Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars above average B film
as a devotee of 50s sci-fi, this reviewer has rather a soft spot for B or made for TV films especially in the science fiction genre. It always occurs to me that the director, actors and crew are probably grateful for the opportunity and very often their hard work, within the constraints of a tight budget and schedule, are very much in evidence. Admittedly in this movie...
Published on April 2, 2010 by Russ

versus
29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Standard Made-For-TV Science Fiction Flick
This SyFy Channel original film is neither outstanding nor awful; it's about what you'd expect for a movie made for television.

Since Amazon doesn't offer a synopsis, here's the rundown: The Federal Science Foundation has developed a means for creating storms, only their first major experiment goes wrong; the result are tornados that freeze everything in their...
Published on February 14, 2010 by Compay


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Standard Made-For-TV Science Fiction Flick, February 14, 2010
By 
Compay (New Orleans, LA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ice Twisters (DVD)
This SyFy Channel original film is neither outstanding nor awful; it's about what you'd expect for a movie made for television.

Since Amazon doesn't offer a synopsis, here's the rundown: The Federal Science Foundation has developed a means for creating storms, only their first major experiment goes wrong; the result are tornados that freeze everything in their path. Enter Charlie Price (played by Mark Moses of Mad Men and Desperate Housewives), a former scientist turned fiction writer, whose novels generally involve weather disasters. Price finds himself pitting his scientific and writing knowledge against an impending weather nightmare that threatens nearby cities.

The good news is that the majority of the cast are heavily experienced in television, so the acting is decent compared to most straight to video movies. Charlie Price's dry humor keeps the dialogue moving, though not especially interesting. The movie also deals with a competitive dynamic between Price and a younger scientist, though a subplot introduced between them is never returned to by the film's end.

While the movie's concept is somewhat original, the film overall is average in every respect. If you're a fan of science fiction movies, this would make for an adequate rental on a slow afternoon. I can't see anyone actually buying the DVD, though, unless they're a big fan of Mark Moses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars above average B film, April 2, 2010
By 
This review is from: Ice Twisters (DVD)
as a devotee of 50s sci-fi, this reviewer has rather a soft spot for B or made for TV films especially in the science fiction genre. It always occurs to me that the director, actors and crew are probably grateful for the opportunity and very often their hard work, within the constraints of a tight budget and schedule, are very much in evidence. Admittedly in this movie liberties are taken with science and some of the actors' reactions (to 'cgi shot to be inserted here' scenes) are a little underplayed but on the whole this is a good, tight 'renegade weather' movie that held my attention from the first to the last minute. A poor relation to 2012 it may be but it proves a huge budget is not required to produce an entertaining sci-fi film and in a comparison of dialogue and character rendition with 2012 for me Ice Twisters wins hands down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ice Twister, August 25, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ice Twisters (DVD)
An other movie that show what can happen when man tinkers with the weather, they may think they are helping but if it goes wrong this movie shows what can happen. I don't say this could happen but a possablety good special afects and story .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ice Twisters, June 28, 2010
By 
Lynn Holloman (Merrillville, IN United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ice Twisters (DVD)
Good movie - lots of action. I have watched it at least 3 times in the last few weeks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Enjoyable!, September 23, 2011
By 
Dufus (Lom Poc, California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ice Twisters (DVD)
Better-than-average disaster flick with some very good special effects. The "crunch" at the beginning was worth it all! Good acting and good music score really make this add up to a good movie. If you like disaster flicks, you WILL like this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Disaster collector must have, July 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ice Twisters (DVD)
Disaster collections. Great movie to add to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good storyline and special effects, February 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ice Twisters (DVD)
The storyline, acting, and special effects were all really good. Not extremely realistic, but a good movie none the less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Solid B+ Movie From SyFy, February 13, 2014
This review is from: Ice Twisters (DVD)
I love terrible, made-for-tv disaster/sci-fi movies, and the ones on SyFy are always my favorite. So of course I had to watch this. It's pretty much "Twister" mixed with some "The Day After Tomorrow", plus the usual "someone was experimenting with the weather and totally screwed up" scenario. As such, my expectations weren't high, and I was pleasantly surprised by how watchable it was.

-The acting was fairly decent considering the low budget. There were a few scenes that didn't seem to flow very well, and quite a few lines that were delivered woodenly but overall it was bearable.
-The FX weren't great but they weren't bad either. They were about what you would expect. There were a few scenes that I had to laugh at because the CGI was cheesy, but that actually made the movie more enjoyable.
-The psuedo-science plot line had quite a few holes and didn't make a lot of sense sometimes (ok, most of the time), but what can you expect? It's a made-for-tv movie from the SyFy Channel, so you can't expect a big-budget production with science that makes sense all of the time.
-A rather family friendly movie with little profanity, blood, or violence. There are a few scenes with the twisters and frozen bodies that probably wouldn't be suitable for younger kids but otherwise it's not nearly as bad as other movies I've seen that are in the same genre.

Overall this is probably one of the top 3 movies I've seen from SyFy. So long as you're expectations are fair and you don't nitpick the movie apart, you'll enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a good movie, February 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ice Twisters (DVD)
This movie is well done, still a little unbelievable, but good entertainment. The plot was good and it had some good actors. over all this is a movie that I will watch again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars interesting movie, January 6, 2014
This review is from: Ice Twisters (DVD)
it shows the word McMinnville, layfette, and other towns near mac, it also shows canby. not many movies show the word McMinnville in it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Ice Twisters
Ice Twisters by Steven R. Monroe (DVD - 2010)
Used & New from: $10.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.