Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strangely Entertaining and Funny
"I Am a Sex Addict" is a semi-documentary written and directed by a little bug-eyed dude named Caveh Zahedi. I'd never heard of the guy and only stumbled upon this film because I saw it on the Joblo Release Dates. When I read that Roger Ebert had called the film "Perversely Interesting" I was even more intrigued. The reason I said it's a semi-documentary is because Zahedi...
Published on September 21, 2006 by Joshua Miller

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Interesting movie for those who find it that unusual
I really tried to be impressed by this movie after reading some of the stellar reviews, but I found the dialogue almost juvenile with a lot of amateur acting.

Director Caveh Zahedi who plays himself, a sex addict in this semi-documentary, is interesting for a little while, but begins to just ramble on and makes many of the characters in his film almost...
Published on June 2, 2012 by Voight Kampff


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strangely Entertaining and Funny, September 21, 2006
This review is from: I Am A Sex Addict (DVD)
"I Am a Sex Addict" is a semi-documentary written and directed by a little bug-eyed dude named Caveh Zahedi. I'd never heard of the guy and only stumbled upon this film because I saw it on the Joblo Release Dates. When I read that Roger Ebert had called the film "Perversely Interesting" I was even more intrigued. The reason I said it's a semi-documentary is because Zahedi is narrating past events that apparently happened in real life, while recreating them onscreen using actors. It's almost like a movie-within-a-movie, except for the whole annoying part of movies like that. In the film, Zahedi plays himself...We're introduced as he's about to get married, it's his third trip down the aisle. He takes us back in time and explains that he was always looking for his soulmate, even as a young kid. He then meets the love of his life, Anna...Problem is, he also meets a french woman named Caroline (Rebecca Lord) that strikes his fancy. He then explains that the actress he cast as Caroline is a pornstar, something he didn't find out until later. He ends up parting ways with Anna and marrying Caroline, all the while becoming increasingly addicted to sex...Especially sex with prostitutes. The film deals with him going through several girlfriends, all the while trying not to give into his addiction completely. The movie is funny, but it's in a deadpan and subtle way. One scene in particular, when Caveh explains that there's a scene where a female character is supposed to give him a b**wjob, but the actress refuses to do it. Instead, he supplies us with a voice-over and asks us to pretend that it's happening. Zahedi also gets some laughs from his facial expressions. I'm not sure just how much of this stuff is true (first the actress being a porn star thing, then he later reveals that one actress who's playing a character with a drinking problem actually has a drinking problem.), but it's still pretty damn entertaining. This movie is very funny and very interesting, no matter how perversely. It's one of the best films of it's kind to come out in 2006.

GRADE: A
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Funny... Hapless idiot led by the dumbstick... Fine DVD from IFC, October 24, 2006
This review is from: I Am A Sex Addict (DVD)
I enjoyed this quirky little film. It's a low budget dramatized biopic about the sad love-life of Iranian-American director Caveh Zahedi. He is plagued by what he terms "sex addiction" (He has a prostitute and bl__job fetish). It begins and ends with what hopefully will be his last and finally-successful marriage. It blends original home movie footage with filmed recreations, with Zahedi appearing as subject, actor, director and narrator.

I loved his hapless, self-deprecating, dead-pan nature. As must many women, because he is quite possibly the least physically impressive man I've ever seen; scrawny, puny, close to being a wimp and yet he obviously has something that draws so many beautiful women to him. His ex-wives and girlfriends (they appear on the home movies) are very lovely. I don't know if I'd label him a narcissist but he is certainly obsessed with sex, especially with prostitutes and bl__jobs. The first thing he learns in a foreign country is how to say, "Will you suck my c__k?" in the local language. I love the way he repeatedly delivers the line with that timid, hopeful, earnest look. Luckily he goes to very accomdating places like France, Holland and Germany. And when he visits a European brothel, he's like a kid in a candy store. Although his wives eventually divorce him, they are remarkably tolerant and accomodating - in the film he recounts how his second wife gave him five bj's in succession after he confessed his addiction; although it's true, he doesn't last very long each time - about 15 seconds is all it takes for him to be squealing like a rabbit. His orgasms are hilarious to behold.

