Prime Music

Buy Used
Used - Like New See details
$4.52 & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
Sold by jukeboxonline.

or
 
   
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
I Can't Stop
 
See larger image
 

I Can't Stop

Al GreenAudio CD
4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (46 customer reviews)


Available from these sellers.


Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, 2003 --  
Vinyl, 2003 --  
Audio Cassette, 2003 --  

Amazon's Al Green Store

Music

Image of album by Al Green

Photos

Image of Al Green

Biography

Born April 13, 1946 in Forest City, Arkansas, Al Green began singing in his family’s gospel group. His distinctive vocal talent and extraordinary ability to master pop, R&B, and gospel genres has enabled him to become an international superstar. Green is Hi Records’ most awarded singer and songwriter. In a phenomenal career spanning more than thirty years, Green has charted six ... Read more in Amazon's Al Green Store

Visit Amazon's Al Green Store
for 176 albums, 3 photos, discussions, and more.


Product Details

  • Audio CD (November 18, 2003)
  • Original Release Date: 2003
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Blue Note Records
  • ASIN: B0000DJZ9K
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (46 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #186,583 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. I Can't Stop
2. Play To Win
3. Rainin' In My Heart
4. I've Been Waitin' On You
5. You
6. Not Tonight
7. Million To One
8. My Problem Is You
9. I'd Still Choose You
10. I've Been Thinkin' Bout You
11. I'd Write A Letter
12. Too Many

Editorial Reviews

Product Description

(2003/BLUE NOTE) 12 tracksMedium 1
  1. I Can't Stop
  2. Play To Win
  3. Rainin' In My Heart
  4. I've Been Waitin' On You
  5. You
  6. Not Tonight
  7. Million To One
  8. My Problem Is You
  9. I'd Still Choose You
  10. I've Been Thinkin'bout You
  11. I'd Write A Letter
  12. Too Many

Amazon.com

The highlight of I Can’t Stop, Al Green’s reunion with producer-arranger Willie Mitchell, the architect of his deathless ’70s hits, is "My Problem is You." Over six and a half minutes, Green roars, wails, and rambles through a midtempo exploration of a seemingly unsolvable riddle--the love of a woman and its hold on him. In great voice, his high-end barely touched by time, he makes every moment count over these dozen originals; often lacking the layer of eccentricity that colored tracks as diverse as "I Can’t Get Next to You" and "Belle," the songs still ring with the Reverend’s authority. Mitchell’s grooves add to the ecstatic mood, especially when the thumping bottom-end syncopation of a track like "Million to One" suggests that of, oh, "Look What You Done for Me." The first time this pair has worked together since a 1985 gospel album, I Can’t Stop blows away the dust and finds more life and gutbucket flash in a seemingly inexhaustible vein. --Rickey Wright

