Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Reproductions of Paintings + insightful text!
This is "Icon," which is book one of three, all of which are now available. Even though all three discuss all eras of his life and career, this Icon book is probably the best one to start with, since it shows many of the works that made him famous.
This book has a bunch of the Edgar Rice Burroughs paperback cover paintings, (Tarzan, John Carter of Mars,...
Published on January 14, 2002 by Bryan E. Leed

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Content, Bad Manufacturing
For the content, I would definately give this book 5 stars. Unfortunatley, as soon as I opened up the book to look at it, the back binding came completely apart. I'm not going to go to the trouble of mailing it back to Amazon (and paying for the postage) so I glued it back myself. What a pain. It seems alright now, but it was a big hassle. The manuafacturers should...
Published on July 28, 2005 by amster


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Reproductions of Paintings + insightful text!, January 14, 2002
This is "Icon," which is book one of three, all of which are now available. Even though all three discuss all eras of his life and career, this Icon book is probably the best one to start with, since it shows many of the works that made him famous.
This book has a bunch of the Edgar Rice Burroughs paperback cover paintings, (Tarzan, John Carter of Mars, etc.), and Conan the Barbarian covers, too. The text explains how the Frazetta paintings on the paperback book covers were responsible for outrageously high sales of these paperback books. This is probably what Frazetta is most famous for, these paperback covers that started a trend of sci-fi fantasy paintings that were as brutally dangerous as they are beautifully painted.
This book discusses Frank Frazetta's early childhood art, how he got into illustrating and comic books, comic strip work ghosting Lil' Abner for Al Capp, being wooed by Hollywood stars, doing movie posters during different decades, etc.
All three books discuss the same eras, but with different details and commentary from different friends and associates. There are also plenty of insightful quotes from Frank in all three books, which explain his outlook concerning his artwork and doing business with his artwork over 5 decades.
I remember Frazetta best for his Molly Hatchet album covers, which are both in this "Icon" book, but they are credited to the original paperback covers that they were first commisioned for, so Molly Hatchet is not mentioned.
To me, a kid in the 1970's, Frazetta was recognized as an expert in his own category, but his work was not common to come across. So I am very pleased with all three books in this trilogy, that finally brings most of his career together in three nicely made art books.
All three of these books are very informative and nice additions to any fans personal library. If you like Frazetta at all, then you should be quite pleased with "Icon," "Legacy," and "Testament."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A detail biography of Frank Frazetta and his works, April 25, 2009
This review is from: Icon: A Retrospective by the Grand Master of Fantastic Art (Paperback)
Length:: 0:22 Mins

Frank Frazetta probably needs no introduction. The images that come to my mind straightaway are the almost perfect anatomy drawings of warriors and women.

This book is a biography of Frank Frazetta looking at the illustrations he created throughout his career. It is really humbling to read how he rose from a kid drawing strange title like "The Elephant who wouldn't help" to the famous series of Conan. There are lots of interesting things to read like his working relationships with editors, his choice of keeping all his prints or how he learned anatomy in a day.

The illustrations included are comics from his childhood, movie posters, book covers and paintings. Towards the end, the paintings are given larger print space each with the story behind the creation.

Fans of Frank Frazetta should probably save a space on your shelf for this book.

