Robin non-member

Have one to sell? Sell yours here
I Can't Stop
 
See larger image
 

I Can't Stop

Al GreenAudio CD
4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (45 customer reviews)


Available from these sellers.


Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, 2003 --  
Vinyl, 2003 --  
Audio Cassette, 2003 --  

Amazon's Al Green Store

Visit Amazon's Al Green Store
for all the music, discussions, and more.

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Details

  • Audio CD (November 18, 2003)
  • Original Release Date: 2003
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Blue Note Records
  • ASIN: B0000DJZ9K
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (45 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #131,399 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. I Can't Stop
2. Play To Win
3. Rainin' In My Heart
4. I've Been Waitin' On You
5. You
6. Not Tonight
7. Million To One
8. My Problem Is You
9. I'd Still Choose You
10. I've Been Thinkin' Bout You
11. I'd Write A Letter
12. Too Many

Editorial Reviews

Amazon.com

The highlight of I Can’t Stop, Al Green’s reunion with producer-arranger Willie Mitchell, the architect of his deathless ’70s hits, is "My Problem is You." Over six and a half minutes, Green roars, wails, and rambles through a midtempo exploration of a seemingly unsolvable riddle--the love of a woman and its hold on him. In great voice, his high-end barely touched by time, he makes every moment count over these dozen originals; often lacking the layer of eccentricity that colored tracks as diverse as "I Can’t Get Next to You" and "Belle," the songs still ring with the Reverend’s authority. Mitchell’s grooves add to the ecstatic mood, especially when the thumping bottom-end syncopation of a track like "Million to One" suggests that of, oh, "Look What You Done for Me." The first time this pair has worked together since a 1985 gospel album, I Can’t Stop blows away the dust and finds more life and gutbucket flash in a seemingly inexhaustible vein. --Rickey Wright

