Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ion ipics 2 GO Photo & slide Scanner for 4/4S phones
I just got the scanner "BOX" a couple of days ago. It took longer than the printer to get, but I think it
is the perfect combination to the Cube Printer.(A 2 sided tray on one side is for 3 1/2"x5" other side 4"x6" prints and a carrier for slides and negatives. 2 AA batteries comes in the box.) What you have here is a photo Box that gives your iPhone the ability to...
Published on August 4, 2012 by Dan

versus
40 of 45 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointment
First the good: Battery powered portability, LED lighting for long life, good resolution on prints. The enclosed case limits reflections that would normally be seen by just straight coping of prints in the open. Limited ability to hold prints flat during copying.

Six white LED's light up the print, and shine through the slides. A white background ensures...
Published on August 20, 2012 by James East


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ion ipics 2 GO Photo & slide Scanner for 4/4S phones, August 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ion ISC31 iPics 2 Go Photo Slide and Negative Scanner for iPhone 4/4S (Office Product)
I just got the scanner "BOX" a couple of days ago. It took longer than the printer to get, but I think it
is the perfect combination to the Cube Printer.(A 2 sided tray on one side is for 3 1/2"x5" other side 4"x6" prints and a carrier for slides and negatives. 2 AA batteries comes in the box.) What you have here is a photo Box that gives your iPhone the ability to photograph 3 1/2"x5" or 4"x6" pictures, or slides and negatives. You put in a 4"x6" photo, then you put your iPhone on top of the unit. You push the button for the light in side the box, put your photo into the tray (Using software you download) and you see it on your phone display. The key they worked out is the distance from iPhone to image, so you don't need to worry about anything not being aligned or movement of your hand when you are shooting your images. The light has a good enough color to make your images look somewhat balanced, but you have the ability to balance them through the software on the iPhone. Right after you shoot and review your shoot you can put the iPhone on the Cube printer and have a picture in less time then it takes me to do on my professional equipment. I don't have to much hope for the slides or negatives looking too good, cause my slide scanner is true resolution of 3800 DPI and it is a pretty good one for small slides and negatives. I don't think the iPhone is that fine up close, but I will review it soon.

Dan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 45 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointment, August 20, 2012
By 
James East "z090" (Knoxville, TN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ion ISC31 iPics 2 Go Photo Slide and Negative Scanner for iPhone 4/4S (Office Product)
First the good: Battery powered portability, LED lighting for long life, good resolution on prints. The enclosed case limits reflections that would normally be seen by just straight coping of prints in the open. Limited ability to hold prints flat during copying.

Six white LED's light up the print, and shine through the slides. A white background ensures good lighting for the slides. Color reproduction is is true.

Reasonable editing provided by the software, but I tend to use the iPhone's standard editor, or occasionally iPhoto as they offer more options.

The bad: the resolution for slides and negatives is disappointing. The slide does not fill the screen and therefore does not take full advantage of the iPhone's excellent optics and pixel count, which was my interest. Also, slides have to be entered one at a time, so the system not for high production work.

I add it to my list of "also ran" slide coping devices. So far, I'm only happy with lens adapters for my SLR.

