I Am Ozzy and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Buy Used
$3.99
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Used: Acceptable | Details
Sold by ToyBurg
Condition: Used: Acceptable
Comment: Eligible for FREE Super Saving Shipping! Fast Amazon shipping plus a hassle free return policy mean your satisfaction is guaranteed. Readable copy. All pages complete and readable but expect worn edges, covers, and creases. There is no Amazon condition below acceptable. Ex-library book. May have typical labels and markings.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

I Am Ozzy Hardcover – January 25, 2010


See all 18 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Hardcover, January 25, 2010
$10.00 $0.01

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 416 pages
  • Publisher: Grand Central Publishing (January 25, 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0446569895
  • ISBN-13: 978-0446569897
  • Product Dimensions: 9.2 x 6.2 x 1.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.5 pounds
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (384 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #115,333 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

From Publishers Weekly

Starred Review. Frank Skinner delivers a perfect performance of Osbourne's memoir of his long and colorful career—from his humble beginnings to his days fronting Black Sabbath and rise as a successful solo artist. Skinner captures Osbourne's slurry drawl in an intimate performance that transports the listener to a quiet pub where Ozzy is holding court and swapping stories about family, factory jobs, stints in prison, drugs, sex, alcohol, guns, chickens, more drugs, band breakups. Equally compelling are Skinner's renditions of Osbourne's friends and bandmates—his Geezer Butler is a knockout. A must for fans of Black Sabbath, Ozzy Osbourne, and the rock 'n' roll memoir; highly memorable and recommended. A Grand Central hardcover. (Jan.)
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Review

Packed with outrageous, hilarious, disgusting and wholly improbable incedents Guardian A must-read for fans of vicarious rock'n'roll insanity Scotland on Sunday Every page of this hugely entertaining, sometimes painfully frank autobiography seems to have at least one punch-line to a good joke Uncut Mightily entertaining Heat A frank and honest account that will make you laugh out loud ... A brilliant read Sun Gripping, funny and sad Q --This text refers to the Paperback edition.

More About the Authors

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

Whether you are an Ozzie fan or not, I definitely recommend reading this book.
Dodger
Now after reading his book i find out just how funny he really is and not stupid like people think.
beach go-er
The story of Ozzy is just hilarious, it is very addicting to read the book again and again.
Jitsun

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

72 of 79 people found the following review helpful By Sharon Anne on January 14, 2010
Format: Hardcover
Seriously - if I could count the number of times I woke up the family laughing out loud in the middle of the night... I TRULY LOVED this book, but then again - I adore Ozzy and it's PURE OZZY at his most bare and truthful (and witty)! What a rare treat inside his sweet and crazy mind! I only wish this book could have gone on forever!
6 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
62 of 72 people found the following review helpful By William Irwin on January 23, 2010
Format: Hardcover
How could Ozzy write a book? He's dyslexic and doesn't read. Well, how can he write songs if he's musically illiterate and doesn't play an instrument? The answer in both cases is that he gets help and he succeeds brilliantly. What's most surprising about this book is how much it sounds like Ozzy. I didn't think Ozzy's voice and sense of humor would come through in print, but they definitely do. Clearly, he dictated lots of material into a tape recorder, and his co-author did a great job of preserving and bringing out Ozzy's unique persona.

This book further confirms for me what I've always said: that Ozzy is a songwriting genius. Lots of people assume that he has just sponged off the talents around him from Iommi/Ward to Rhoads/Daisley to Lee to Wylde. But I've always said, look at what all those people have done before/and/or/after their time with Ozzy. Not much worthwhile in all cases. Meanwhile Ozzy continues to flourish with each new creative partnership.

The book is thin in lots of places where you'd like to hear more, and it runs a little long in other places where you've heard the stories before. The Jake E. Lee era is omitted completely. That's a shame. Ozzy should get over that resentment. He's won. Jake has done nothing worth speaking about without Ozzy, and meanwhile Ozzy has continued to receive acclaim for the past twenty plus years since Jake.

Any true Ozzy fan will love this book.
6 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful By E. A Solinas HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on December 9, 2010
Format: Paperback
Everybody knows Ozzy Osbourne in one way or another -- classic satanic rocker, burned-out family man, or whatever.

So he tries to incorporate a little of everything in "I Am Ozzy," a rough'n'tumble autobiography full of all the embarrassing, unflattering, sometimes bizarre details of his life. It takes awhile to get used to his rambling style, but these stories have an unpolished brand of charm... and he's undoubtedly had an interesting life.

John "Ozzy" Osbourne was born into a working-class, impoverished British family, had a miserable stint at school, and seemed destined for "manual labor or manual labor." Instead, he went to prison.

Fortunately for Black Sabbath fans, that isn't where the story ends. After hearing the Beatles and Fleetwood Mac, he became enamored of the rock'n'roll life... albeit a darker, weirder side than the hippie-dippie stuff that was popular at the time. And after a few failed bands, he got into a true, brilliant band that was later named Black Sabbath, hated by critics and much beloved by music fans.

He got married, had sex with groupies (in that order), went on Top of the Pops, encountered satanic freakfans, and produced a slew of albums with Black Sabbath. Lots of booze and drugs. As you'd expect, both he and the band started spiralling out of control. But after quitting it, he got involved with his future second wife Sharon, and launched out on a new life of music, madness, sex, dove-biting, bat-biting and -- most horribly -- reality TV.

Honestly, I didn't much care for "I Am Ozzy" during the first few chapters. The combination of a misspent youth and Osbourne's rambling style gave me a bit of a headache.
Read more ›
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
23 of 26 people found the following review helpful By Mitchell J. Hall on December 2, 2009
Format: Hardcover
This book is so funny.
The stories are fantastic. I challenge anyone to read the vicar and the afghan hash cake story and not laugh!!
It's good that Ozzy gets out some of the classic stories in his head. Sure the book mentions drug use and alcohol abuse yet what i like about it is that the book doesn't get bogged down on that issue. Unlike the Eric Clapton book.

The book has great photos. Is well written and is very entertaining. Once you start is very hard to put down.
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful By Ladd Hebert on May 25, 2010
Format: Hardcover
This book was an easy and fun read, but I feel like Ozzy left out a lot of things that his fans would have appreciated. Perhaps that's for another book? The early Black Sabbath part of his life was well detailed and had he kept up that level of detail for the rest of the book then I would have given it 5 stars. He spent all of 2 sentences on Zakk Wylde, who was with him longer than any other guitarist during his solo career. The story of how they came to be is a really good one and I would have loved to hear Ozzy's take on it. There was no mention of Jake E Lee (that I remember), nor Joe Holmes. What about his singing roots? He just mentioned that his dad bought him a PA system and the family liked to get together and do sing-a-longs. It can't be that simple. I think the main problem with the book was that it was very cliche and vague, spending too much time detailing the unsavory and fantastically over the top antics of his life.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful By Ryjil on January 21, 2010
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
This book is one of the best i've read in a LONG time. Ozzy has such a great sense of humor. He tells it like it is, and never holds back. The book is very funny, yet touching as well. He covers it all; from his poor upbringing to his illustrious career, and his hard fall from the top. I highly recommend this book to anyone who likes ozzy just because he's a character himself, or for his work as a musician. You will be highly surprised by this book. It's not like any autobiography you've read before.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?