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Return of a true legend December 1, 2003
Format:Audio CD
Al Green is my second all time favorite singer (behind only Merle Haggard). In the mid to late 70's, I wore out every one of his albums. Al has one of the greatest (and most unique) voices I've ever heard. Most of my original Al LP's are worn from constant use, and I replaced most of them on CD. I had heard nothing about this CD until the day it was released. I read a couple of reviews, and ran out and bought it. Al has done a lot of excellent music since he turned to recording gospel, and I own every album (except "Love is Reality", which I had but traded in. He got too far away from his sound on that one). Whereas a couple of other CD's flirted with a return to soul, this one goes all the way. The familiar sound is back, and Al's voice is (amazingly) almost completely intact. No one will be disappointed with the singing here. Furthermore, the musicianship is excellent, with many of the "Hi team" in place. The songs are uniformly good, and several tracks stand out ("Rainin' in my heart", "My problem is you", "Not tonight", "Too many"). There are no songs here in the class of Al's absolute best, but excellent Al Green is better than anyone else (certainly compared to todays excuse for R&B!). Even though there is a retro element to this CD, it does not sound dated to me. I can certainly distinguish the sound from the 70's Al. It is a little fuller in sound. I have been hoping (as, I'm sure, many of you have) to hear another Al Green soul album. I am grateful that Al and Willie (and the musicians) got back together to give us this wonderful disc. Please don't be foolish enough to listen and complain that there is no "take me to the river", or "love and happiness". Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An icon shows idol wannabees how it's done January 13, 2004
Format:Audio CD
This is one of those CD's that remind you what true musical talent really sounds like. From the opening track Al Green transports us all back to a time when singing about love and desire didn't involve crotch grabbing, scantilly clad woman or graphic language.
Al Green's smooth delivery combined with a serious bass track, makes you want to pull your car over to the side of the road and move your feet for just a moment. I found myself shaking my head at the wonderfulness of it all when Al hits his patented high note on some of the slower tempo tunes.
I have listened to Al Green for years and he is in constant rotation in my car. Nothing feels like a ride up to Napa on a warm summer day with Al Green playing in the background reminding you of other summer days gone by.
Anyone who has watched any of the American Idol type shows would do well to take a listen to this magnificent CD before the new batch of shows start to get a clear understanding of musical genius. A truely outstanding piece of work.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
Format:Audio CD
An absolute classic. I am in my 30's so I didn't exactly grow up with Al Green but I have to say that I am sorry I didn't. I have Al Greens Greatest Hits CD and after listening to I Cant Stop, I feel you can take 4-5 songs out of that album and start another greatest hits cd. Thank you Al for saving us from the music that is out there today. The singing is pure soul without any kind of computers or studio assistance to make Al sound one way or another. He doesn't need that kind of help like some of today's singers. The title track is just a classic get together with your loved one, dancing close, kind of track. A Million To One is a song that I constantly put on for my wife in our car. Willie Mitchell is brilliant and I cant wait for these two legends to come out with another album. Every Britney/Justin/Christina/ kind of singer out there should listen to this CD so that they can hear what it really means to sing a song and what real music is. Give us more, Al. Give us more....
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Can't Stop...Playing this cd January 2, 2004
Format:Audio CD
I was really an infrequent AL Green listener through the years. The most Al Green I have listened to was when I borrowed my boss' Best Of cd while I was working in the office. While out shopping, I picked this up,curious that Al Green had signed with Blue Note's jazz label. This cd is smoking from the first song. It's almost like Al had never left the music scene. Hopefully, he will reteam with his producer again for a couple of more albums because this is the real deal. It's like, jazz, R&B, and blues all rolled into one. If you can't get down to this, you should check yourself for a pulse.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OH MY....Al Green is BACK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! November 30, 2003
By A Customer
Format:Audio CD
OK...first let me say that when I bought this CD, I listened to the first song, "I Can't Stop", and just couldn't wait to get the CD home to my daddy to listen to. I played the CD for my daddy and he sat there and listened to the whole entire CD without getting up. He has never done that!!! My daddy asked my momma to marry him with the song "Let's Get Married" in the '70's. This CD takes you back but also lets you know you're in the present.
The horns, the strings, the background vocals, the groove, the funky rhythm, that BASS and Al's expressive and creative VOCAL PROWESS just takes you on a journey. Willie Mitchell, the producer, is showing his genius once again. Their reunion, Al & Willie, couldn't have come at a better time. THEY BETTER GET A GRAMMY FOR THIS ONE!
I have no favorites on here. They all are worthy...AMEN!!!!! Sing Rev. Al Green...you are and have always been my hero...even though in the past you've done songs by AL B. SURE, Jodeci, and Narada Michael Walden...You and Willie should stick together forever....GOD BLESS....and BUY THIS CD...NOWWWWWWWW!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing
its a great CD. If you're an Al Green Fan I encourage you to get it. in many ways his talent has grown more into his elder years.
Published 16 months ago by Brian W. Theisen
5.0 out of 5 stars Glad Green didn't stop making great music
Right before this release, I saw Al Green live in concert twice. Both times were very recently. Maybe 2001 and 2003. The first time was a smaller indoor arena. Read more
Published on May 29, 2008 by Vincent M. Mastronardi
4.0 out of 5 stars Okay to Listen To
I Can't Stop is okay to listen to. I wanted to give five stars just because it is Al Green, but I gave four. Read more
Published on October 8, 2005 by F. Wells
5.0 out of 5 stars Ugh....
"What a comeback".....come on. Maybe 1 or 2 decent songs off the whole cd. Sorry Al, you must to try again.
Published on June 7, 2005 by A. Gradney
5.0 out of 5 stars The Rev. has healed me!
The Rev. Al Green is back!! Whether you liked his tunes in the 70s or heard/saw him when Ally McBeal was on FOX, Al Green is back and doing what he does best. Great R&B... Read more
Published on April 26, 2005 by M. D. Waters
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, but don't expect the magic of the 70s stuff
This is not only a reunion of Green and his arranger--quite a few of the original session players and singers are on hand, too. Read more
Published on March 15, 2005 by Michael Kydonieus
4.0 out of 5 stars Keepin' It Real
I almost fainted while reading one of the reviews and the reviewer (thank goodness only one) stated that this album could have used a little R. Kelly. OH H$%^ NO. Read more
Published on November 20, 2004 by mjaytee
4.0 out of 5 stars He's still got it
I came to Al Green in a roundabout way: I'm a big fan of Talking Heads' "Stop Making Sense" movie and CD. Read more
Published on July 5, 2004 by Big Tex
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent Album
Al Green proved by this album that his still has great vocal abilities. This album isn't great as his hits such as "Let's Stay Together" or "I Can't Get Next To... Read more
Published on June 1, 2004
5.0 out of 5 stars Sensuality...Sublety... Qualities long lost!
Al hints at the ecxtacy and moans at the pain which exponentially heightens the expression of the soul....a point todays R&B artists are sorely missing. Read more
Published on March 27, 2004 by tim morrison
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only

Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?



Look for Similar Items by Category