Customer Reviews


109 Reviews
5 star:
 (86)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


122 of 124 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highland Fling !
What are the truly great, classic romances on film ? Many would think of "Casablanca", and justifiably so. However, in its own charming, subtle way, "I Know Where I'm Going" deserves a high place on any such list. My wife and I decided to watch this as our "Valentine's Day" movie--a perfect choice.
I suppose the big question is--why is a movie that is so predictable,...
Published on February 16, 2004 by peterfromkanata

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Korean version!
Awesome movie, didn't realize it was the Korean version. I ended up returning it.
Published 1 month ago by F. M. Witt


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

122 of 124 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highland Fling !, February 16, 2004
By 
peterfromkanata (Kanata, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
What are the truly great, classic romances on film ? Many would think of "Casablanca", and justifiably so. However, in its own charming, subtle way, "I Know Where I'm Going" deserves a high place on any such list. My wife and I decided to watch this as our "Valentine's Day" movie--a perfect choice.
I suppose the big question is--why is a movie that is so predictable, so great ? As usual, the answer is a combination of fine ingredients--script, direction, setting and performances, both lead and support.
Dame Wendy Hiller stars as a bright, independent and arrogant young woman who "knows where she is going". Actually, she is "going" to a remote island off the west coast of Scotland to marry a much older, but incredibly wealthy man. There is never any suggestion of a relationship between these two people or that they love one another. It is presented to us as an "arranged" marriage, just as this fellow ( we never actually see him on screen ) would set up one of his business deals. Of course, fate intervenes.
Several days of bad weather prevent our heroine from leaving the coastal village to meet her intended on the island. During this time, she meets a naval officer who also happens to be the local laird, played by Roger Livesey. Even though he is attracted to Ms. Hiller, the Livesey character does not try to "sweep her off her feet"--he simply opens her eyes to the charms and rewards of a simple life where "people are not poor--they just don't have any money". Before long, she develops feelings for this man, which makes her even more anxious to reach the island and her husband-to-be, so that she can keep her word and "do the right thing". Of course, you can't fight fate--can you ?
There are various subplots involving an ancient Scottish curse, a terrifying encounter with a whirlpool, and relationships involving some of the local people. Although shot in black and white, the beauty of Scotland is definitely one of the "stars" of this film. While Hiller and Livesey are superb in the leading roles, they receive fine support from Pamela Brown and a group of Scottish actors, including Finlay Currie. Actually, were there any films involving Scotland from the 30s to 60s which did not have Finlay Currie in the cast ? He is like the patron saint of Scottish movie actors !
Criterion, as usual, gives us a beautiful image, and some nice extras to go with this Powell/Pressburger classic. When Martin Scorcese is asked if he would "remake" the film, he basically says no--why mess around with perfection ? Thank you, Mr. Scorcese--a man of taste, as well as talent !
This is a movie where you can just curl up with your partner, relax ( except for that whirlpool ! )and enjoy some unforgettable characters who learn what is really important in life. A wonderful DVD to own. Now--when is the next flight to Scotland ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


75 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the World's Great Films. Really., September 25, 2004
By 
C. O. DeRiemer (San Antonio, Texas, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This is one of the great romantic movies, and like all of the Michael Powell and Emeric Pressburger films, it's quirky and original. Joan Webster (Wendy Hiller) has always known where she's going. She's headstrong and determined to marry a man who is wealthy and has position. Her fiance is an industrialist (this is at the tail end of WWII), older than she, who is living on a leased island off the coast of Scotland. They're to be married on the island, and Joan takes the train to a small village on the coast, where she'll go across on the ferry. Bad weather sets in and she has to wait at the home of another woman, a woman of common sense and little money, who also has staying with her an old friend and naval commander, Torquil MacNeil (Roger Livesey).

This is Joan Webster's story, her determination to get to the island, her growing unease with MacNeil because he doesn't fit into her plans, her putting at risk a young couple who are in love and, as she comes to realize, may have better values than she does. Of course, there's a legend about the lairds of Kiloran, with a curse carved into the walls of a crumbling castle. There are villagers who are unique but not condescended to. There is an atmosphere of fog and mist and sun which is beautifully photographed. There is a storm-swept boat journey into the teeth of a giant whirlpool, all the scarier because it was filmed in the days before CGO.

Roger Livesey is terrific as MacNeil, the last of the lairds of Kiloran. He made this movie only a couple of years after he did The Life and Death of Colonel Blimp for the Archers. Here he finds himself attracted to this headstrong young woman, then falling in love with her.

