Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm actually enjoying this!
I'm really enjoying this game. This is my first JRPG and first time playing a PS3 title on my ps3 (which I mainly use as a blu-ray player). I had to go through a lot to get it, but I'm glad I did. I find the humor most intertaining, it sometimes borders on the line of cheesy but has never fully crossed the line (at least in my book), and the lack of a 4th wall is rather...
Published on April 9, 2012 by Voodoster

versus
13 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hmmmmmm.......
Note: I bought this game used for about $25. I played it for about a week before selling it back. I should point out that I've only ever sold back two games out of my 100+ collection of RPGs and JRPGs.

Graphics
-blurry and blocky
-near Playstation 2 quality
+cute girls

Sound
-No memorable songs
-Voice acting is adequate...
Published 21 months ago by Seshiro


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm actually enjoying this!, April 9, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Hyperdimension Neptunia (Standard Edition) (Video Game)
I'm really enjoying this game. This is my first JRPG and first time playing a PS3 title on my ps3 (which I mainly use as a blu-ray player). I had to go through a lot to get it, but I'm glad I did. I find the humor most intertaining, it sometimes borders on the line of cheesy but has never fully crossed the line (at least in my book), and the lack of a 4th wall is rather fun and adds a nice little twist to the game. The only negative side to getting this game for me was some of my "friends" were asking me why I got such a "terrible" game, so I asked them if they had played it, and they said "no but I've heard that its a bad game..." Well take it from me (who has actually played the game) it IS fun to play, yes it gets a little repetitive in some areas, but think about it, almost all games do at one point or another and this one is no where near repetitive enough to make me want to stop playing it any time soon. So if you do decide to buy it, do so, enjoy, and don't let anyone talk down to you for playing and/or enjoying it like I have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, July 1, 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hyperdimension Neptunia (Standard Edition) (Video Game)
PROS:
The main characters are girls that I found myself doting over. The game allows you to customize their outfits which is really fulfilling.
The enemies are really unique.

CONS:
A lot of the dialogue is inside jokes that apparently are insular to a Japanese image board, meaning that unless you're one of those guys you won't know what is being talked about.
The environments are very repetitive.

NEUTRAL:
The combat system is good in some ways, bad in others. You build up combos that you customize yourself. There are a lot of possibilities therein. Some of the combo animations are excellent, but others like disc attacks are all mostly the same and get boring. The R/W attack allows you to import a photo from your PS3 and use it in the attack, but I never was motivated to find good use of it.
The story is decent but not amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A blast, January 20, 2012
By 
Cat_Pack (Junction City, Ohio) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hyperdimension Neptunia (Standard Edition) (Video Game)
This was a great game, filled with the usual moe moments and over the top comedy as you see in most anime. The graphics are well done and the plot is interesting since it ecompases video game personas and has enemies that can correspond as well like 8bit enemies in example. One of the main reasons I got this was the fact that you can use any picture you saved on your ps3 or external drive and use that for your summon. These leaves alot of interesting opportunities and makes it more fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hmmmmmm......., December 31, 2012
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Hyperdimension Neptunia (Standard Edition) (Video Game)
Note: I bought this game used for about $25. I played it for about a week before selling it back. I should point out that I've only ever sold back two games out of my 100+ collection of RPGs and JRPGs.

Graphics
-blurry and blocky
-near Playstation 2 quality
+cute girls

Sound
-No memorable songs
-Voice acting is adequate

Story
+Interesting premise
-Extremely slow paced
-long series of dungeons gets in the way of story

Game play
-Combat is slow and uninteresting
-very little actual skill is involved
-very few characters to play with
-menus are unorganized and messy

Overall:
I the characters and premise but the slow combat and awful presentation of the game made it unplayable. I tried to like the game, I really did. In the end though, this game will appeal to those who are able to put aside the graphics and awful game play for a mildly amusing take on the console wars. I feel like this game would have caught my interest far more if it focused on the aspects it did well and simply removed the combat all together and turned the game into a full visual novel. Some few might like it but most won't (especially not at the $40 amazon is charging for this).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars And NISA saves the day, June 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hyperdimension Neptunia (Standard Edition) (Video Game)
Another wonderful title from Nippon Ichi, gets repetitive quickly though. You need to find a groove and wipe it out fast or risk getting horridly bored.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars After watching the show, decided to give the game a shot, March 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hyperdimension Neptunia (Standard Edition) (Video Game)
This game's target audience is targeted towards the geek/gamer/anime fan

