Customer Reviews


86 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Filter the Hype and you got a great book
I like this book. I got a lot out of it. It's written in short chapters with tips you can deal with and the guy obviously can put it down on paper and make a difference. I learned a lot and will learn lots more I am sure as this book is a keeper for writers.

What I agree with the one reviewer on here that I read is that there is an ample amount of hype in here...
Published on April 30, 2007 by Kug

versus
319 of 341 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Core with Sleazy Filler
I tried to come up with another title then "Great Core with Sleazy Filler" but couldn't. It nails this book perfectly.

There are great writing and composition tips. And the book reflects its message by using its own techniques. I can see the value of this, and can see that doing so would over-reach the natural tone of such a book. However, it's all the...
Published on March 14, 2007 by James McPhate


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

319 of 341 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Core with Sleazy Filler, March 14, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hypnotic Writing: How to Seduce and Persuade Customers with Only Your Words (Paperback)
I tried to come up with another title then "Great Core with Sleazy Filler" but couldn't. It nails this book perfectly.

There are great writing and composition tips. And the book reflects its message by using its own techniques. I can see the value of this, and can see that doing so would over-reach the natural tone of such a book. However, it's all the get-rich-quick, and over-the-top usage of "I've never told this secret to anyone before" types of manipulation that really disappoint. There are also claims with regards to hypnosis and psychology that are presented as "beyond doubt" and "proven" which are tenuous and no where near being such.

Near the end of the book Joe describes his mailing list, and how profitable it is, and then lists some emails he's sent to it. It felt like he had a cult of followers who are the same people who buy the "Get Rich in 15 Minutes a Day" programs (which sums up lots of his example sales copy in the book) and believe positive thinking and prosperity theologies are all that are need to succeed (usually described as get rich). Overall, Joe continually steps over my ethical lines of clarity and honesty.

Joe references Master Mind groups, which is a a Pseudo-Christian prosperity theology (New Though, Christian Science, etc.) and continually promotes his "The Attractor Factor" book. While the power of goal setting and visualization are undeniable, lets not forget about focus and work.

If you think you'll get more of the worlds limited resources because you sit in a circle and hold hands and wish for a larger house, then this book is definitely for you. Or go to his web site to find endorsements for products like "How to Get Lots of Money For Anything Fast!"

If you want to get some excellent writing and marketing tips, and can ignore the sleaze and tone done the excesses in your own writing, then this book is great as well.

The other strange thing is the reviewers. If you dig around, you'll find that they all seem to know each other, cross review, and peddle the same low-brow wealth creation or similar products. I actually discovered this book while looking at "Think Two Products Ahead", a book with over the top promotion on the Amazon page.

My final thoughts on the books content are on the marketing concepts in this book. This book tries to sell, whereas most modern marketing theory talks about an over-communicated marketplace where people don't trust advertising and explicit attempts to make you buy. "Guerrilla Marketing", "Positioning", and "The Fall of Advertising and Rise of P.R" all talk to this nicely. But this ignores market segmentation. There is a segment of the market you can sell directly too. If you come up with a simple message, blast it to millions of people, some will buy. But you will not get word-of-mouth marketing and a growing position in the market. So, if that is not your market, focus on the writing tips, and tone down the excess and apply within your own marketing framework.

It's been a while since a book has made me feel this conflicted. I'm giving it a three, since it's good writing material. I don't regret buying it, and it did improve my own copywriting- but in the context of my broader marketing experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


104 of 114 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A book to sell other books, February 22, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hypnotic Writing: How to Seduce and Persuade Customers with Only Your Words (Paperback)
On almost every chapter of this book the author just scratches the surface on interesting subjects and will reference other books instead of completing and going deeper into the subject himself. I didn't give a lonely star is because I did find some little bits of information. By the title you would think that it's a book to have; not so. If you can browse it, don't buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


76 of 83 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars hypnotically horrible, February 17, 2008
This review is from: Hypnotic Writing: How to Seduce and Persuade Customers with Only Your Words (Paperback)
The book should be entitled "All sales and no substance." This author keeps stringing the writer through a series of chapters, each saying that he is about to let you in on his secret, but instead he merely tells you more about his ebooks for sale online. His sales approach is not even very good. More like cheap and trashy. I've taken a few courses on hypnosis and can be hypnotized at the drop of a hat, but he couldn't hook me. I just found myself getting more and more annoyed. There are much better books out there. Don't waste your time or money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 51 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Does he think customers are stupid?, April 17, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hypnotic Writing: How to Seduce and Persuade Customers with Only Your Words (Paperback)
I bought "Hypnotic Writing" and "The Irresistable Offer" at the same time and read them both.