Pamela Brown plays his friend. She was a first-rate actress plagued with bad health. Here she's all common sense but with also a great deal of understanding. She's a wonderful looking creature.

And there's Wendy Hiller. In my view this is the best movie role she ever had. She nails the part with her certitude, her unease knowing that despite her intentions her plans may be changing, her final recognition that she has been wrong about a lot of things.

At the end, MacNeil enters the ruins and breaks the curse...and we realise what the curse was really all about...then hears in the distance the pipers playing, slowly growing louder. These were the pipers hired to play at Joan's wedding and he last saw them and Joan as they prepared to sail across to the island. He looks out and sees the pipers, led by Joan, marching along the road toward him. And then, without strings or lush orchestrations, the old Scottish folk song kicks in sung simply...

I know where I'm going,
I know who's going with me,
The Lord knows who I love,
But the de'il knows who I'll marry.

I'll have stockings of silk,
Shoes of fine green leather,
Combs to buckle my hair
And a ring for every finger.

Feather beds are soft,
Painted rooms are bonny;
But I'd leave them all
To go with my love Johnny.

Some say he's dark,
I say he's bonny,
He's the flower of them all
My handsome, coaxing Johnny.

Well, if you don't get choked up, all you have beating in your chest is a hunk of muscle.

This is one of the great Powell and Pressburger movies. It's not just romantic, but it's romantic without being sentimental. It's a great story and a great film.

The Criteron DVD transfer is excellent and the extra features are extremely good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A haunting and treasureable film., March 14, 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
IKWIG (as its creative team of Powell and Pressburger dubbed it) was made on a black-and-white stock right after WWII, when technicolor film and equipment were temporarily unavailable. It was the tale of a London-based woman who has always known what she's wanted all her life, and has decided to marry a wealthy, nice, but elderly business tycoon. ("You can't marry Consolidated Chemical Industries!" sputters her father. "Can't I?" is her reply.) He has rented a sprawling castle on a distant isle of the remote, nature-claimed Hebrides Islands, off the coast of Scotland, and she's traveling to meet him for the wedding, there. Unfortunately, the weather doesn't cooperate, and she's stuck for days one island short of her goal, where she encounters endless local traditions, people, and scenery, along with the young Laird of Killoran. Her desperation to achieve her goal nearly causes the death of several people, and has a profound effect on her understanding of the culture she's dropped into from London.
I would venture to call IKWIG the uber-chick film. It has several of the qualities that succeed so well in romance novels/film making: a self-reliant, intelligent heroine; a rugged hero who is at first perceived as the antagonist; a growth in understanding about the world around her, that allows ultimately for a complete change of POV in the heroine. It is that rare creature, a romance film that isn't a romantic comedy. It has some brilliantly inventive comic moments, especially (and significantly) before the film moves leaves England--like the heroine's dream sequence as she sleeps aboard a train, climaxing in a distant shot from above that has the hills covered in tartan as the train passes into Scotland--but that isn't the focus. (If anything, it is a bit of magical theater that represents a flight *away* from reality, showing us the early values of the heroine; just as the culture she finds in the Hebrides becomes a massive section of magical theater which, less brilliant, hammers away at her preconceptions both through its human and elemental aspects.)
However, there are many things about IKWIG that lift it above the chick film genre presented by such horrific stuff as Scriptless in Seattle. Powell was in love with the Hebrides, and, unusually for a fictional film of this period, IKWIG is filled with the culture of its surroundings. There's no sense of embarassing "types" as in so many Hollywood films-on-location, but rather more than a dozen subsidiary characters, none of them models, who fit naturally into their assigned roles, with or without dialog, and contribute to the film's sense of otherness. The writing is unsentimental and never cloys, but brings out many of the local traditions, superstitions, and myths surrounding the Hebrides in a natural and seemingly impromptu fashion; so that when we attend a party given in honor of the sixtieth wedding anniversary of the Laird of the Campbells, we actually see three bagpipers playing as the floor shakes under the heels of dancers; and we witness an extremely good amateur a capella group sing a glee. IGWIG takes its time to give us the full value of these things, and we're left grateful for the sense of connection. How different it feels than Pretty Lady, with a cliched plot hitched to endless shopping sprees and "let's do lunch" dates.
The extraordinary beauty of the environment was captured live without special effects--in fact, Powell said they never used a smoke machine; all their fog, brilliant sunshine, gales, and scenery were natural. Everything save the interiors (and shots with the Laird; Livesey had a commitment that kept him in London) were made on location, near a village of several hundred inhabitants which was largest settlement on the isle. Erwin Hillier, the editor on the film, was a student of Fritz Lang, and much preferred the heavily contrasted depth photography he'd been trained in to the soft-edged, romantic tone of Hollywood, or the stolidly outlined b&w of contemporary British films.
The script is subtle, rich, and impeccably characterized, with a lot going on beneath the surface. (For example, it's a film about growing up emotionally; of coming to terms with the world around you, and determining what values are real. Yet on another level, there's an unstated three-way contrast among the heroine, an ambitious, educated, lower-class girl, the tycoon and his new money, waiting out the war safely in his island castle, and the traditional upper-middle class landowners and gentry of the Hebrides, impoverished by war deprivations but quietly, heroically making do.) The acting is flawless, without any of the "beautiful people" syndrome in evidence which has so dogged cinema over the years. A comparative failure upon its release (critics and audience weren't in the mood for mystical landscapes and romance after WWII), it's racked up numerous awards and a very large following, since. Martin Scorsese speaks of it as among his favorite films. Although a few stylistic points creak with age (notably the use of music in the background behind dialog in some sections), this is a powerful, lyrical, intimate film with enormous replay value, thanks to the great subtlety of its images and performances. If you're looking for the perfect film to see with a date, or a loved one, consider this. Even if you're not, consider it, anyway. You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great film and a remarkable locale, August 24, 2004
Michael Powell and Emeric Pressburger were Great Britain's supreme exoticists. What is remarkable is that their exoticism was not relegated to those parts of the globe usually associated with the remoteness and alien. BLACK NARCISSUS was, in this way, the exception rather than the norm. More often, they managed to find exoticism far closer to home, such as in the magic of THE RED SHOES, the unexpected intersection of heaven and earth in A MATTER OF LIFE AND DEATH, or even in the life of a relatively average Englishman in THE LIFE AND DEATH OF COLONEL BLIMP. Thus, it is not at all surprising that Powell (who had a lifelong love of the Scottish Isles) and Pressburger managed to find a remarkably exotic locale within the British Isles, specifically in the Scottish Isles, primarily on the Isle of Mull, in the film I KNOW WHERE I'M GOING (1945). Although they had already achieved considerable success in other films, this film kicks off the greatest creative period of their partnership, after this one making such masterpieces as A MATTER OF LIFE AND DEATH (1946), BLACK NARCISSUS (1947), and THE RED SHOES (1948).

