Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Icon
Being a Swayze fan and being sad about his health, and now his death, I was looking for some of his work I had not seen. The customer reviews of this movie spiked my interest. It is a very good movie, but it is long so plan the time to watch it accordingly. Swayze's charcter in this movie is similar to his character in his last work, "The Beast", which aired last...
Published on September 18, 2009 by A. Hudson

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good action movie
The movie was worth watching -
only problem was - the Bonus movie Holcroft Covenant is no where to be found
Published on December 21, 2009 by Alana L. Bright


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Icon, September 18, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Icon (DVD)
Being a Swayze fan and being sad about his health, and now his death, I was looking for some of his work I had not seen. The customer reviews of this movie spiked my interest. It is a very good movie, but it is long so plan the time to watch it accordingly. Swayze's charcter in this movie is similar to his character in his last work, "The Beast", which aired last season on A&E TV (exceptional work). My husband and I watched it together and both enjoyed it. We will keep it in our home media library to enjoy again. I recommend it both as a good movie and to Swayze fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast Paced Political Thriller, October 14, 2005
This review is from: Icon (DVD)
Based on Frederick Forsyth's novel "Icon", this Hallmark production has a large and excellent international cast, car chases, gun battles, and the latest in espionage gizmos. What is truly wonderful is the scenic, bustling, city of Moscow used as a backdrop for this story of terrorist activity in connection with political gain, in the midst of a presidential campaign. It is a city we rarely see in current films, and makes this above average TV miniseries a delight to watch.

The sometimes improbable plot is complex with many twists and turns, and concerns 2 candidates for the presidency, Igor Komarov (Patrick Bergin) and General Nikolayev (Joss Ackland), and the devious methods used by one of them to win. Sir Nigel Irvine of the British Embassy (Michael York) gets ex-CIA man Jason Monk (Patrick Swayze in a marvelous performance) to uncover the truth, and he teams up with his old friend Viktor (Steven Spiers) and investigator Sonija (Annika Peterson). Others in the cast include Barry Morse as the current Russian president, Jeff Fahey as a political consultant, and Ben Cross as a thuggish ex-KGB man. Directed by Charles Martin Smith, with terrific cinematography by David Connell and an atmospheric score by Mark Kilian and Daniel Licht, this is a lavish production, and highly entertaining.

The DVD package contains the full 3 hour 2-part miniseries, and comes with 2 discs, 1 with a wide screen version, the other with full screen. Bonus features include "The Making of 'Icon'", which has a short interview with Swayze and otherwise just follows the cast and crew as they are filming, with no commentary. Those who enjoyed Cold War spy thrillers will like this "modern day" film about Russian politics and intrigue
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ICON, May 1, 2009
This review is from: Icon (DVD)
It was interesting to see how one person could try and control a country for his own benefit. To try and wipe out the different nationality that he felt did not belong in Russia. how people came together to stop this disaster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Icon, May 18, 2009
By 
Sandra Swan (Milton Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Icon (DVD)
This is a fast paste and interesting TV movie. The intigue and action kept my interest from start to finish. The acting is superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ICON, May 15, 2009
By 
Donna Gatlin (Richardson, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Icon (DVD)
I'm a huge Patrick Swayze fan but this movie is one that you have to keep up with and the ending is a surprise. Great action, mystery type movie. I would add this one to my collection even if Patrick was not in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FINEST PATRICK SWAYZE MOVIE, September 23, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Icon (DVD)
I own just about all of
Patrick Swayze's movies and
this is by far the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Icon, February 3, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Icon (DVD)
this dvd arrived on time and was in excellant condition, I would recommendtthis dvd for anyone that likes Patrick Swazye
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good action movie, December 21, 2009
The movie was worth watching -
only problem was - the Bonus movie Holcroft Covenant is no where to be found
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ICON, October 8, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Icon (DVD)
I had never seen this movie before I purchased it. It was an excellent movie all the way through. I'm a big Patrick Swayze fan and he did a excellent job in this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent International Thriller, October 31, 2007
By 
C. Fischer (Bloomington, IN United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Icon (DVD)
First of all, yes the main baddie was a Russian, but to bring him down required not only Patrick Swayze's character, Monk, but also the woman agent of the FSB and also Monk's Russian friend. What's more, a Russian general is portrayed as a hero to his country, both past (his refusal to butcher Chechneyans) and in present (he orders the troops not to fire on the demonstrators). Also there were two morally ambiguous to downright evil Americans involved in the plot as well. As for Patrick Swayze being 50, get over it - he handled his action scenes quite well. All in all an enjoyable mini-series from Hallmark/Forsythe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Icon
Icon by Charles Martin Smith (DVD - 2005)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.