved the player experience which has been a problem in the first edition. The game is very interesting even for RPG idiots like me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, August 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hyperdimension Neptunia Re;Birth1 - PlayStation Vita (Video Game)
Excellent game and series. Love cute girls doing silly and badass things all in one? Who doesn't? Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The game is still a great remake considering how bad the original was, August 26, 2014
This review is from: Hyperdimension Neptunia Re;Birth1 - PlayStation Vita (Video Game)
Please don't give it one star just because you didn't get a LE copy. The game is still a great remake considering how bad the original was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun and Challenging JRPG, August 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hyperdimension Neptunia Re;Birth1 - PlayStation Vita (Video Game)
The game is great. If you want a fun yet challenging JRPG then look no further. This game is a blast to play and has tons of funny dialog and cutscenes. I hope you will enjoy the game as much as I am.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun and adorable!! ~. ~, September 14, 2014
By 
Nina (Virginia, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hyperdimension Neptunia Re;Birth1 - PlayStation Vita (Video Game)
I've never played the previous version of this game for the ps3 so I'm not sure what they changed for the better, but I am a RPG lover and I love this game so far even though the story isn't what you call a epic storyline for an RPG. And I usually hate stupid funny stories but this one didn't bother me so much it was adorable and felt casual. The graphics was also a big plus. The music was alright nothing amazing but catchy. Lots and lots of grinding but what RPG isn't? Overall I love it and will get rebirth 2 in January :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Hyperdimension Neptunia Re;Birth1 - PlayStation Vita
Hyperdimension Neptunia Re;Birth1 - PlayStation Vita by Idea Factory (PlayStation Vita)
$39.99 $29.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.