Pros: -The game dialogue is absolutely hilarious! There are parodies and references all over this gem. You'll find Sailor Moon, DBZ, Mario, Dead Rising, K-On!, Zelda and more referenced here
-Both Jap & Eng dub are pretty good
-Animations for special attacks are pretty cool to watch
-Lots of free DLC
-Customization combo system leaves for much experimentation
-Can put your own image in the game from your PS3 as a logo on some characters
-The hand drawn characters are beautiful to look at
-Lots of satire & fourth wall breaking

Cons: -Battle system is very slow and tedious
-Healing is an issue
-Event hough the maps vary, they all look the same
-Only a handful of DLC are good/useful. If you bought all the DLC I think it is estimate $90. A lot are DLC outfits
-Shares system which is really important to unlock events/characters/etc is not explained at all
-Due to budget issues with NISA, the DLC characters are missing dialogue through cut scenes

Overall: As bland as the game play is,I primarily played this game for the dialogue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad At All, August 8, 2013
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hyperdimension Neptunia (Standard Edition) (Video Game)
This is simply an excellent game overall. I think many people not familiar with the genre or style mistake this game for another Final Fantasy or something similar. It is a unique, interesting new take on JRPG gameplay that strives to be a little closer to a visual novel than an RPG. That said, the customization system is ridiculously specific, but it is certainly not necessary to engage in the system if you don't like it. The gameplay is turn-based, showing animations and transformations for different characters that are interesting to watch. The characters are fun, cute, and entertaining to watch. While it is entirely possible to spend days grinding the dungeons (which takes an excruciatingly long amount of time), much of the game focuses on the story and the characters. That is how this game should be enjoyed, in my opinion. The gameplay being rather fun is an added bonus. It is very slow-paced, however, which is its one major flaw. Being able to skip the animations allows for relatively quick battles, though, which helps a little.

Overall, this game is a fun and visually appealing title that emphasizes characters, plot, and visuals (although the graphics are a tad shoddy) as well as decent gameplay. Not for everyone, but a fun title for most.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars High level parody, October 13, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hyperdimension Neptunia (Standard Edition) (Video Game)
Neptunia demands a lot from the player, but pays out high reward. With a unique battle system similar to that of xenogears and a well voiced cast, the game has a number of positives. Players will understand the jokes and quirks of the characters better if they are familiar with both the history of the console wars of the 1990s and early 2000s.

As the game is fully voiced by a number of popular Japanese voice actresses and animated imagery, it is part visual novel. Over the experience is rewarding in that the player 'lives' the story more than simply reads or plays a game.

The few downsides are unique healing system that takes time to fully understand and the recycled dungeons. Heals are triggered by conditions in battle as well as allotted manageable item skill points, however once learned the system is friendly and efficient. Sadly most dungeons look the same, being cookie cutter in structure, however they do flow well and make spelunking enjoyable.

Enemies are creative, though limited as many end game monsters are buffed up recolors. Music throughout the game was occasionally repetitive, but enjoyable nonetheless.

Recommended for those that: like JRPGs, have played lots of vintage and current games, those that have a decent knowledge of Japanese pop culture, or are looking for something different
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A rocky start, February 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hyperdimension Neptunia (Standard Edition) (Video Game)
After playing the game about 50-80 hours i can never tell because i walk away sometimes. I really don't know how this became a 3 game series and an anime other than the concept that it came from. I would have liked to have given this a 2.5 stars but that isn't an option and just because it is a game that does work it will get you from start to finish but it as a whole I did not find very enjoyable.