(More pictures are available on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to improve on the original, October 27, 2003
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Icon: A Retrospective by the Grand Master of Fantastic Art (Paperback)
My last review was much too long. Here's a new take: how do you improve on something as beautiful as the original Icon? Simple. Add more art, and more pages. Fill the pages from one corner to the next with more art. Put it in a sturdy softcover binding and charge less for more. If you don't know who Frank Frazetta is this is your chance to discover a master artist. Add some dazzling images and powerful designs to your bookshelf by buying this book. His work is provacative, emotional, and has an uncompromising impact on those who view it. From the primal strength of his Conan paintings to the erotic beauty of his defiant women, it's the vitality of his art that makes it distinctive.Discover Frank Frazetta with this new book.Rediscover his incredible range if all you have are his old books from the seventies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frazetta's Icon: Beautiful Life and Death in Fantasy Art, September 1, 2000
By 
David Ullery (Payson, Utah, United States) - See all my reviews
Frazetta can capture life better than any camera. His images are more than alive they are surreal. The action and movement leap off the page. The women are more beautiful and voluptuous than any you may ever meet or dream of. The men are believable in their musculature, stance and prowess, and are harder than a rock. His beasts and cats are more tawny, serpentine and ferocious than any fantasy author or movie maker could conjure up. His armor is harder and more metallic than seems possible. And its all here in "Icon".
Frazetta can lead your eye and cause you to see what he wants you to see. His structure and framing are flawless. Frazetta does not paint posed characters in heroic staged scenes. Frazetta takes a snap shot of life in its most vivid and lush moving existence, or in its near death harshness and puts it on canvas. Even his non-moving figures fairly ripple with life and energy. And you can see examples of it all in "Icon".
Their are only two perfect matches in the art world and they both have the master Frank Frazetta as the second component. The first is author Edgar Rice Burroughs and the second is Robert E. Howard's Conan. Frazetta made Burroughs' work come to life in beautiful, brutish livid reality. Frazetta made Conan the beleivable, powerful, war-torn thug he was. Almost all of these pieces are contained in "Icon".
I wish I were a Frazetta hero and could rescue and succor a Frazetta female. But, since I can't I'll just have to settle down in my easy chair and browse through "Icon" again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fabulous collection with never before published work!, August 6, 1998
Frank Frazetta is by far the greatest fantasy illustrator of the last 50 years. His paintings are fit for the walls of any fine art museum. Icon is a wonderful book containing many of Franks finest and most famous works along with some never before seen art work from the master. This book is a must have for any fan of fantasy art. It contains interviews and information on many of Frazettas paintings with a wonderful insight to Franks life and legendary carear. Well printed and bound Icon will make a great addition to your coffee table. BUY THIS BOOK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What this book means to me as an artist, June 7, 2000
By 
Paul Simone (Fayetteville, GA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've admired Frank Frazetta's work for many many years. In this book I really studied his use of color. I'll look at a picture and then start to pick out color combinations - dark colors vs. light colors, warm color vs. cool color, complimentary colors, etc. How did he ever think of using this color with that color? Just a little dab will do it here and there. It's a real education.
The brushwork too is something to behold. The different techniques just on an old fallen tree or in a foot that vanishes into the ground colors. I love his green moss on trees and roots.
I have quite a few favorite artists. Most of them are illustrators. N.C. Wyeth (and only N.C.), Howard Pyle, Norman Rockwell, Alphonse Mucha, J.C. Leyendecker, Hal Foster (Prince Valiant), Walt Kelly (Pogo), Frederic Remington, Maxfield Parrish and a lot of the art that comes out of the Walt Disney Studios. With Mr. Frazetta's work it's everything and more; it's action, color and most important - it's passion. His passion comes through in his art with undeniable strength.
This is a great book showing some of the work of a great artist. You can't go wrong buying this book. As an artist, this book is a condensed course in how it can be done. A picture is worth a thousand words; this book speaks a whole language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Fantasy Master, February 18, 2008
When people think of fantasy artwork, they might think first of those Conan and Edgar Rice Burroughs paperback covers, or a berserker warrior on horseback, corpses of foes beneath him and dripping weapon above him. People think of Frazetta first, whether or not they know it's him they're thinking of. He's also done recognizable work for Mad magazine, Little Annie Fanny for Playboy, posters for Peter Sellers movies, and lots more.

Frazetta has done plenty of work in ink, especially for a range of comics, but his oil paintings are best known and most heavily represented here. It's easy to see how he became the inspiration for an entire generation of fantasy artists, and probably well into a second generation, too. No one captures the rippling sinews of barbarian warriors like Frazetta does, or beasts, half-men, dungeons, jungles, and every other fantasy-scape that he's rendered. Above all, no one comes close to the lush, rounded figures of his female characters. They can be warriors and wizards in their own right, or eldritch spirits, or even savable maidens. Some, as in "Moon's Rapture" or the standing figure in "Rogue Roman", show a rich and womanly figure at rest, but somehow promising as much raw physical power as any man.

I recommend this collection to anyone passionate about illustration or fantasy art. Any one of his paintings can be an entire course of study for a budding artist. They can also be seen as powerful narratives in imagery, or as a jumping-off point for dreams of far-away worlds and heroic adventures.

-- wiredweird
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Content, Bad Manufacturing, July 28, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Icon: A Retrospective by the Grand Master of Fantastic Art (Paperback)
For the content, I would definately give this book 5 stars. Unfortunatley, as soon as I opened up the book to look at it, the back binding came completely apart. I'm not going to go to the trouble of mailing it back to Amazon (and paying for the postage) so I glued it back myself. What a pain. It seems alright now, but it was a big hassle. The manuafacturers should go to more trouble to insure that their selling a quality product. This IS a coffee table book after all, which means that it is bound to see a lot a wear and tear over the years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just airbrushings on the side panels of creepy '70's vans..., June 19, 2006
This review is from: Icon: A Retrospective by the Grand Master of Fantastic Art (Paperback)
Frank Frazetta is the visionary master of dark, fantastic artwork; from his early days as a comic book artist to his heyday as a fantasy illustrator, he's quite possibly the most influential graphic artist of the twentieth century.

This collection is luxurious, covering each period of Frazetta's career in detail from his comic book days up to some of his most famous works: covers for the Conan paperbacks, and the John Carter, Warlord of Mars books. The illustrations will blow you away, and the book includes interviews and commentary from Frazetta himself. I can't recommend this book highly enough.

For a complete version of Frazetta as an art-history subject, I'd include the amazing DVD, Frazetta: Painting With Fire as well, which is about as close to meeting the legend as most of us will ever get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The cover came off!, June 26, 2007
Frazetta is great and this book is swell... however (as one other reviewer also experienced) the cover came off my book after I had it for only one week! I couldn't believe it! To credit of the publisher they did send me a replacement. I think I will buy the sequel now. Too bad it's only available in hardcover, but at least that way the cover is much less likely to fall off. As for the third book, it seems to be completely unavailable except to those who are willing to pay over a hundred dollars for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Icon: A Retrospective by the Grand Master of Fantastic Art
Icon: A Retrospective by the Grand Master of Fantastic Art by Frank Frazetta (Paperback - October 1, 2003)
Used & New from: $74.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.