Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ABOUT TIME, "ICE BLUES" IS FINALLY RELEASED!
On this board, I have made no secret of my high regard for the "film noir" type" Donald Strachey detective films". I simply adore the Donald Strachey mysteries along with the character of super-tough. detective (private investigator) Donald Strachey as marvelously played by Chad Allen along with the character of his life-partner (boyfriend) as wonderfully played by...
Published on November 14, 2010 by GEORGE RANNIE

versus
2 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ted
A true sleeper. I usually find most things rated 5-star to be worthwhile. Disregard the reommendations of the previous reviewers. Unless you have insomnia. Then buy this DVD - you'll sleep soundly the whole night through.
Published on April 14, 2011 by Ted


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ABOUT TIME, "ICE BLUES" IS FINALLY RELEASED!, November 14, 2010
By 
GEORGE RANNIE "GWRJWMCL" (DENVER, COLORADO United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ice Blues - A Donald Strachey Mystery (DVD)
On this board, I have made no secret of my high regard for the "film noir" type" Donald Strachey detective films". I simply adore the Donald Strachey mysteries along with the character of super-tough. detective (private investigator) Donald Strachey as marvelously played by Chad Allen along with the character of his life-partner (boyfriend) as wonderfully played by Sebastian Spence. Their relationship, to me, is so marvelous being filled with lots of love, loyalty, and humor. This fourth release of "Ice Blues" has been eagerly awaited by me and I am NOT disappointed. "Ice Blues" is yet another very, very good Detective/mystery film. If anything, it's the very best so far and that is saying a lot because all have been fantastic.

Indeed "Ice Blues" is a very riveting Detective/murder/mystery film on one (1) disc running 84 minutes. The film finds Strachey and his partner, Tim Callahan along with Strachey's office manager(and would-be crime-solving partner), Kenney confronting some very unsavory characters including crooked lewyers, dope dealers, child pornographers all willing to maim Strachey and Tim to get some money back that was given to Strachey's boyfriend Tim for a "good" cause. Tim gets to "play" detective and as a result is in "mortal danger" with Don Strachey, of course, coming to his rescue in his usual very tough manner. Yes, this film kept me well entertained with its fabulous "Peter Gunn" type soundtrack. Sepia-toned film color, shadowy filmed figures, wonderful direction and, most of all, great acting. I am just glad that the "powers that be" finally released "Ice Blues" in this country because it entertained me greatly. I loved this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, December 10, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ice Blues - A Donald Strachey Mystery (DVD)
This is a fine addition to the series. It's well acted by a good looking sexy cast. The story line is as good as any mystery. I'm a bing fan of the Donald Stachey Mystery series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie!, November 17, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ice Blues - A Donald Strachey Mystery (DVD)
I got this movie quickly and it completes my collection of Donald Strachey detective movies. Chad Allen is perfect as Donald Strachey and Sebastian Spence does a great job as Donald Strachey's partner. I have been waiting for movies like these my whole life. Having them now is more exciting than the best christmas I have ever had. I highly recommend this movie. It has great acting and a great story with a bit of everything that makes movies great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ice Blues, November 30, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ice Blues - A Donald Strachey Mystery (DVD)
This is another Donals Strachey movie that follows along in the tradition of the previous ones. Once again the two lead characters are so believeable it is hard to believe that the actor playing Timothy is not gay. I recommend not only this movie but the series to all who like mysteries. I purchase each one just as soon as they are released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the series so far!, January 9, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ice Blues - A Donald Strachey Mystery (DVD)
I have looked forward to all of the productions in this series, and this last one ws the best yet. I had read all the novels years ago and I'm not sure why they chose the order of the productions, but I especially liked the developement of the relationship of the main characters. The emphasis on their personal life and their respect and trust of each other was inspiring. Great role models not seen enough in main stream media presentations. I only hope they can figure out a way to continue with future installments!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good mystery and good performances, August 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ice Blues - A Donald Strachey Mystery (DVD)
how terrific is Chad Allen? Very terrific, especially playing this character which he seems to have made his own and totally owns. As always the mystery is a good one and the story is a good one. Lots of money is given to Chad's partner and no one is jure where it came from and everyone is out to get it back. I usually like Chad's partner to play more in the background but he had his moments in this, shovel to the face, for instance. Sometimes, though, he is annoying...keep then money??? Really??? Chad's assistant is terrific, great character and very well played.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a gay mystery, January 12, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ice Blues - A Donald Strachey Mystery (DVD)
A couple, a private detective and government employee get involved with some doggy donators for a givernment idea. They are in the firing line and are concerned about their own safety.

A interesting and good plot well orth watching
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DVD - Donald Strachey Mystery, March 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ice Blues - A Donald Strachey Mystery (DVD)
Arrived on time and I love the old time feel of the Strachey mysteries. Richardson's characters are a detective & political worker who happen to be Gay and also in love, long term.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ice Blues, February 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ice Blues - A Donald Strachey Mystery (DVD)
I really enjoy the Donald Strachey Mysteries. They are well crafted and always have some surprise revelation to add into the continuing stories involving Donald Strachey P.I. I hope they will make more of these movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Canadian Film Board, February 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ice Blues - A Donald Strachey Mystery (DVD)
Thank God for the Canadian Film Board because Hollywood rarely makes gay characters look respectful and ordinary. Chad Allen and Sebastian Spence are a perfectly ordinary but good looking couple loaded with sex appeal and pizzaz. I fell in love with mystery books and movies a few years ago because it feels so good to relate to gay heroes like Michael Nava's "Henry Rios", John Morgan Wilson's "Benjamin Justice" and Richard Stevenson's "Donald Strachey".

Strachey, Nava and Justice are intelligent, courageous, sweet, tough, sexy and flawed. What more could you ask for?

I only wish here! had made more movies to view because I haven't found any more gay detectives on dvd. HEAR HERE!

Oh, the jazzy soundtrack is kicking! thanks to music by Peter Allen and Vincent Mai.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Ice Blues - A Donald Strachey Mystery
Ice Blues - A Donald Strachey Mystery by Ron Oliver (DVD - 2010)
$24.98 $14.66
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.