This is strictly compatible with iPhone 4/4s. Future phone form factors may not be compatible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wouldn't reccomend - app hasn't been updated since 9/2012, November 8, 2013
This review is from: Ion ISC31 iPics 2 Go Photo Slide and Negative Scanner for iPhone 4/4S (Office Product)
Not worth more than $10. Bought it through Groupon (which was bad choice on it's own) for $16.99 at the end of June. Turns out the app isn't compatible with iOS 7, and hasn't been updated since Sept 2012 - just goes to show how invested Ion is in its own product. Should have checked app info before purchasing. The support site has comments from customers from over a month ago with no resolution in sight. Looks like the product is on its way out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Trash., January 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ion ISC31 iPics 2 Go Photo Slide and Negative Scanner for iPhone 4/4S (Office Product)
This is not worth the box it's shipped in. I wanted to scan a bunch of slides for my mom's birthday, and it just doesn't work. I was trying to save money and hoped this would work, but nope. The quality is so bad that you can barely make out the picture. Really just a piece of junk. I ended up buying a scanner with a slide scanning attachment for about $100. More expensive, but the results were beautiful. Don't waste your money on this. I threw away the box, otherwise I'd return it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT NOW!! Wait until APP update, October 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ion ISC31 iPics 2 Go Photo Slide and Negative Scanner for iPhone 4/4S (Office Product)
I purchased this to make photo albums from old photos and was very excited that it came so quickly. HOWEVER, it does not work right now because the company has not updated it's app to work with the IOS7. Very frustrating to say the least. I could have saved my money. Also, be aware that it only works with the IPhone 4/4S. So, if you are the type to get the latest and greatest this is not the product for you. Hopefully they will get the app fixed quickly and I will be able to use it.

UPDATE: The APP update finally arrived and I am able to use the product, however the picture size must be the same as the tray or it does not work very well. Also, each picture takes time to set up, snap and then transfer from IPhone to computer to send to make photo albums. It's going to take a long time for me to get all of the pictures transferred over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars iPics to go photo and slide scanner..., July 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ion ISC31 iPics 2 Go Photo Slide and Negative Scanner for iPhone 4/4S (Office Product)
iPics to go photo and slide scanner...I am torn on this item...I guess it does what it was intended to do although not with great quality results....Pics from slides are small and this creates a grainy copy...If you need a quick copy of a photo or slide it fits the bill...I would not pay more than $10.00 for it though...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Amazingly disappointing, March 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ion ISC31 iPics 2 Go Photo Slide and Negative Scanner for iPhone 4/4S (Office Product)
The product is basically a box with light in the bottom (something that resembles a dark room) and you have to put your iPhone (it only takes iPhone) on top and you get a really poor image quality from negatives that were only ten years old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a waste of time..., March 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ion ISC31 iPics 2 Go Photo Slide and Negative Scanner for iPhone 4/4S (Office Product)
First, no matter whether your iPhone has a white balance feature or not, NOTHING can correct poor raw data. The first slides I sent through have mostly a cool, blue tone to them (general color temp of the 6 leds inside). So no matter how beautiful the spectrum of color a slide may have, you will not be able to capture it. And any adjustment in an editing photo program afterward -so little it can do.
This did the purchase in, and I was expecting SO little to begin with.
What got me to return it even faster? The sharpness is pretty bleak. I wasn't expecting even okay definition from great slides!!!
Thirdly, when I put in some standard photos in the supplied frames, one of them casts a shadow along one edge. Nothing you can do about that. Lastly, in using the neg/slide tray, there is no guide to help the opposing end to stick out of the scanner. You send it in and you literally have to wave it around like a bat for it find the support slot (you end-up having to peer in and try to line it up). Once finding the slot, you have to give it a hardy push-slap to get it through because it is too tight. What a hassle.
I think if Ion had used two different kinds of light (the slides reproductions have significant low-high light imbalances irregardless of original also), this "box" may have been worth it. That and a little extra plastic for a guide to help the slide tray. Three little extra considerations would have made this albeit cheaply priced gizmo worth it. But alas no. And please, downloading the software is not going to help you. The fact that in getting the app, you can also BUY an upgraded version would just add insult to injury.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars horrible product, July 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ion ISC31 iPics 2 Go Photo Slide and Negative Scanner for iPhone 4/4S (Office Product)
i had a lot of problems with this thing.. i edited a bunch of photos and only 2 actually saved to my phone, i felt like i wasted hours.. not worth the buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So easy! I love it, June 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ion ISC31 iPics 2 Go Photo Slide and Negative Scanner for iPhone 4/4S (Office Product)
So easy! I love it! Great way to get all those old photos on your phone & then to your computer. Can do it while sitting on the sofa watching the boob tube and not standing in your home office.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.