The "Irresistable Offer" is brief, to the point (but still very complete), and states very clearly that one selling point in your ad copy should be that the customer is not stupid, he will square you in 3 seconds or less, he will see if there is any REAL value in what you have to offer, and many more things, in the blink of an eye. (the book gives you REAL MEANS to overcome these stumbling blocks)

Mr. Vitale, on the contrary seems that he wants to entertain his potential customers, and bribe them into thinking that what he sells (and sells, and sells) is extraordinary. He does that with redundant prose, beautiful prose, aesthetically speaking, BUT he shows his true colors from the headers down. Are you really thinking that by using an opening like "amazing breakthrough", like "the truth about..." is going to grab your potential customers' attention, and ABOVE ALL, their trust?
I think that by using Mr. Vitale's wording you are IMMEDIATELY revealing who you are: "I am a seller, I am trying to hypnotize you into buying my product, I don't really care to give you value, what I care is to impress you and make a sale." This is what Mr. Vitale's prose says when you read it.

He gives examples of "normal ad copy" that he translates into "hypnotic ad copy" and he probably expects that the reader will rave about his writing. Well, to me they are both downright awful. They both reveal that the main aim of the copy is not to deliver and communicate REAL VALUE, to offer credibility, to overcome the potential customer's objections by opposing a REAL deal, no, in his writings you "fascinate" the customers, and, in so doing, you sabotage yourself by revealing your real end.

He even adds two paragraphs written in Italian. Now, I am a native Italian, and Italian is my FIRST language. Let me tell you upfront that what Mr. Vitale says it is Italian IS NOT ITALIAN AT ALL. It is a computerized, awful, and totally illogical and incorrect translation of a decent Italian paragraph. He didn't even take the time to ask a translator to translate into REAL ITALIAN those two paragraphs (that he was going to include in a book), so to not offend the linguistics of such a noble language.

I would suggest that you purchase "The Irresistable Offer" by Mark Joyner, THAT is REAL marketing communication, honest, powerful, poignant.
brief but to the point, that is "ad copy" that will win the trust of your prospects immediately and give you a REAL edge over the competition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A New Spin on Basic Copywriting, January 29, 2007
By 
Paul Gallagher (Fairview, NC United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hypnotic Writing: How to Seduce and Persuade Customers with Only Your Words (Paperback)
I was very psyched when Joe Vitale's new book came out, since I am a fan of his and think his books have brought lots of good information into the world.

Still, I was a quite disappointed in Hypnotic Marketing. Essentially, it is a compendium of good, time-tested copywriting principles, but hardly the "great secret" I had been led to expect. In fact, the author claims to reveal "secrets" on every second or third page, until in the end the whole idea that this is a book of copywriting "secrets" becomes rather silly.

And the cutsey little questions at the end of most chapters get very cloying after a while.

The bibliography is great, as are the references to copywriting greats (and I'll include Vitale in this category because he IS a very influential copywriter these days), such as David Ogilvy, John Caples, Robert Collier, Jay Abraham, and others. And some fascinating references to Milton Erickson, the great "hypnotic" psychotherapist, whose main therapeutic method was to by-pass client resistance by couching his advice in seemingly random stories he would recount during his sessions.

All in All??

A good, useful book on copywriting principles, especially valuable for copywriting newbies or those who don't have a clue on how to write copy.

The chapter headings are good examples of how to write compelling headlines.

A good, practical book overall, but all the hype (delivered in Vitale's e-mails) about something new and profoundly different about "hypnotic" writing left me wanting more.

Copywriting Lesson One: If you make a very bold promise, by all means DELIVER on that promise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 49 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hey Joe, October 28, 2007
This review is from: Hypnotic Writing: How to Seduce and Persuade Customers with Only Your Words (Paperback)
Well, Joe has managed to put together another compilation of info he's gathered together from other sources. That's right, folks, nothing new here. I do think, though, that I learned more about self-promotion than anything else in this book. Using Joe as my example in effective writing techniques, I will now always include information about myself, my web sites, my promotions, and my other books on every page I write.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars rehash, recycle and nothing new, July 7, 2007
This review is from: Hypnotic Writing: How to Seduce and Persuade Customers with Only Your Words (Paperback)
"Dr. Joe" has some good ideas in this book but he beats them to death by recycling his concepts - it's almost like reading a freshman's term paper where they read the Cliff Notes and really don't have anything significant to add to the discussion, so you get a big SNOW job. I've read other works by the author and this is a weaker effort. Save your $$$.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The irony of Chapter 8, January 11, 2009
By 
Mike (San Jose, CA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Hypnotic Writing: How to Seduce and Persuade Customers with Only Your Words (Paperback)
First, like every other Joe Vitale product, this 261 page book includes many, many pitches for additional Joe Vitale products...not a surprise to anyone familiar with his previous works. He dedicates the book to Robert Collier, author of the 1926 classic The Secret of the Ages, which was one of the books "assimilated" into Rhonda Byrne's The Secret. You're probably aware of the fact that Vitale is a member of the extended cast of characters who made The Secret (Original Edition), and the whole "secret" concept...the dangled carrot, the suggestion that something will be revealed to you that is far below the radar of the general public...is a favorite arrow in Joe Vitale's quiver.