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Return of a true legend December 1, 2003
Format:Audio CD
Al Green is my second all time favorite singer (behind only Merle Haggard). In the mid to late 70's, I wore out every one of his albums. Al has one of the greatest (and most unique) voices I've ever heard. Most of my original Al LP's are worn from constant use, and I replaced most of them on CD. I had heard nothing about this CD until the day it was released. I read a couple of reviews, and ran out and bought it. Al has done a lot of excellent music since he turned to recording gospel, and I own every album (except "Love is Reality", which I had but traded in. He got too far away from his sound on that one). Whereas a couple of other CD's flirted with a return to soul, this one goes all the way. The familiar sound is back, and Al's voice is (amazingly) almost completely intact. No one will be disappointed with the singing here. Furthermore, the musicianship is excellent, with many of the "Hi team" in place. The songs are uniformly good, and several tracks stand out ("Rainin' in my heart", "My problem is you", "Not tonight", "Too many"). There are no songs here in the class of Al's absolute best, but excellent Al Green is better than anyone else (certainly compared to todays excuse for R&B!). Even though there is a retro element to this CD, it does not sound dated to me. I can certainly distinguish the sound from the 70's Al. It is a little fuller in sound. I have been hoping (as, I'm sure, many of you have) to hear another Al Green soul album. I am grateful that Al and Willie (and the musicians) got back together to give us this wonderful disc. Please don't be foolish enough to listen and complain that there is no "take me to the river", or "love and happiness". Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An icon shows idol wannabees how it's done January 13, 2004
Format:Audio CD
This is one of those CD's that remind you what true musical talent really sounds like. From the opening track Al Green transports us all back to a time when singing about love and desire didn't involve crotch grabbing, scantilly clad woman or graphic language.
Al Green's smooth delivery combined with a serious bass track, makes you want to pull your car over to the side of the road and move your feet for just a moment. I found myself shaking my head at the wonderfulness of it all when Al hits his patented high note on some of the slower tempo tunes.
I have listened to Al Green for years and he is in constant rotation in my car. Nothing feels like a ride up to Napa on a warm summer day with Al Green playing in the background reminding you of other summer days gone by.
Anyone who has watched any of the American Idol type shows would do well to take a listen to this magnificent CD before the new batch of shows start to get a clear understanding of musical genius. A truely outstanding piece of work.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
Format:Audio CD
An absolute classic. I am in my 30's so I didn't exactly grow up with Al Green but I have to say that I am sorry I didn't. I have Al Greens Greatest Hits CD and after listening to I Cant Stop, I feel you can take 4-5 songs out of that album and start another greatest hits cd. Thank you Al for saving us from the music that is out there today. The singing is pure soul without any kind of computers or studio assistance to make Al sound one way or another. He doesn't need that kind of help like some of today's singers. The title track is just a classic get together with your loved one, dancing close, kind of track. A Million To One is a song that I constantly put on for my wife in our car. Willie Mitchell is brilliant and I cant wait for these two legends to come out with another album. Every Britney/Justin/Christina/ kind of singer out there should listen to this CD so that they can hear what it really means to sing a song and what real music is. Give us more, Al. Give us more....
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
Format:Audio CD
This is not only a reunion of Green and his arranger--quite a few of the original session players and singers are on hand, too. And let's face it--30 years have had an effect on Al Green's voice. It doesn't have quite the same velvet quality as before, but it's astonishing how much range and dexterity Green's voice has retained, particularly in the upper register. Similarly, his background singers sound a little grittier, not as silky smooth as before. What's a little disappointing to me are the songwriting and arrangements. Gone are the subtlety and gently insinuating quality of hits like "Let's Stay Together." The new songs and arrangements have a more aggressive, in-your-face quality, much more in sync with the new millenium's R&B. Sigh. On the other hand, there is more variety to the songs and arrangements than on Al Green's old albums. Actually, maybe it was wise to avoid slavish adherence to the old style. Why mess with perfection? Green's voice, as it stands, is better suited to the new material. Besides, why shouldn't musicians try new things? I guess it's too much to expect the pure magic of the synchronicity between Green, the arranger, background singers, material, and session musicians 30 years later. But hey, it beats the hell out of most R&B these days and it's pretty decent by any standard. Listen to the samples. If you like what you hear, go ahead and buy. Chances are won't be disappointed. Update 3/24/2005: After listening to I Can't Stop a few times, I feel a bit churlish giving it only three stars. On reflection, I'd give it four stars. Really, this cd is better than it has any right to be. Excellent work by all concerned, it's a pleasure in every way and only suffers in comparison to Green's immortal 70s work, which isn't a fair comparison at all.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
True Al Grren.
Published 1 month ago by Adrienne D Black
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing
its a great CD. If you're an Al Green Fan I encourage you to get it. in many ways his talent has grown more into his elder years.
Published 20 months ago by Brian W. Theisen
5.0 out of 5 stars Glad Green didn't stop making great music
Right before this release, I saw Al Green live in concert twice. Both times were very recently. Maybe 2001 and 2003. The first time was a smaller indoor arena. Read more
Published on May 29, 2008 by Vincent M. Mastronardi
4.0 out of 5 stars Okay to Listen To
I Can't Stop is okay to listen to. I wanted to give five stars just because it is Al Green, but I gave four. Read more
Published on October 8, 2005 by F. Wells
5.0 out of 5 stars Ugh....
"What a comeback".....come on. Maybe 1 or 2 decent songs off the whole cd. Sorry Al, you must to try again.
Published on June 7, 2005 by A. Gradney
5.0 out of 5 stars The Rev. has healed me!
The Rev. Al Green is back!! Whether you liked his tunes in the 70s or heard/saw him when Ally McBeal was on FOX, Al Green is back and doing what he does best. Great R&B... Read more
Published on April 26, 2005 by Dave the Minion
4.0 out of 5 stars Keepin' It Real
I almost fainted while reading one of the reviews and the reviewer (thank goodness only one) stated that this album could have used a little R. Kelly. OH H$%^ NO. Read more
Published on November 20, 2004 by Michael T.
4.0 out of 5 stars He's still got it
I came to Al Green in a roundabout way: I'm a big fan of Talking Heads' "Stop Making Sense" movie and CD. Read more
Published on July 5, 2004 by Big Tex
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent Album
Al Green proved by this album that his still has great vocal abilities. This album isn't great as his hits such as "Let's Stay Together" or "I Can't Get Next To... Read more
Published on June 1, 2004
5.0 out of 5 stars Sensuality...Sublety... Qualities long lost!
Al hints at the ecxtacy and moans at the pain which exponentially heightens the expression of the soul....a point todays R&B artists are sorely missing. Read more
Published on March 27, 2004 by tim morrison
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only

Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?



Look for Similar Items by Category