Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Just once I wish they'd discover diamonds in Hawaii."
In a remote region of Alaska, men are willing to blast for diamonds where no men have dared blast before. For their hubris, they get some uninvited company in the form of a fabulously crappy piece of CGI monster lizard thingy with a taste for people. Naturally, their fearless leader is a cowardly chicken unwilling to help any of his workers save their lives. "You're...
Published 15 months ago by Einsatz

versus
19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Talk About Terrible Road Conditions! Satisfying SyFy Silliness Sold By Solid Lead Performances
4 stars: Lovers of Cheesy SyFy Fare
2 stars: Everyone Else

Looking for all the excitement of the hit series "Ice Road Truckers" combined with the prehistoric mayhem of "Land of the Lost?" That's just what the SyFy Channel serves up with "Ice Road Terror." As with most SyFy fare, "Ice Road Terror" might be an acquired taste. It certainly isn't meant to...
Published 19 months ago by K. Harris


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Talk About Terrible Road Conditions! Satisfying SyFy Silliness Sold By Solid Lead Performances, May 17, 2013
This review is from: Ice Road Terror (DVD)
4 stars: Lovers of Cheesy SyFy Fare
2 stars: Everyone Else

Looking for all the excitement of the hit series "Ice Road Truckers" combined with the prehistoric mayhem of "Land of the Lost?" That's just what the SyFy Channel serves up with "Ice Road Terror." As with most SyFy fare, "Ice Road Terror" might be an acquired taste. It certainly isn't meant to be taken seriously. I watch a lot of SyFy movies (my secret, or not so secret, shame) and usually anticipate the worst. Occasionally, though, I'm pleasantly rewarded. If you're expecting genuine thrills or horror when you check into these low budget projects, you'll probably ALWAYS be disappointed. If, however, you're content to have some brainless fun and a few chuckles, then some of these movies really hit the mark. For my taste, "Ice Road Terror" offers a surprising amount of silly fun. For a network renowned for truly horrible movies, this cheesy epic ranks higher than I might have thought based on the title. It helps immeasurably to have a solid cast of veterans (Ty Olsson, Dylan Neal, Michael Hogan, and Brea Grant) selling this schlock as if the fate of the world depended on their actions. All have worked with the SyFy brand in past projects, and their commitment to this material truly elevates it.

The creature rears his head quite early in "Ice Road Terror." A diamond mine in the Alaskan tundra accidentally unearths a prehistoric beast from beneath the ice. I'd have thought it would be grateful, but instead he wreaks havoc on his human liberators! At precisely the same moment, two long haul truckers (Olsson and Neal) are preparing a cross country trek to resupply the camp. Conveniently, for every SyFy film needs a love interest, a plucky environmentalist (Grant) is along for the ride. Needless to say, the movie really kicks into gear when they arrive at their destination and come face to face with the destructive lizard. The rest of the movie plays out like a frantic chase as all of the survivors race across treacherous terrain to evade the marauding beast. Yes, it does chase them across hundreds of miles! Why not? It's been alone for a very long time! Before it's all over, an epic confrontation is staged at an isolated cabin where not everyone is likely to survive. But can the monster be stopped?

"Ice Road Terror," as I mentioned, is not intended to be a great movie. The CGI monster effects are questionable. Some may hate them, but I thought they had charm. The deaths are handled well by SyFy standards and the pacing is kept up throughout. There is plenty of clunky dialogue and corny moments, but it fits well into the overall tone of the piece. Again, I really liked the cast. They sell this at every opportunity and that's what makes this much more fun than I had expected. If you're on the fence about a DVD purchase, you can look for this to rerun on the TV network. But I enjoyed this B-movie nonsense and recommend it for the interplay between Olsson, Neal, and Grant. They're just so darn likable. KGHarris, 5/13.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Another awesome dvd cover to a lousey movie, July 30, 2013
By 
Michael Scott "Sailfin Dragon" (San Antonio, Tx United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ice Road Terror (DVD)
What I thought would be a pretty cool movie at least judging from the cover turned out to be the worst cgi lizard creature or any creature I"ve ever seen setting cgi effects back about 15 years. I was hoping to see a pretty good Sc-Fy film but that went down the toilet as soon as the creature crawled out of the hole it was sealed up in after being blown open with explosives which should have been able to have dug itself out a long time ago with those claws. The only reason I bought this is seeing the other 3 reviewers who saw it and seemed to like it for some reason but they must easily be entertained and from what I read about films like this is that most of them are pretty sorry. Also, if they can't show whats on the cover of the box, then they shouldn't release films like this and I should get my money back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Just once I wish they'd discover diamonds in Hawaii.", September 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ice Road Terror (DVD)
In a remote region of Alaska, men are willing to blast for diamonds where no men have dared blast before. For their hubris, they get some uninvited company in the form of a fabulously crappy piece of CGI monster lizard thingy with a taste for people. Naturally, their fearless leader is a cowardly chicken unwilling to help any of his workers save their lives. "You're already dead." (And half the man you used to be.) There's nothing to be done but feed this thing. Enter two truckers and the obligatory love interest. They're hauling explosives. It's uncharacteristically warm for that time of year. Road conditions are terrible but they couldn't very well name this movie Slush Road Terror. They make a run for it. The stakes are high (something to do with a crappy trophy, I think). Dylan Neal was the only actor I recognized and no, the layered look didn't do him any favors! (You already know the camera puts on ten pounds, why would you then wear 75 shirts and a vest.) Just saying.

