Professional restaurant supplies Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Gifts for Mom to look and feel great Made in Italy Amazon Gift Card Offer out2 out2 out2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Spring Arrivals in Outdoor Clothing Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars19
5 star
74%
4 star
26%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$11.27+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 5, 2011
I bought 2 copies and will probably buy more, because Ice Cream is a perfect gift of a book. Its photos, artwork and illustrations make it beautiful to look at, and the writing makes it a fun and fascinating read. Full of interesting quotes, cultural references, and well-researched facts, Ice Cream tells the rather surprising story of the frozen confection's beginnings and forever appeal, covering continents, recipes, and anecdotes in its wide sweep.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 24, 2011
Ice cream is evocative. Everyone has a story about it, a cherished family memory, a personal experience or an ongoing search to find the perfect frozen confection. If you've never known who to thank for inventing, marketing or improving this wonderful treat you have to read this book. From Marco Polo to HoJos; Jefferson Thomas to Ben & Jerry's this book draws you in from beginning to end. I lapped it up with a spoon.
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2012
Delicious! (I couldn't help it!) What's more fun than learning about the world's favorite dessert, savoring the history of the cold concoction, indulging in bite-size facts about the frozen, creamy wonder? Catherine the Great an ice cream devotee? I should have guessed. Howard Johnson, despite the breadth of his motel/restaurant empire, always considered himself an ice cream man? Of course. The range of cultural, historical references in 'Ice Cream' is truly impressive. Reading it made me very happy -- and not a single calorie!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2012
Like all the books in The Edible Series, Ice Cream, is fun to read, well-researched, and lavishly illustrated -- but really, can there be anything more irresistible than ice cream? All of the Edible books contain recipes, and Ice Cream is true to form. It is filled with historic and modern treats that will keep me busy ( and cool) all summer.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2011
What an easy read this book was. Takes you through the history of ice cream through fun writing, pictures and illustrations. Timing for me to read couldn't have been better with current heat wave the US is facing!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2014
As most people do, I really like ice cream. This was a short and interesting informative book on the history of ice cream. I even got a recommendation out of it for a place to get excellent gelato on my recent trip to Rome.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2013
This enjoyable little book from the Edible series offers an interesting, worldwide look at ice cream, from its early days through its development in the U.S.

From the soda fountain and soda jerks through the popularization of the ice cream cone at the 1904 St Louis World's Fair through Good Humor ice cream trucks, Eskimo pies, Howard Johnson's, Baskin Robbins, and super premium brands such as Ben & Jerry's, probably anything anyone would want to know about ice cream history, along with information about mechanical advances, is in here. Also of interest are the variants on ice cream that people outside the U.S. enjoy.

An interesting book that left me craving ice cream. Yum!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2011
You'll never look at ice cream the same way again. This little gem of a book is everything you never dreamed there was to know about ice cream. It covers the fascinating history of this universal dessert favorite, long available only to the elite . The evolution of the process of acquiring and storing ice, the development of frozen confections from ice drinks in ancient times to the modern creations of Ben and Jerry's, the variations on the theme of ice cream concocted in different countries - all render the book richly informative and entertaining. The more ambitious reader will try some of the recipes provided at the end, and wonder how to get a recipe for the Japanese octopus flavored version.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 7, 2012
I loved reading Ice Cream: A Global History! It was as fast-paced as a "whodunit", filled with fascinating stories and facts (the invention of Eskimo Pies, why there are 31 Baskin and Robbin flavors, how the US Navy built a floating ice cream parlour during WWII, to name a few) -- and it brought back fond memories of summer evenings with all of us kids lined up at the Good Humour truck. I might even be inspired to try one of the recipes -- since I don't own an ice cream maker, it won't be the Roquefort and Honey Ice Cream (sounds so intriguing), so maybe a Purple Cow!!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 24, 2015
In her entertaining and very informative history, Laura Weiss captures not only the history of ice cream, from early ices to mass produced iced creams to today's artisan flavors (roquefort and honey, avocado), she also captures the spirit of the different times during which ice cream rose to become the global sensation and best seller that it is today. The images are wonderful, too. Long after my banana pecan ice cream cone has melted, I will still be perusing her book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse