Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Horror/Comedy Hybrid
This movie has been getting good press in mags like "Fangoria" and "Rue Morgue." It can be rented at Blockbuster as one of their exclusives and is scheduled for a street release at the end of March. It is a low budget project, but one that's produced with a lot of class, wit, energy and a respect for the genre.

It involves a couple of low-life, but likable...
Published on January 3, 2010 by David Alianiello

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This movie is right up my alley, but...
Great cast, great idea and stylish.... but it was missing something. It was neat to look at, but I never really connected to it.

There were a whole lot of good ideas, but not enough was done with them. The movie would have been better if it were longer to expand on the ideas or more focused. Most of Arthur's apprenticeship could have been cut for instance...
Published on April 18, 2010 by James Seger


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Horror/Comedy Hybrid, January 3, 2010
This review is from: I Sell the Dead (DVD)
This movie has been getting good press in mags like "Fangoria" and "Rue Morgue." It can be rented at Blockbuster as one of their exclusives and is scheduled for a street release at the end of March. It is a low budget project, but one that's produced with a lot of class, wit, energy and a respect for the genre.

It involves a couple of low-life, but likable Burke and Hare-type grave robbers named Grimes and Blake, and their misadventures supplying fresh corpses for a local doctor/mortician (Angus Scrimm). They unearth the usual rotten and not-so-rotten corpses, vampires, zombies and even an extraterrestrial (!), but their most dangerous adventure comes in the form of a sick, violent family of grave robbers who don't appreciate the competition: The House of Murphy. The daughter, who was burned beyond recognition, wears a mask identical to the burned daughter in the classic French film "Les Yeux sans Visage" ("Eyes Without a Face")-great touch! The son grinds up his victims' bones and uses the bone dust for snuff.

Overall, a fun, tongue-in-cheek movie with laughs and thrills that belies its low budget with a great script, excellent actors and above-average production values. Special features include several IFC trailers, including "I Sell the Dead." I would suggest using the subtitle feature as the accents are thick in some places. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A pleasant surprise, January 2, 2010
By 
pc6 "pc6" (Durham, NC USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: I Sell the Dead (DVD)
I noticed this at my local Blockbuster. Brought it home without any real expectations, and was really very pleasantly surprised.
The movie revolves around Arthur Blake, a graverobber who is about to be executed, and Ron Perlman, the monk who is interviewing Blake before his execution. Perlman wants to know how Blake got started in graverobbing, what his career was like, and what happened to Blake's worst rival. Blakes' tale involves the dead, vampires, zombies, and aliens. It is somewhat bloody, but laced with humor. Worth watching!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I Sell The Dead, April 11, 2010
This review is from: I Sell the Dead (DVD)
A pair of grave robbers strike gold when they discover a wealth of undead corpses (including zombies, vampires, and other ghouls) buried in the local cemetery, bodies that earn them a fine reward from the seedy local doctors working under the guise of science. Their framed story is retold by Arthur Blake, the younger of the two thieves, who relays their adventures to a priest while awaiting the guillotine. Glenn McQuaid similarly strikes gold with this off-beat but highly original Horror Comedy, offering the same stunning cinematography and art design as the Hammer productions with a classic Gothic aesthetic. Fessenden and Monaghan make for a charmingly clever pair of down on their luck grave robbers, and they are joined by an equally talented and enjoyable cast of miscreants including the great Ron Perlman as the wayward priest. The production and design of the film could not have been improved, but I SELL THE DEAD falls just short of becoming a modern classic due to the uneven pacing brought on by its structure and format. As Blake begins each new tale, a great amount of time is spent setting up each new scenario and introducing new characters, which inevitably undermines the action, suspense, and horror. The fleshed out characters and plot are both appreciated, but not at the cost of a rushed payoff for each of the vignettes. McQuaid displays a tremendous amount of potential in this, his second film, and hopefully the open ending will allow for an even stronger sequel with the same sharp scripting and humor.

-Carl Manes
I Like Horror Movies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This movie is right up my alley, but..., April 18, 2010
By 
James Seger (The Woodlands, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: I Sell the Dead (DVD)
Great cast, great idea and stylish.... but it was missing something. It was neat to look at, but I never really connected to it.

There were a whole lot of good ideas, but not enough was done with them. The movie would have been better if it were longer to expand on the ideas or more focused. Most of Arthur's apprenticeship could have been cut for instance.