The first product pitch shows up on page 10 (page 10!)..."If all you want to know is Hypnotic Writing, then by all means read this book, the books listed in the Bibliography, and invest in two other key resources..."

When you go to the URL for the first "key product," after scrolling down to the "How Much Does It Cost" section, you are told "After much debate, we felt the fairest price was $195..."

Then, after a little wheeling and dealing (and hypnotic writing), you're told that the product is actually $99 "if you download it right now."

The second "key product" is offered to you "for only $397 (plus s/h)."

So let's do the math. The actual "Hypnotic Writing" book costs $19.95, but in order to learn hypnotic writing, you really need the other two "key products," so the cost becomes $515.95, "(plus s/h)."

Moving past page 10 and the pitch for an additional $500 cash outlay, what do you actually get in this book?

It can best be described through the irony of Chapter 8, "You Can't Even Bribe Me To Read A Lousy Letter!" Vitale describes a letter sent to him via FedEx (thereby creating a sense of urgency) with a $20 bill enclosed (mouse, meet mouse trap).

The problem with the letter was that the author stopped talking about the "what's in it for me" of his audience, which captured the initial attention, and shifted to his own agenda (no customer on earth cares about "you")...

Vitale concludes the chapter with the single most ironic declaration of his entire career: "Hypnotic Writing occurs when you get out of your ego and into the reader's ego." Therein lies half the problem with the majority of Joe Vitale's work...he's never out of his own ego, not even for a single moment.

The chapter discusses the fact that a poorly-written pitch letter will not yield results. The balance of the book coaches you (in between Joe Vitale infomercials) on how to craft poorly-written pitch letters. Somehow, over the course of his career, Vitale has formed an image of himself as a man who doesn't telegraph his punches, who doesn't leave a visible trail of bread crumbs on his trek through the woods. Nothing could be further from the truth. He's done a wonderful job of making himself completely transparent, stripping away any possible sense of intrigue or mystery. Read one book by Joe Vitale and you're on to his game, and you can immediately spot it in every one of his books you read after that. I wouldn't call that "hypnotic."

I'd call it "predictable."

The foundation and frame of the house are here...there is actual wisdom on how people think, why they buy, how to press their hot buttons (that's the source of the two stars given in this review)...but when you look at the actual finished products or the external links to Vitale's own Web Site, you walk away thinking "Wait a minute...people actually respond to this stuff by pulling out their credit cards and buying from this man?"

The pitches all start to blend together into one seamless, seedy pitch after a while. There's a lengthy set-up that is apparently designed to "seduce" the buyer. There is always a value statement which tells you that you're looking at something that's worth thousands of dollars ("But Joe, I couldn't possibly afford that")...but wait! Don't give up hope, little one! For a limited time only, even though this product is actually worth thousands of dollars, we have found a way to offer it to you in this exclusive promotion for ONLY...

Give me a break. A sucker may be born every minute, but even a sucker has the ability to wake up and smell the coffee. If you're using direct mail or Web Site / email copy to generate and grow new business, you can't be a crass con artist or snake oil salesman. Well, you can actually, but only if you want to play the game of hit and run. If you're in it for the long haul, you need to mix the smooth talk with actual substance. You can't keep playing the same tired "The REAL secret behind THE SECRET" card forever. It's crying wolf. Sooner or later the real wolf will show up and no one will come to your rescue, just like the fable.

If you were drawn to this book...if you have a need to capture the attention and imagination (and cash) of potential clients, I recommend an alternative, Dan Kennedy's The Ultimate Sales Letter: Attract New Customers. Boost Your Sales. Yes, Dan Kennedy and Joe Vitale are basically two sides of the same coin. Both are shameless self-promoters. But the difference is that when you navigate through the "buy more of my stuff" waters of Dan's books, there is often a much higher degree of quality and usable information. You can look at a suggestion from Dan and think "You know what? If I dial back the aggression a notch, my customers might actually respond to this."

