Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PME Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars17
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$16.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 31, 2001
If you are an admirer of the poetry of Rumi and the translations Coleman Barks, you will love this CD collection. In addition to Rumi, there are selections from two additional poets, Hafiz and Lalla, both of which compliment the selections from Rumi. Some of the readings are accompanied by music. Mr. Barks reads his translations in a relaxed and jovial manner, which displays his genuine affection for the works read.
This recording was made before a live audience and therefore lacks the polish of a studio recording, but makes up for it with the charm of being live and alive. There is no text of the poetry with the CD and the only liner notes are a brief bio of Coleman Barks.
If you are unfamiliar with the poetry of Rumi, this CD would be a good place to start. Rumi's poetry reflects his unabashed love for God, but without the hindrance of doctrinal constraints; it is spiritual without being religious.
0Comment|62 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2005
Colemen Barks captures the spirit of Rumi, Hafiz, and Lalla. I enjoy the Spiritual Essence revealed in his reading so much, that I have 3 copies of this, and have sent it to several friends. I have a copy for the car, the house, and the garden. Coleman has said he Becomes what Rumi has written when he recites this wonderful poetry. Yes, and it is apparent. A shiver runs the spine at the Recognition revealed in these readings.
33 comments|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2003
Delicious. Uplifting. Reaffirming. Intoxicating. Necessary. (In other words: Get it, sit down, listen!)
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2008
Coleman Barks has captured the essence of Rumi with his captivating, mysterious southern voice giving the entire cd a mystical quality unmatched by anyone I have heard reading poetry. Anyone who wants to drink from the fountain of Rumi and find something different each time you pour a cup of timeless words, then you must have this.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2005
Coleman Barks may be a brilliant translator, but this CD was a disappointment, mostly because of the slip-shod music production. Something more rehearsed, with better sounds and creative energy would have been nice. The mood of the text is completely contradicted by the cheesy music. And for anyone that says, "well, I bet you couldn't do better." Try me. (I'm a music producer and Rumi enthusiast, and I have half a mind to see just what I can do. Give me a call Mr. Barks - w w w . m i n d s p e a k . c o m
11 comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2007
The title says it all. This is the opposite of cool, aloofness. This is broken open ecstacy. This elegant poetry, written centuries ago, is still fresh, evocative, poignant. The images of dancing under the night sky, of a breath on the face of your beloved, of a trail of tiny footprints evidencing the spiritual journey will stay with you. Coleman Barks' explanations add layers of depth and the musical accompaniment, heightens the urgency. At times, you can feel the universe moving around you.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2012
One of Coleman Bark's first Rumi (and Lala and Hafiz) CDs and still one of his best. The quality of spirit and love captured in this live performance takes me to that feeling of love and longing every time I listen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2008
This is the best Rumi CD I have ever heard. There is exquisite depth of feeling in the performance.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2014
This is not one of the best of Coleman Barks' Rumi offerings. The production values are uneven, the harmonies are lacking and almost irritating, Skip this one and try another of his CD's.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2011
This Rumi CD by Coleman Barks is exception. No one does Rumi like Coleman. It is beautifully done and poignant. Thoroughly recommend it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.