I KNOW WHERE I'M GOING really isn't like any other film one can see. The setting is incredibly unique. Watching the film, it is a bit unnerving to realize there is such an unknown and relatively unvisited area so exceedingly near the rest of Europe. The landscape shots are extraordinarily beautiful and capture a wild and untamed region, despite the human habitation. Much of the joy of the film lies in living cinematically for an hour or two in a place that seems almost magical it is so unique. And indeed, there is magic, even if it is only the kind that movies provide. The irony of the title lies in the fact that our heroine, Wendy Hiller, believes she knows where she is going, but the islands and the sea prove themselves to be forces of nature to be respected: they will not always humble themselves to human planning.

The film is driven not merely by a great locale and first rate direction, but a marvelous cast. There are simply not enough films featuring either Roger Livesey or the young Wendy Hiller (she did, thankfully, make far more films later in life, so stage actors often do, film being less stressful on the body than acting on stage-witness actors like Laurence Olivier and Ian McKellan, who turned more and more to film after the age of sixty). Livesey is always a delight, with his soft yet rough voice, and his rabbit-toothed grin. Wendy Hiller did shockingly little film work early in her acting career, but what she did was superb. She enjoyed great success in two film adaptations of George Bernard Shaw, PYGMALION and MAJOR BARBARA, before this film, and she did nothing else until after turning forty (at which point her film career mushroomed). Pamela Brown, who enjoyed a long relationship with Michael Powell and whose career was hampered by near-crippling arthritis, is memorable as Catriona. Much of the rest of the cast consists of locals, though an amazingly young Petula Clark does appear in one scene.

The great irony of a film set in the Scottish Isles is, as is famously known, star Roger Livesey was appearing in a play in London, and was unable to do any location shots. All of his scenes that required dialog were shot in London, and for all his outdoor scenes in Scotland, a double who looked like Livesey from behind was used instead. If one hasn't seen the movie, this sounds bizarre, but it actually works exceptionally well. It actually provides the prescient viewer with a fun game, spotting the shots on the quay, for instance, that were shot partly in London and partly in Scotland.