In the long run, it's all about finding an effective voice...YOUR effective voice. Not Joe's. Not Dan's. YOURS. In order to to that, you need to study what others have done and learn from their success. You can learn from Joe...you just might not enjoy everything you learn and you might not want to put it into practice in your own business. Don't let that stop you. Learn the lessons, but unless you have deep, deep pockets (and want to be "hypnotized"), this man should not become your Sensei.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Filter the Hype and you got a great book, April 30, 2007
This review is from: Hypnotic Writing: How to Seduce and Persuade Customers with Only Your Words (Paperback)
I like this book. I got a lot out of it. It's written in short chapters with tips you can deal with and the guy obviously can put it down on paper and make a difference. I learned a lot and will learn lots more I am sure as this book is a keeper for writers.

What I agree with the one reviewer on here that I read is that there is an ample amount of hype in here that you have to filter out. If you do you got something. I guess we all have a degee of hype so take it out and gather up the jewels he offers cause they are in here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I kept thinking this book could have been tighter and more structured..., February 13, 2007
This review is from: Hypnotic Writing: How to Seduce and Persuade Customers with Only Your Words (Paperback)
As someone who does a bit of writing on the side, I was excited by the title of this book... Hypnotic Writing: How to Seduce and Persuade Customers with Only Your Words by Joe Vitale. I mean, who *wouldn't* want to have that type of effect on people? While it's got some interesting tips, I didn't come away with the type of warm, fuzzy feeling that I expected, however...

Contents: It's Time to Awaken; Stop! Do This First; What Is Impossible?; A Disclaimer; A Beginning; Agatha Christie Proves Hypnotic Writing Exists; My Secret to Hypnotic Writing; You Can't Even Bribe Me to Read a Lousy Letter!; What Is Hypnotic Writing?; Hypnotic Writing: A Case Study; The Great Intimacy Secret; What's More Important Than Copy?; Hypnotic Writing Controlled Study; How I Learned the Secret of Hypnotic Writing; What Is Hypnosis?; Two Ways to Cause Action; What About Your Web Site?; How Long Is Too Long?; What Every Reader Wants to Know; The Hypnotic Power of Repetition; The Inner Game of Hypnotic Writing; Imitation Sugar Is Sweet, Too!; How to Jump-Start the Muse; How to Nail Your Reader's Attention; How to Make Your Writing Walk, Talk, and Breathe; Give Me Some Meat!; A Writing Lesson from the World's Greatest Hypnotist; Electrifying Tips for Creating Breakthrough Writing; A Case against Perfection; How to Persuade Readers to Your Side; Warp Speed Editing Secrets Worth Killing For; How to Make Your Writing Sexy; How People Think; How to Create Hypnotic Stories; How to Control the "Command Center" in Your Prospect's Mind; The One Hypnotic Command That Always Works; What I learned from The Sea Wolf; Your Turning Point Message; What Everyone Will Always Read; Your Connotation Is Showing; What Are My Secrets For Writing Hypnotic Selling Stories?; Hypnotic Blogging; Reminders as Triggers; How to Change Average Writing into Hypnotic Writing; 30 Ways to Write a Hypnotic Headline; Hypnotic Openings; Hypnotic Quiz; My Three Biggest Secrets; How Much Is That Doggie in the Window?; How to Change Perception; At Last! The Joe Vitale Hypnotic Writing Formula; A New Hypnotic Copy Checklist; The Five Secret Laws of Hypnotic Persuasion; The Seven Most Hypnotic Books of All Time; The Hypnotic Writing Formula; Your Challenge; Appendix - Hypnotic Emails; Bibliography; Index; About Dr. Joe Vitale; Bonus Offer

Now, for a 260 page book, that's a lot of chapters! Each one is just a few pages in length and tries to stay focused on the small snippet that's suggested by the title. There *is* a lot of good material in here on how to write compelling copy that catches and holds a reader's attention. But I couldn't seem to get past a few things that tended to lessen what I expected to get out of the book. For one, the whole "hypnotic" theme seems to get old after awhile. I understand that's the hook, but after awhile it's a bit of a stretch to think of everything he does as hypnotic. The other issue, and probably the bigger of the two, was that there was too much hype about what was to be revealed "in a few chapters" as well as the focus on his personal copy examples (which felt like thinly-veiled self-promotion pieces). The chapters seemed to be random thoughts about the subject, but there was no apparent structure or direction that let me know where I was in the process. It was as if the secret was to be revealed in the next few pages, only to find another promise of the secrets in a couple more chapters... Once I finally got to the At Last! chapter, I had lost the cohesive thread to how this style of writing all fit together...

Overall, this is a tough book for me to review and rate. I think it's a great idea with a lot of merit. I think it could have been done in fewer pages with a better structure, however. But perhaps then it wouldn't have been as hypnotic... :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Hypnotic Writing: How to Seduce and Persuade Customers with Only Your Words
$19.95 $15.04
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.