Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very detailed and interesting
This book was first published around the time when the CIA was viewed as the devil incarnate. The book reflects this view of the CIA by its author primarily through the author's very detailed (and interesting) description of the operations he was involved or aware of. A very detailed business. The details of secret operations are more fascinating than anything that can be...
Published 13 months ago by Yoda

versus
23 of 65 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Detailed but odious work
This isn't a thriller and it can be very dry and tiresome at times. However, from the academic standpoint , this is an interesting work on the CIA.
Good or bad, this book was a product of its times, and I understand that. It wasn't fashionable in the 1970s to spy, and there were some controls needed on CIA.
However, I think Agee goes too far in releasing...
Published on June 10, 2004 by S. G Spires


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very detailed and interesting, August 9, 2013
By 
Yoda (Hadera, Israel) - See all my reviews
This review is from: INSIDE THE COMPANY: CIA DIARY (Mass Market Paperback)
This book was first published around the time when the CIA was viewed as the devil incarnate. The book reflects this view of the CIA by its author primarily through the author's very detailed (and interesting) description of the operations he was involved or aware of. A very detailed business. The details of secret operations are more fascinating than anything that can be found in a John La Carre novel. The book is also serves as a very interesting autobiography. The author joins the CIA in order to fight communism but becomes so disillusioned that he decides to fight the organization that he was previously such a strong proponent. THis turn is also fascinating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An early CIA expose, October 12, 2013
By 
TLR (California USA) - See all my reviews
Agee was a former CIA officer who became disillusioned with US foreign policy and became a radical socialist and critic of US foreign policy. Inside the Company was one of the first insider exposes on the CIA. He named numerous officers and agents who were working undercover for the CIA in other countries. He worked for the Agency for 12 years in Ecuador, Uruguay and Mexico. He disclosed that many top political and media figures in those countries were on the CIA payroll. He explains that the CIA's main goal is to guarantee "a favorable foreign-investment climate for US industry." (Playboy 8/1975)

Agee would later testify before the House Select Committee on Assassinations. He told the HSCA that he had heard rumors to the effect that Lee Harvey Oswald had been employed by the CIA, but said that it would have been under a cryptonym that would be difficult to trace. He also said that if Oswald had been an agent, he would expect that all records of it would have been destroyed immediately after the assassination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and very informative, December 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is one of the most interesting books i have ever read,it was written by a CIA defector in the 70s,in the book the author describes his life in the agency since his humble beginnings in the 50s,how he was recruited,trained and indoctrinated with a lot of names and numbers,the whole process fascinates me,i read and re-read this book probably more than 20 times.
It was the middle of the cold war and things were complicated,at some point the author decides to defect to the communist block because of "moral precepts and disagreeances" with the directives of the agency,so he says,wich i don't buy.
Well,anyways,the book is written in a kind of denounce tone,trying to point out the supposed moral flexibility of the agency and the dubious reasons involved in the operations overseas.
So this guy betrayed his country defecting behind the iron curtain because of supposed moral precepts in the middle of the cold war,and tries to justify writting a book,that's lame...
The book is very interesting towards explaining how the CIA used to operate,that's why i gave it 4 stars not because of the author and his stories.
Nevertheless,long story short,this book had a reverse effect in me making me find a new grown respect and admiration for the CIA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 53 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must read. Shows the truth behind the CIA, January 27, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: INSIDE THE COMPANY: CIA DIARY (Mass Market Paperback)
Philip Agee does a wonderful job of unmasking the villains and personel of the CIA. It is written in a diary format, with each occasion listed to the exact date. Philip Agee was a former CIA agent positioned in Ecuador. His story depicts how the Company goes about their business and describes what their business is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True history of the CIA actions in South Americia, October 7, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The operations that the CIA was conducting in South America exposed by a Officer of the CIA. Names and code names of the operations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 75 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best Cold Look at Day to Day Clandestine Operations, April 8, 2000
This review is from: INSIDE THE COMPANY: CIA DIARY (Mass Market Paperback)
I despise what Philip Agee did with this book, endangering the lives of real people and violating his oath as a commissioned officer in the clandestine service. I was also very surprised by the level of detail in the book, and concluded that he intended to betray the CIA well prior to leaving. I've served three overseas tours and three Washington assignments, and from all that time I can barely remember one cryptonym series and not a single true identity. I think Agee took notes and planned ahead to burn the CIA. This is a good diary, and I include it in this bibliography to represent the pedestrian side of the DO-the day to day monotony of going through the motions and doing agent recruitments and agent handling operations in third world countries where the bulk of what one does really does not contribute to U.S. national security or understanding.

Edit of 11 Jan 08 to add comment and links.

Comment: I am committed to reducing the secret budget from $60 billion a year to $12 billion, and the heavy metal military budget from $950 billion to $250 billion, with the savings directed toward waging peace and offering free education in all languages via free cell phones, the only way we will be able to create a prosperous world at peace.

Other links:
Legacy of Ashes: The History of the CIA
Dark Alliance: The CIA, the Contras, and the Crack Cocaine Explosion
Web of Deceit: The History of Western complicity in Iraq, from Churchill to Kennedy to George W. Bush
None So Blind: A Personal Account of the Intelligence Failure in Vietnam
See No Evil
Sleeping with the Devil: How Washington Sold Our Soul for Saudi Crude
9/11 Synthetic Terror: Made in USA, Fourth Edition

Edit of 12 Apr 09 to add three more links
Who the Hell Are We Fighting?: The Story of Sam Adams and the Vietnam Intelligence Wars
The New Craft of Intelligence: Personal, Public, & Political--Citizen's Action Handbook for Fighting Terrorism, Genocide, Disease, Toxic Bombs, & Corruption
Collective Intelligence: Creating a Prosperous World at Peace
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 65 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Detailed but odious work, June 10, 2004
By 
S. G Spires (Huntsville, Al United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This isn't a thriller and it can be very dry and tiresome at times. However, from the academic standpoint , this is an interesting work on the CIA.
Good or bad, this book was a product of its times, and I understand that. It wasn't fashionable in the 1970s to spy, and there were some controls needed on CIA.
However, I think Agee goes too far in releasing secrets.
Agee takes the reader through recruitment, training and CIA life. If he had stopped there and left out designations, cover and agent names it would be a sort of dry but informative work.
He didn't.
Aldrich Ames sold names and operations for money to the Soviet Union. Phil Agee sold them to a book publisher. I see little difference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

INSIDE THE COMPANY: CIA DIARY
INSIDE THE COMPANY: CIA DIARY by Philip Agee (Mass Market Paperback - January 1, 1981)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.