This is a very special film. It is on the list of my one hundred favorite films, and I think it will be for many others as well. The DVD contains a host of wonderful features, as in any Criterion production. Indeed, DVDs don't come much better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully scripted, acted and photographed., September 20, 2000
By A Customer
Bless my public library having offered this on video tape in the past, and bless the Criterion Collection for now making it available on DVD. This simple movie has not one false step. Those who have only seen Wendy Hiller in old age (e.g., in "A Man for All Seasons") will love seeing her play a modern (1940's) woman who "knows where she's going."
In this case, she is going to the Scottish Hebrides to marry one of the richest men in the world when a storm intervenes, stranding her among an eccentric mix of locals, including a (young, handsome, down-to-earth) naval officer on leave from the war.
The rest of the cast is as charming as Hiller, playing characters who are utterly believable. (A young Petula Clark endures particularly materialistic parents, who are not, of course, locals.)
A DVD edition should make the black and white photography of this film even more striking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underneath the Archers, December 1, 2002
By 
Noel Bjorndahl "Golden Years" (Woodford, New South Wales Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It is difficult to resist the spell of the Archers (Michael Powell and Emeric Pressburger) at full throttle. I KNOW WHERE I'M GOING is one of their greatest collaborations.
It is on the surface a slight story about a headstrong English lass (a young but formidable Wendy Hiller)who travels to the Outer Hebrides to marry a wealthy older man. On the way, she is constantly interrupted and subverted in her aim, not only by local weather conditions but also by dashing local laird Roger Livesey who does not reveal his real identity. (Livesey's rich friuty voice and imposing screen presence enlivened several of the Archers' 40s films most notably in the title role in THE LIFE AND DEATH OF COLONEL BLIMP and as the doctor who sacrifices his own life to argue David Niven's case in the heavenly trials of A MATTER OF LIFE AND DEATH).
These interruptions and digressions provide a magnificent springboard for the Archers' eloquent, lyrical celebration of the mystery and wildness of isolated British landscapes and more especially seascapes. Like so many of their best films it exerts a powerfully exotic appeal-much of it was shot on location on the island of Mull. The film makers intensely explore the milieu in terms of storms and mists, whirlpools, ancient curses, ruined castles, a strong sense of the supernatural and a wonderfully detailed ruby wedding and ceilidh, Scottish style. In other words, the aesthetic terrain of the heart. As with A CANTERBURY TALE, which is full of the mysteries of the Kentish countryside and of Chaucer's Britain, the Archers create a mystical experience out of regional nature and custom.
Typically also the erotic element is foregrounded; you only have to look into Pamela Brown's wistful gaze and contemplate her long, lush tresses to relize the awakening the Archers have in mind for the naive Wendy Hiller character. It has little to do with her original plans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful love story...., July 14, 2001
I KNOW WHERE I'M GOING is over 50 years old, and to tell the truth I would not have purchased this film if Criterion had not made a version. I've taken a chance on some of the older films that have not undergone the Criterion clean-up and regretted it. No matter how good a film was if you can't see it it does not matter. I found this transer excellent. The sound is not first class, but one cannot make Dolby sound from a single track.
The story is as old as the hills, a young woman (or man) set on marrying a wealthy suitor finds herself falling in love with a less well provided for suitor. Oh what to choose--love or money. In the real world, many folks opt for the former and some of them find happiness, and many opt for the latter and end up miserable. Most likely no one can say with any certainty what is best but I vote for love.
Dame Wendy Hiller is wonderful as the headstrong young woman who travels to the rugged west coast of Scotland to meet and marry her fiancee. She and her co-star Roger Livesey both give extraordinary performances. Both were stage players and members of the Royal Shakespeare company, and the movie is more like a stage play than a modern screen play. The documentary on the DVD explains Livesey's shots were done on a sound stage in London as he was starring in a play when the film was made and could not make the journey to Scotland. That he is shown outdoors in Scotland and you probably won't notice the difference, says much about the talents of the cinematographer. When Livesy and Hiller are together the chemistry is grand.
The external black and white shots in Scotland are fabulous. The documentary that accompanies the film explains how tourists, particularly Americans visit the film sites--the hotel where the anxious young woman is forced to wait out a storm, the red call box next to the burn, and the whirlpool where hapless sailors have lost their lives for centuries. Seems the tide coming in between two islands creates the whirlpool and the photographs of this marvel including a boat circling round and round are wonderful.
The DVD contains English subtitles so the hearing impaired and/or veterans of the 1940s can review a much beloved film. Those who speak Gaelic or who had ancestors who did so will be thrilled to know there is plenty of local dialog--another reason for the English subtitles. Petula Clark fans will be pleased to see the young Petula play a little rich girl instead of the cockney kids she frequently played. Some of us remember her as the singer who made "Downtown" a top hit song. The film was dedicated to Scotsmen everywhere--including America.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant. Period., August 23, 2000
By 
PatrickO "Patrick" (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I saw this film on PBS ten or more years ago, and was utterly charmed by everything about it. It was solely responsible for my later investigation of the films of Powell and Pressburger.
Some films touch you in a way that is universal and timeless. This girl-meets-Scottish Laird story is one of them. Wendy Hiller is captivating in this post-Pygmalion role. Saying too much about it is like talking about a souffle - you miss the essence. Just buy or rent it. A sure bet.
Powell was married in later years to Martin Scorcese's brilliant brilliant film editor, Thelma Schoonmaker. Her commentary will likely be insightful.
I believe the young girl in this film is 60s pop star, Petula Clark. Not sure though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Devotional Experience, August 22, 2005
By 
Kevin Killian (San Francisco, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Wendy Hiller plays Joan Webster, a rather chilly, upwardly mobile Englishwoman whose dad is a bank manager. Even he seems a bit alarmed by his daughter's mercenary soul; there doesn't seem to be much there there, and he accuses her early on, in a marvelously modernistic nightclub setting, of acting more sophisticated than she really is. He's spot on, for as the movie progresses we learn that (though not WHY, which is interesting in and of itself) she has gradually over time built up a facade in which she actually believes, that money is more important than love. The thrust of the plot, and of Powell's dizzyingly vertiginous direction, is to disorient her into smashing the mirror and seeing the pieces of her real self, even if some of them are unpleasant.