Nothing about this movie is new or unusual; it's pretty much what you'd expect from a monster movie. The creature looks cartoony at all times. There are no surprises. It plays it safe by sticking with clichés. I found its familiarity very comforting; it's a no-brainer. I can easily watch this kind of movie multiple times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Go Movie, November 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I really liked this movie. It was predictable in spots but it was very different from other B movies. Worth renting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's a terror, alright, November 3, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ice Road Terror (DVD)
To have been a movie made within the last couple of years, the ice creature was pretty sorry looking. I did enjoy the fact that it was introduced early on, but it really moved fast for such a big creature. It seemed pretty smart and determined as well. Even smarter than most of the actors, ha! Still, I enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Ray Harryhausen is rolling in his grave!, September 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I'm not a fan of a lot of CGI generated creatures. Yet, there are films with very good CGI generated monsters. This film isn't one of them. Willis H. O'Brien and the great Ray Harryhausen would be appalled at the juvenile euphoria represented by all the lucky stars that this ridiculously inept, "made-for-cable" film has received. Even their old stop-motion animation is far superior, and often more biologically accurate than this. Any real creature with the biomorphic movements of this poor CGI creation would have died after it had taken its very first breaths of life! Only in a child's imagination could such a creature survive millennia underground, not to mention feed itself so ferociously, as this robotic "ice slug" seems to be able to do. This creature moves so slowly that the actors, in an attempt to appear to be "running" from something akin to a Velociraptor, literally have to be caught and eaten "off camera." We just see human "remains" flying around (thrown about by the film crew) while this pathetic CGI mutation manages to lumber along at a turtle's pace chasing down even a semi-trailer truck! I am not suggesting by any means that anyone should not watch it - especially if one likes comedy - but just don't expect much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mild Terror, September 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ice Road Terror (DVD)
Very different and a bit too far fetched in some parts. The parts were well played including the monster but things just didn't fit in, like coming up through the road to get dinner or should I say the victim. Hiding in the snow from the beast when he knew exactly where to find everyone else, Okay this show is okay to watch but it's not a masterpiece. The story isn't to bad and if there is nothing on television or left at the video shop than this will have to do. The rating I gave this is an B grade and that was pushing it. I know we all make mistakes and I don't mind admitting it occasionally but down the track I will watch it again for punishment. You might like it more than me and this is only my view so gather up the popcorn put your feet up and relax to a night of entertainment with Ice Road Terror for a change. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining Monster Flick, fun night out., July 31, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ice Road Terror (DVD)
An entertaining B monster flick. Good acting and you get a lizard style dinosaur instead of the usual T-Rex. Of course there are flaws, but that's why it is a B movie. Like stabbing a woman with his tail, sorry wrong animal, just something they do in these films I guess. Two top
drivers are making one last drive to a mining set with two trucks loaded with explosives, only to find everyone dead. Killed by a giant lizard that they had unearthed. Then it becomes a race to get away from the monster. (Myself, with two trucks full of explosives, I would have used them on the monster, but then the movie would have been too short and there is a reason I am not a director). Worth the fun of watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Popcorn and a soda time-waster. Loved it!, June 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ice Road Terror (DVD)
These SyFy-Channel movies-of-the week are ALWAYS enjoyable...to ME, anyway.
I know that this [type of] movie will never get an Emmy or an Academy Award. Seems
NOTHING that
I
enjoy get awards.
I like video-entertainment such as "THE WALKING DEAD", and "SUPERNATURAL".
Just because this movie's LOGIC, PLOT and/or SFX are NOT "seamless" doesn't mean
the entertainment ISN'T.
I bought my movie; popped my corn; popped the top on my Diet Coke... and hit PLAY=>!

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This one wont leave you feeling cold! (.....sorry about that), October 27, 2014
By 
SaintPendulous (Council Bluffs Iowa) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ice Road Terror (DVD)
A Giant ancient LIZARD is unearthed during a mining expedition....in the frozen tundra off the Ice Roads. The monster tears through the people at the mining camp and follows the main characters down the ice road erupting from underneath like a seal from the ice. The acting is pretty good I have to say but the animation isn't so great. The graphics are good enough to keep you interested but not the best in the world.

9.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Ice Road Terror
Ice Road Terror by Terry Ingram (DVD - 2013)
$6.95 $4.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.