Synopsis: takes place in Gameindustri where four goddesses are competing for shares for their consoles the main character Neptune represents a sega console that was never released, the goddess noire who represents Lastation(Playstation) Vert who represents Leanbox(Xbox) and Blanc who represents Lowee(wii) and the villians who represent Arfoire which is basically what represents pirating,

Graphics: 5/10 The game really doesn't do anything to suck you in visually but then again most Jrpgs except final fantasy usually arent the prettiest. Has good 2D anime art but the in game graphics are very crude mostly hallways and the dungeons lack creativity usually the same 8-10 dungeon backgrounds with different sizes. character models are ok but are somewhere around PS2 visuals for this game. The biggest slap in the face is the NPC's other than the four goddesses and some side characters all the NPCs are black outlines and really takes away from you caring about most characters they bring into the mix.

Music: 2/10 The game has music but its done very badly. The game has a lot of customization options i almost wish they would have let you put in your own soundtracks too. Its basically worse than elevator music since its the same battle theme or world theme every time and they just aren't good.

Sound: 6/10 Neptunia has the usual combat sound effects attacks, walking ect. I'm giving this a higher score because of dual audio and that it has more voice acting i feel than the sequels do, but doesn't stand out more than other JRPGS.

Gameplay 5/10 The overworld is generally pretty boring basically you go to one of the four landmasses for each console and take on story quests or sidequests. The continents look interesting but there isn't any exploring you basically go to the landmass shop listen to small blog posts from the goddesses which other than a few are usually short and not too interesting or take on quests. Also, the option to change continents requires you to go through a small mini dungeon to get to the other continent, which is always the same low level monsters and by the time you are level 60 its a small inconvenience but its just a waste of an hour or two the whole time you're playing, the quests are usually not very interesting will give you a description of why you are doing it sometimes a level range and will take you to a hallway dungeon to clear. As for the battle system it is turn based and you will run into random battles in dungeons. My biggest gripe with the game is battles are too long. In the battle there is an option to skip battle animations which if it wasn't there i'm sure i would have ended the game early. A lot of the dungeons are timed and you get rewarded based on how long you take and i wanted max money per task and after a few hours i didn't have the patience to watch the animations anymore. The game lets you set up combos to break an enemy's guard and deal massive damage which is about the only way to go and the combo options give you a lot of flexibility. The other problem with the game is the healing its kind of like FF12 and gambits but each skill is set to trigger a certain way and you cant change it. some activate while taking damage some at the beginning of your turn but the biggest problem is you cant heal out of combat or revive... at all if a character dies in combat they come back at 1HP but until near end game i cant remember a time I was able to bring someone back up and all the items based on healing drop after a battle but all the good skills take too many of them and buying them is just to expensive.

Story: 6/10 The story itself is quite forgettable but i feel it deserves a higher score because the premise of the game bringing consoles into live as anime girls in a living gameindustry sounds like a great idea and in this game is heavily underutilized. Very few of the monsters give you a chuckle based on their name or game references like the sequel does. The game has a lot of event sequences that has story development but other than those usually you are just doing sidequests till the end of the game.

Conclusion 5/10: All in all the game doesn't give itself the opening it should have. Am i glad i played it? I felt there were some pieces of the game that i did thoroughly enjoy but i think i was more motivated to beat the game because Hyperdimension neptunia mk2 just arrived halfway through the game. If you're a person who wants to play a game series through and through and want to support the developers then go ahead and start here. However if you like the premise of the game and like anime and try this and get turned off try out neptunia mk 2 and it likely will make you reconsider the series there are a lot of improvements made and i definitely don't regret continuing the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You'll enjoy it if you know what you're getting first., November 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hyperdimension Neptunia (Standard Edition) (Video Game)
If you don't like JRPGs, anime girls, typical anime humor, and game industry humor, there's really nothing here that will change your mind. The story is fun but the gameplay is not so great. Still, I had fun. They are making a remake for the Vita that will have Victory's battle system (much better!!!) along with more characters and other improvements so you may want to hold out for that one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Hyperdimension Neptunia (Standard Edition)
Hyperdimension Neptunia (Standard Edition) by NIS America (PlayStation 3)
$59.99 $34.91
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.