I don't know which scenes Hiller is better at! -- Being cold, or warming up. Both kinds do her ample justice and I imagine the part of Joan was actually written with her in mind, just as Powell and Pressburger must have created Catriona for Pamela Brown alone. Brown, with her cascading weirs of wild red hair and her stranded, fey gaze, strides through the movie as though she owns it, shotgun over one shoulder, savage dogs at heel; but she knows when to stop. Brown's later scenes are all banked fire. She knows that Torquil has fallen for Joan and with that simple act he's effectively taken the hope out of her life, and yet she carries on. It's heartbreaking, or would be except that the movie makers aren't interested in breaking your heart. What they're after is something more difficult and abstract.

And yet they use preposterously romantic ways of making you think about it! The legend of the whirlpool, with three kinds of ropes that break in three different ways; the old fashioned device of keeping the "Ralph Bellamy" character off of the stage; the disguise of the Laird (Roger Livesay) so that Joan doesn't know he's secretly a nobleman until after she's known him for a bit; the Highland setting, the three pipers, the postponed wedding, the white gown flung into the sea almost like a sacrifice, the twenty pound difference between a life for the two young ingenus and their being separated for years, even Petula Clark, miles from "Downtown," in the absurd oversized spectacles of Alfalfa. The movie throws everything at us, we either start ducking or we start accepting it all, like St Sebastian his arrows. For Michael Powell, cinema is a devotional experience; you get what you come for, only you don't know what it's going to be when you pay the price of the ticket.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece...., October 8, 2000
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
"I Know Where I'm Going" centers on the relationship of a modern British woman and the amazing change in her life when she visits the Scottish Hebrides. A charming fantasy, and a great film to show to the one that you love the most. I saw the videodisc version years ago ... I hope the DVD surpasses it!
Powell and Pressburger were at top speed when they made this classic. One must look for other films that Roger Livesey has starred in ... most notably the film which we Americans call "Stairway to Heaven," made just after WWII in brilliant Technicolor.
On another note, I could say that I'm a bit lucky. I had the opportunity to visit the island of Mull where much of the film was shot. The hotel that was in the film [The Western Isles" is still there ... has been wonderfully restored, and the people who run it know the hotel's place in British film history. MacBrayne still runs the ferry service from the mainland town Oban, where you catch the train to Glasgow.
Many of the other places in the film that weren't shot in-studio are still there ... including the castle where a young Petula Clark -yes-,the singer -- plays a precocious child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

I Know Where I'm Going!
I Know Where I'm Going! by Michael Powell;Emeric Pressburger
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.