To his credit he puts all blame on the broken relationships solely on himself; he doesn't blame his wives or girlfriends at all; in fact he paints them as long-suffering martyrs. Still, laughs and moral issues aside, it is very sad for someone to be so consumed by an obsession that he cannot form a lasting relationship with anyone. Hopefully this final marriage will indeed be his last and he gets to find some peace and satisfaction in life.

Zahedi has an official website and he also writes a blog. If you go there you can read his bio. He actually studied Philosophy at Yale and tried to get apprenticed to Godard (rebuffed). There is a picture of him as a young boy with Woody Allen whom he obviously admires.

IFC presents the film in its original 1.33:1 full screen. Colours are strong and natural. It's generally pleasing on the eye. Only the home movie segments have a large amount of grain. Although the women are shown full-frontal, Zahedi never shows his dumbstick - a black rectangle always blocks it from view. I wonder if that was due to shyness, vanity or an MPAA requirement. The DVD comes with a half-hour long documentary "Shooting I am a Sex Addict" in which Zahedi dissects 3 scenes in the film.

PS: Speaking of blogs and sex, I do hope some studio picks up blogger Zoe Margolis' "Girl With A One Track Mind," and turns that into a film. That would be hilarious. One of the rare women who confesses to being addicted to sex and one of the few blogs that I look forward to reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Sexual Narcissist Tells All, September 15, 2006
By 
B. Merritt "filmreviewstew.com" (WWW.FILMREVIEWSTEW.COM, Pacific Grove, California United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: I Am A Sex Addict (DVD)
Although a dark comedy with a serious lean toward sexual narcissism, this film's quirks will appeal to those who don't mind exploring those dark corners of one's desires and laughing at their own inadequacies.

Caveh Zahedi is the screenwriter, director, star, and historian regarding his personal battles with sex addiction.

The most entertaining aspects of the film are that it is shot rather unconventionally. Although the film starts with Zahedi talking to the camera, waiting to be married for the third time, the scenes zip back and forth between Zahedi the narrator, Zahedi the actor, and Zahedi the narrator during acting (he'll occasionally stare at the camera and make a rather pithy comment while acting within the framework of the film). Part documentary, part fictional take on his experiences, the film delves deep into sexual promiscuity. Bit by bit we get to watch Zahedi fall into a pit of self-gratification with little or no concern for his girlfriends or wives. That he tries to be "honest" and "open" only shows his continued deep slide into the addictive process. When the women in his life fight with him, he's at a loss to understand why ("But you said I could have sex with a prostitute!")

The comedy is all based around Zahedi's lack of self-control and his relationships based solely on sexual need. Watching him receive oral sex -- his facial expressions and loss of auditory control -- are absolutely hilarious; not to mention his fifteen second rise to orgasm.

The film is edited extremely well, mostly taking place in San Francisco, but also in Paris and a few other locations. The map animation sequences are very nicely done as are a few other animations related to travel and Zahedi's history.

The fact that I AM A SEX ADDICT won the Gotham Award in 2005 for Best Film Not Playing at a Theater Near You should be a useful gauge for those considering this movie as a rental or purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Interesting movie for those who find it that unusual, June 2, 2012
This review is from: I Am A Sex Addict (DVD)
I really tried to be impressed by this movie after reading some of the stellar reviews, but I found the dialogue almost juvenile with a lot of amateur acting.

Director Caveh Zahedi who plays himself, a sex addict in this semi-documentary, is interesting for a little while, but begins to just ramble on and makes many of the characters in his film almost cardboard like. While he does put real faces to some of the women in his film and what apparently are real sex addicts in a group that he attended, there was no real amazing revelation to his problem/solution to his sex addiction. It did not help that Caveh Zahedi talks with a monotone lisp and looks a bit like a troll doll yet all the women he has sex with are fairly beautiful, but I have met worse off directors who have done well too, so it is not implausible.

