Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, great score, great message
I saw the movie Wild Ocean 3D at the Imax theater in the Museum of Natural History in Washington, D.C., over Christmas Break. It is an amazing experience. It was of course in 3D.

The filmmakers take you to one of the few remaining stretches of wild coastline, the KwaZulu-Natal Wild Coast in South Africa, where you observe the migration of millions of fish and...
Published on January 15, 2010 by Matthew Taylor

versus
20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor 3D experience
The title of this BD 3D DVD is a little misleading. It mainly talked about the migration of sardine in South Africa and its upstream food chains. It is an interesting story. The movie has a lot of mediocre footages that are not good for 3D experience.
Published on November 2, 2010 by TT Lu


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, great score, great message, January 15, 2010
By 
Matthew Taylor (Rockville, MD USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: IMAX: Wild Ocean (DVD)
I saw the movie Wild Ocean 3D at the Imax theater in the Museum of Natural History in Washington, D.C., over Christmas Break. It is an amazing experience. It was of course in 3D.

The filmmakers take you to one of the few remaining stretches of wild coastline, the KwaZulu-Natal Wild Coast in South Africa, where you observe the migration of millions of fish and the various biosystems that these fish support - sharks, dolphins, whales, gannets, people. It is Africa by the sea, and it is stunning.

I especially loved the musical score. Composed by Luke Cresswell and Steve McNicholas, the people who created STOMP Live, it is a pulsing, engaging, and outsize score for an outsize film about an outsize landscape. I loved it!

The underlying message is, of course, the disappearance of wild ecosystems and what must be done to prevent more loss. Great movie, great message.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor 3D experience, November 2, 2010
By 
TT Lu "TT Lu" (Houston, Texas, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: IMAX: Wild Ocean [Blu-ray 3D] (Blu-ray)
The title of this BD 3D DVD is a little misleading. It mainly talked about the migration of sardine in South Africa and its upstream food chains. It is an interesting story. The movie has a lot of mediocre footages that are not good for 3D experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad but not great either, November 8, 2010
By 
Chris Blount (San Antonio, TX USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: IMAX: Wild Ocean [Blu-ray 3D] (Blu-ray)
This feature isn't bad and kind of interesting at times. The 3D was pretty good but I did notice some ghosting in a few spots that I bet were errors in the mastering process. Nothing bad though. It was also nice not to be preached at about conservation through the entire film (see Grand Canyon: River at Risk for that sort of thing).

On the down side, it was boring in a few spots and it seems like they used the same shots over and over again (especially the dolphins swimming at the camera).

Not worth $20 but still interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, January 30, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: IMAX: Wild Ocean (DVD)
This Wild Ocean 3D bluray movie is absolutely superb and stunning!!! I am so glad I purchased it. I watched it twice at an IMAX theatre and now I have already watched it twice on my computer-and I just received it yesterday!! The music conveys a feeling of teamwork-individual efforts toward a common greater good. I also want to buy the Soundtrack for it. This movie scores a 15 on a chart of 10!!! Again, absolutely superb and stunning!!!!!!!!! One of the best purchases I ever made!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I Would Rate this with No Stars if it were Possible!, November 12, 2011
This review is from: IMAX: Wild Ocean [Blu-ray 3D] (Blu-ray)
Grab a puke bucket as you'll be sick from buying this.

Here is what you get: Sardines swimming in circles for half, yes - half!, the movie. I understand that the little stinky things were the "highlight" but they are the entire movie!

Sardines swimming here. Sardines there. Oh look, other birds, fish and stuff are hungry. Cue the Sardines! They must know the producer or something.

Really? Nothing wild about their featured Ocean.

3D: Horrible for the underwater shots. Great for above water shots. But, don't we want to see great underwater shots - AFTER ALL the movie is WILD OCEAN.

I really wish there were more sardines swimming in circles. Couldn't get enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars "African Sardines"?, November 7, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: IMAX: Wild Ocean [Blu-ray 3D] (Blu-ray)
They should have called this movie "African Sardines". What a stupid movie and a waste of money. If you pay more than $10.00 for this you got ripped off.(I did) The 3-D is good and had allot of depth throughout the movie but unfortunately it had several spots where there is moderate "ghosting" which ruined it. Like the previous review, I couldn't understand most of what was said due to the heavy accent of the narrator. The movie was about the plight of the sardine population in Africa or something like that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars it 'ok ' but ...., November 4, 2010
By 
John Hillestad (Ft Lauderdale, FL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: IMAX: Wild Ocean [Blu-ray 3D] (Blu-ray)
Its a nice story but like the other reviewer I was hoping for a better 3D experience , what annoyed me the most is the narrator - he has a thick south African accent and can be hard to clearly hear - its distracting - he sounds a little like Morgan Freeman but its not him.... I was hoping to see more species - there are a lot of dolphins and sardines but I wanted to see more .... btw the channel n3d on directv airs this program for free in 3d as well....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent pick especially recommended for public library collections, February 11, 2010
This review is from: IMAX: Wild Ocean (DVD)
Originally created for exhibition in IMAX theaters, Wild Ocean is a spectacular, award-winning DVD documentary that reveals the ocean life flourishing under the waves of South Africa's coast. From beautiful shoals to seals and dolphins to breaching whale and bloodthirsty sharks, Wild Ocean is an unforgettable tour of the daily struggle for survival among ocean wildlife, and a reminder of the ecological wonders beneath the waves that are perilously endangered by the encroaches of mankind. Special features include a behind the scenes featurette, an interview with the directors, and a quiz. Available in both DVD and Blu-ray formats, Wild Ocean is an excellent pick especially recommended for public library collections. 40 minutes, widescreen, English/Spanish/French language tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I felt bored., December 10, 2010
By 
Jair "Jay" (Dracut, MA, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: IMAX: Wild Ocean [Blu-ray 3D] (Blu-ray)
Just got this 3d blu ray but I felt bored. Don't waste your money. I also got UNDER THE SEA 3D, I just loved, one the best 3d experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It's just sad, September 25, 2011
This review is from: IMAX: Wild Ocean [Blu-ray 3D] (Blu-ray)
Poor video quality, poor 3D effect, poor footage... everything about this is bad.
Do not buy it. Don't even spend time watch it.
It's just sad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

IMAX: Wild Ocean [Blu-ray 3D]
IMAX: Wild Ocean [Blu-ray 3D] by Steve McNicholas (Blu-ray - 2010)
$24.98 $13.63
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.