Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun
Not an Academy Award winner but a fun B movie with alot of heart and entertainment for those who like adventure.
Published 11 months ago by M. Diaz

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars typical SyFy fare
This is your basic SyFy movie, take a remotely scientific idea and just run with it. The disaster scenes are the best ones, but the storyline doesn't really impress, and some of the actions in response to the cold were dumb, I'd know better what to if I was stuck in a place like this, and there's also the predictable rescue scene and cute pet that survives death. If...
Published on January 1, 2012 by M


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars typical SyFy fare, January 1, 2012
By 
M "Delicious Strawberry" (I wait behind the wall, gnawing away at your reality) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ice Quake (DVD)
This is your basic SyFy movie, take a remotely scientific idea and just run with it. The disaster scenes are the best ones, but the storyline doesn't really impress, and some of the actions in response to the cold were dumb, I'd know better what to if I was stuck in a place like this, and there's also the predictable rescue scene and cute pet that survives death. If you're bored and enjoy the cheesiness of SyFy movies, you should enjoy this one. I can't advise buying it unless you see it first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than the movie Arctic Blast, April 21, 2012
This review is from: Ice Quake (DVD)
I think this movie was much more entertaining and believable compared to the movie Arctic Blast with Michael Shanks (Stargate SG-1) in it. I think they both came out around the same time so im comparing the two. Both are disaster movies about ice/cold yea you get the jist. Both are B kind of movies, with some poor acting and dialogue. While the effects are somewhat better than the acting. While Arctic Blast the disaster was coming above to earth this one was coming from below and coming up.
See plots with what i mean with that:
Plot of Arctic Blast:
When a solar eclipse sends a colossal blast of super chilled air towards the earth, it then sets off a catastrophic chain of events that threatens to engulf the world in ice and begin a new Ice Age.
Plot of Ice Quake:
Beneath the Alaskan landscape, the melting permafrost is about to drastically alter the tranquil scenery. As the permafrost thaws, underground rivers of volatile liquid Methane are created, causing a succession of violent and destructive earthquakes. It's a race against time to stop the deadly rivers before they lead to a catastrophic explosion that threatens the planet.

Watching Arctic Blast I couldn't follow the science of it while this one i can so it made it much easier to believe and get sucked in. I enjoyed the effects especially the part when the ice geyser came up and frozen the helicopter which stopped it from functioning, came crashing down and exploded! Why didn't the kids go up the mountain along their parents. that way they still saw them and was still together. maybe just me but I wouldn't leave my kids to just stay there and go through the stuff that is happening when they don't know whats going on and when its going too. How did Jodelle's character Tia loose her brother so fast when she was getting more snow, don't get that its not like their was no tracks and he was wearing a red coat and i doubt he was actually really that far away and gone that far away from her in those seconds. The teenager scene at the ski lodge was stupid and could have been eliminated! Why is it in a lot of these kind of movies the women are bitching about their men's work?? They work with the government you think their job don't mean much than or what? you married them you should know what their job and everything about them entails its like really lady shut up and deal or why you get married to them? thats how i think anyway lol. Typical ending they stop the destruction, they get their christmas tree, and their dog back, family is strong once again and dada...happy ending lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun, March 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ice Quake [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Not an Academy Award winner but a fun B movie with alot of heart and entertainment for those who like adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is an awesome Movie!! :O), October 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ice Quake (DVD)
Excellent Movie!! Keeps you guessing!! Some of it is predictable but still a Great Movie to watch over & over!! :O)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Icey, March 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ice Quake (DVD)
Love the story with all the action you can give like this one, Partying for the Christmas going to chop down their tree ready for the next day, Than the fun begins a huge ice shelf has hit the water causing shockwaves to create mass avalanches and ice geysers which have left large cracks in the land. Sound exciting well I'll give you a hint it is, The actors and cast did a fantastic role making me freeze while watching this show but I must admit I did enjoy so I rated this an A grade plus. Full of surprises plus a lot of suspense and fulfilling entertainment, No more hints as not to spoil the movie. So what else do you need go for it.Relax feet up and be the judge for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ice Quake, January 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ice Quake (DVD)
The move was very intense and the acting was great. We would recommend this to those who like thrillers.

.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dumb dumb dumb, January 6, 2012
By 
This review is from: Ice Quake (DVD)
We rented a family friendly movie (Kung Fu Panda 2) and received this rental movie free. It is a painful movie to watch. The dialog is unbelievable, the plot is completely predictable, the acting is poor. We spent time duration of the movie poking fun at all the stupid things we watched and there were plenty.

I generally try to leave positive reviews on products but this one was so bad, I had to say something.

In one scene, the headquarters loses power (backup power comes on) due to a large tremor. Stuff inside the building falls all over the place, leaving the building in bit of a mess. Shortly later, however, all the books are nicely stacked - the Christmas cookies are even arranged nicely again...

In another scene, the back end of a military truck gets blown up into the air. Naturally the family in the back is hardly hurt (one girl breaks a leg) but the poor tough military person sitting in the front is knocked out completely. The mom (sitting in the back) gets out of the back and is able to drive the vehicle (stick shift).

Listen for the squealing tires on a gravel road... The kid walks away from his sister on the mountain without saying a word to her even though they are in a traumatic situation...

It was just so poorly done that it was very hard not to poke fun at it throughout really turning this into a poor comedy. We don't watch many movies so maybe we are just aren't numb to stupidity like this.

On a positive note, it is fairly family friendly with just a few swear words in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This one is fun, December 6, 2014
By 
Robert A. Bowers "Bowers" (Chicago, Illinois United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ice Quake (DVD)
This one is fun, with special effects that are more believable than most SyFy movies. OK, we're not talking Carl Sagen or Albert Einstein level scientists here, but it's possible to accept this situation within it's format and the action keeps coming fast and furious. I also liked Victor Garber's military man, who isn't the usual cardboard villain attempting to do damage control on the bad situation to avoid blame and keep his own job. Nice also to avoid the cliche of parents on the verge of divorce who are pulled close again by surviving the disasters. This family has moderately whiny kids but a basically good family structure that didn't need to be rebuilt. Nice! I find this kind of film a great popcorn movie, just sit back, put my mind in neutral, and watch the disasters fly thick and fast. This movie delivers the goods on that level; I'll watch it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ice quake blueray, January 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ice Quake [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
i got this movie ice quake this is a very good movie dont listin to what others say. you will enjoy this movie so buy it the blueray is great color is brite and the sound is excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, January 6, 2012
By 
Dufus (Lom Poc, California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ice Quake (DVD)
Enjoyable for what it is. Fairly good acting and effects. However, one major problem is that the military controlled all the actions and police functions. No call was ever made to the police, sheriff, mayor or governor. This, of course, is a violation of the Posse Comitatus Act of 1878.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Ice Quake
Ice Quake by Paul Ziller (DVD - 2012)
$14.98 $8.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.