The horror wasn't particularly scary and the humor snicker worthy at best. Combined with the slow pacing, it's just too many strikes against the movie. It's a shame, because this movie has the cast and ingredients to be a genuine cult classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Total fun!, March 22, 2010
This review is from: I Sell the Dead (DVD)
I picked this up a few months ago thru amazon/ca (Canadian branch -you can get lots of stuff faster than the states release times)and I dearly, dearly LOVE this film! Very well done period piece from the old grave robber era storyline and just plain fun, quirky, good snarky humor, and utterly well acted. Good high production value film too! Not much more I can add to some of the very detailed reviews - other that to say it is WELL worth buying it and watching over and over. This one is a keeper and you'll pull it down over the years and watch it again! I've already re-played it about 8 times thus far. Hmmmmmm - think I'll watch it again tonight!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Should have been better, April 16, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I Sell the Dead seemed like it was going to be a refreshing piece of horror comedy. Unfortunately it was not terribly funny. I chuckled here and there but nothing was really funny in the film, which is a shame because the movie really relied on being funny. Nothing too original about the story and the twists were fairly obvious. The biggest disappointment was the heavy reliance on CGI backgrounds. Behind the fog machines and actors were terrible backgrounds that looked more like screensavers. I was hoping for a more moody, atmospheric tale, and instead I got poorly rendered backgrounds. I was disappointed but the film was just okay. Good enough for one viewing, but nothing more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In the tradition of Hare and Burke - entertaining horror-comedy, May 7, 2010
This review is from: I Sell the Dead (DVD)
One of my favorite classic horror movies is The Flesh and the Fiendsstarring horror icon Peter Cushing and featuring two grave robbers, Hare and Burke, who resort to less conventional (and criminal) methods to keep the good doctor supplied in fresh corpses. "I Sell the Dead" also features grave robbers, and is more of a homage to old horror classics.

The movie focuses on Arthur Blake (Dominic Monaghan) who has been sentenced to death for murder and whilst awaiting his execution, narrates his ghoulish experiences to a priest (played by Ron Perlman). The viewer is then taken via flashback to the past where Arthur and his boss/mentor Willie (Larry Fessenden) are in the business of grave robbing, digging up corpses to sell for a tidy profit. But, these are no ordinary corpses as Arthur confesses to the priest - there are vampires, zombies, and all manner of the undead. The scenes of the pair digging up the corpses and being attacked by the undead are truly fun to watch - one scene features Arthur pooh-poohing the stake in a female corpse's heart and nonchalantly pulling it out, whilst Willie cautions him repeatedly not to do it. Of course, the vampire attacks the pair and Willie who catches on to the whole stake-in-heart=dormant vampire (though many movies have it that this is the way to kill vampires) starts playing with the undead corpse - pulling out the stake and piercing it back again and again! There are other scenes that convey similar comic effects which I personally found entertaining and refreshing.

The story does not flow all that well - partly because the scenes in the past are rather awkwardly weaved together with the ones in the present (with the priest), but fans of classic horror might find something to appreciate in this indie flick especially in its unabashed attempt to pay homage to the old horror classics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Fun Horror/Comedy Combo, November 14, 2010
By 
Jason from Georgia (Loganville, GA USA) - See all my reviews
Who doesn't like a good horror film? Who doesn't like a good comedy? Well then, you might just like I Sell the Dead!

The film takes place (presumably) sometime in the early 1800's in England. Arthur Blake (Dominic Monaghan of Lord of the Rings fame) awaits the gallows for the crime of grave robbing. But before he goes to meet his maker he'll confess to an inquisitive priest stories of he and fellow partner Willie Grimes (Larry Fessenden) exploits with the dead and undead alike. The story is a light-hearted, witty dark comedy that fans of horror movies will get a chuckle out of. It moves at a brisk pace but doesn't feel rushed.

The acting is simply terrific. Both Dominic Monaghan and Larry Fessenden are perfect in their roles and play off each other well. The rest of the cast is also great bringing this colorfully dark world of grave robbing to life.

In the end, I Sell the Dead isn't going to change the way you think about life and it's probably not going to be one of your favorite horror or comedy movies. That being said, it's a whole lot of fun and is something I'd highly recommend to horror movie fans, especially those who enjoyed classic British Hammer Horror flicks. For more, please check out [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars clever,outside the box!, February 8, 2010
By 
This review is from: I Sell the Dead (DVD)
This is one of the 3 best zombie flicks i have seen this year! The other 2 being Zombieland and Dead snow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not a good movie by any stretch, February 17, 2011
By 
William P. Powers (Escondido, California USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: I Sell the Dead (DVD)
I understand this was a low(er) budget movie and... this is important... I greatly admire and like the two leads, Dom and Ron, but how on earth can anyone see past the wooden acting?!? The confession, especially, was painful to watch. It looked like Don and Ron were mailing their lines in... or had just been given them the night before and were doing their best with no prep work. This was one god-aweful movie... and I wanted it not to be. Over the course of three tries I made it almost 85% of the way through the movie, but just couldn't push through to the end. It was that bad. Who wants my copy? You can have it for free.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

I Sell the Dead
I Sell the Dead by Glenn McQuaid
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.