Granted it is not easy to develop an interest in a girlfriend character that then changes to another one every 5-10 minutes or so. Also the director's personality and film approach is compared to Woody Allen, but it lacks the humor on human behavior that Woody Allen's films often portrays.

The film is not bad and I can understand how some people are enthralled by it as the content is a bit taboo in the United States and the director is a unique character. As films go, however, it is not something I would pay to see in the theater (unlike My dinner with Andre, The brothers McMullen, She's gotta have it, Grizzly Man, Brothers at War...etc).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good film if you're interested in addictions and flawed people, February 28, 2010
By 
This review is from: I Am A Sex Addict (DVD)
This is one of the best films I've watched in the past year. It's definitely not for everyone, but if you're interested in flawed characters dealing with addictions, this may be for you. I would lump this film into a category most people wouldn't fit films into: therapy. Some films are great at helping people move past internal struggles. Chasing Amy helped me deal with a girlfriend that turned out to be pretty "liberal". Swingers helped me to cope with a hard breakup. I believe this film could help people dealing with sex and relationship problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking and funny, November 27, 2006
This review is from: I Am A Sex Addict (DVD)
I've got to tell you about a hilarious, quirky little independent autobiographical film by filmmaker Caveh Zahidi that I and my friends saw last night called "I Am A Sex Addict". We weren't sure what to think with a title like that but Zahidi is brilliant. He has a unique way of seeing himself and his actions and the humor and irony in all of it all as he weaves an incredible story of his addiction to prostitutes and the effect on the relationship he has with the serious women of his life. He makes us laugh at him in plight as he tries different "strategies" to break his habit. The film was funny, brilliant, thoughtful, poignant, surprisingly philosophical, full of irony and just totally entertaining on many different levels. Every scene was meticulously set up. It was by far one of the more entertaining movies any of us had seen in a long time. And all that without an extravagant hollywood budget! There were parts where I laughed till I cried. Go see it, or buy it...it's that good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars really funny, February 10, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: I Am A Sex Addict (DVD)
wow. never seen any thing like this. the tipe of movie that gets better the more you watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Iranian - American Woody Allen, October 8, 2006
By 
James J. Varela (Sarasota, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: I Am A Sex Addict (DVD)
Which is ironic as Caveh appeared in one of Allen's films as a child. What is shocking about this film is it was made with such a low budget. Hollywood studios pump out garbage that cost millions to produce which goes to show big budgets do not always equal good productions. I am a Sex Addict is another hit for Caveh. What makes this film interesting to watch it is a first person (Caveh) biographical look back at his past struggles with Sex addiction with prostitues and the toll it took on his personal relationships, but told in a a way that keeps the audience wondering whether what Caveh is telling is truth or fiction, then he reveals that.................I won't spoil it. BUY THIS MOVIE !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Zero Artistic Merit, January 10, 2010
This review is from: I Am A Sex Addict (DVD)
Seems to be about this skinny idiotic turd glorifying himself and exagerrating his endeavors. I mean really, this man is so full of crapola it's amazing. First off he's so unattractive physically and emotionally he could barely get the most old and washed up whore. But in this movie he's in relationships with gorgeous ladies who he treats like dirt and they don't mind and come back for more abuse. He's stupid and shallow and as far as the movie, it's awful and dull and thoroughly unenjoyable. He takes a topic that could and should be fascinating and just turns out a horrible thing that's really quite remarkable in it's inane inability to stir up the faintest interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Moving, real, honest and awkward---just like life., June 14, 2011
This review is from: I Am A Sex Addict (DVD)
I respect this film maker for showing himself with all his faults. I laughed and at the end I was honestly moved by his reformation. Not for watching with grandma and the kiddies, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

I Am A Sex Addict
I Am A Sex Addict by Caveh Zahedi
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.