Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best so far
Vital Remains does it again... and I'm actually glad this time they could keep the vocalist (it seems that in the past each Vital Remains album has had a different vocalist each time). This album is as fast and heavy as Dechristianize- Suzuki and Larazo are not getting soft on their listeners- and more... I know lots of people liked the classical guitar parts in Entwined...
Published on April 26, 2007 by Colin

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A great death metal album but a diminished effort from VR
I waited 4 years after the release of "Dechristianize" for Vital Remains's new album. We get "Icons of Evil" after all that waiting. Was it worth it? Not really. Tony Lazaro said this is their "Raining Blood" and that the predecessor was their "Hell Awaits". I couldn't disagree more. "Icons of Evil", while brutal enough, doesn't live up to the epic masterpiece that was...
Published on April 24, 2007 by Warheart


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best so far, April 26, 2007
This review is from: Icons of Evil (Audio CD)
Vital Remains does it again... and I'm actually glad this time they could keep the vocalist (it seems that in the past each Vital Remains album has had a different vocalist each time). This album is as fast and heavy as Dechristianize- Suzuki and Larazo are not getting soft on their listeners- and more... I know lots of people liked the classical guitar parts in Entwined by Vengeance on the last album... on this album there's more of that (especially on the track Reborn... the Upheavel of Nihility). Other tracks I recommend are the title track, Scorned, and Hammer Down the Nails. There is a cover song on this (the last one)... but I don't know... maybe it's just me but I prefer it when all the track's are originally by the artist. Still a good cover... just a little short for my tastes. Glen's vocals are still top notch (He's still the best death metal vocalist in the world to me) and the lyrics are Satanic as ever... perhaps some of the best ever. Plus the inside cover art is awesome (you'll have to buy this album to see it... I won't spoil the surprise... sorry!). The album also follows the epic path still... over sixty minutes long so you get your money's worth.

Now... with all that being spit out... go give this a shot... you won't be disappointed... except for the fact we'll probably have to wait another four years for the next album :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vital Remains destroys the death metal scene, October 15, 2007
By 
This review is from: Icons of Evil (Audio CD)
It's pretty funny skimming through the reviews, and seeing people complain about how this is nothing new, and then they go on and give trendy showboating bands 5 stars. Vital Remains have nothing to prove, they are the most technical and heavy death metal band in the entire scene without boiling down into stupid grind or slam-riffs.

Dave Suzuki is by far the most talented individual in music today. Not only does he lay down the technical-as-hell riffs and solos, but he does thte bass and even the drums. Glen Benton growls his way through some of the finest material he has ever done. He has never sounded more vicious or evil. Finally, Tony Lazaro writes some godly music, and puts down the rythm section quite well.

Favorite songs are Hammer Down the Nails, Icons of Evil, and Till Death, but each song is amazing.

Vital Remains isnt for everyone, but if you like old-school death metal like Suffocation, Deicide, and Morbid Angel and even tech-death like Immolation, then you should definately pick this one up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD!!!, May 22, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Icons of Evil (Audio CD)
Glen Benton and the guys do it again! Another great CD! It is just as good as their Dechristianize CD. If you can you should definitely add it to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Praise Hell Satan!, April 30, 2007
This review is from: Icons of Evil (Audio CD)
This sounds like a new and improved version of Dechristianize. The drumming refrains from too much blasting. The solos still rip. Harmonies are more abundant and properly placed, with a very black metal style of riff. And Glen Benton's king of death metal vocals age like fine wine, and shine over all these crappy throaty death-core vocalists. Erik Rutan does a great job with the production. Usually his recordings are too natural and dull for my taste, but here he captures a nice balance of tone and attack, with natural warmth. The vocals are much too loud in the mix, as is the case with most contemporary releases. Sometimes the songs are too long for the amount of progression involved. The cover of Yngwie's Disciples of Hell is an awesome closer. Very death transformed with butt-rock rhythmic appeal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Jon P, May 12, 2007
This review is from: Icons of Evil (Audio CD)
Ignore Jon P lawl. if you liked Dechristianize get this, all i have to say. for that matter i'll even plug the latest Deicide album aswell, they seem to have gotten back on the right track.

as for Jon P, talentless...you're clearly an idiot, never in your life time will you play anything that fast on any instrument. and as for the satanist remarks..it's a belief, that's real, deal with it, oh and by the way, they sing about anti christian beliefs, which inevitably involves satan you can;t have one w/out the other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Vital Remains Icons of Evil, May 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Icons of Evil (Audio CD)
Vital Remains Icons of Evil is an awesome CD.You metalheads out there will really enjoy this item.Vital Remains is very heavy metal.Buy this CD if you all get a chance it is worth getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nothing new, but still mighty enjoyable, September 4, 2007
This review is from: Icons of Evil (Audio CD)
An album like Vital Remains' "Icons of Evil" is, for all intents and purposes, every extreme music fan's wet dream. It is an epic, skull-shattering album that weighs a ton and overflows with godly, highly technical music, including great riffs, fiery leads, blasting drums, crushing rhythms, and even lengthy, restrained, melodic guitar solos. Of course, with all of these things in place it makes "Icons of Evil" very, very similar to the band's last offering, 2003's "Dechristianize." And when Glenn Benton (of Deicide fame) adds his roaring, unintelligible, inhuman vocals to the mix, the two albums become almost identical. So, some fans are sure to be a bit disappointed that "IoE" does not expand Vital Remains' sound whatsoever and that it does not sound nearly as novel or unique as that four year old release.

But even if VR could have done a lot more with their fifth full length, it still makes for a very satisfying listen, so it's hard to complain about it too much. And even though it may not be at all innovative, "Icons of Evil" is, in a lot of ways, a more realized effort than "Dechristianize." The songs are faster and heavier this time around, and boast a lot more guitar solos (numerous melodic, classically-influenced solos crop up in every track.) Plus, the band's musicianship is even tighter and more mindblowing now than it was then (and that's really saying something!). As a result, Vital Remains now sound more, well, Vital Remains-y than they ever have before.

After beginning with an a capella, skin-crawling shriek from Glenn, the title track bursts the album's floodgates open with blinding guitar shredding, blast beats that make jackhammers sound slow by comparison, an ominous, doomy breakdown around the midpoint, and a lengthy solo that could peal the paint off a wall. And then -- from the mind-boggling drumming of "Scorned," to the barnburning, Slayer-on-steroids riffing of "Reborn...The Upheaval of Nihility," and on to an impressive (albeit barely recognizable) Yngwie Malmsteen cover ("Disciples of Hell") -- the onslaught never relents. This is a sixty-seven minute-long deluge of extremely brutal death metal that tears your head clean off your shoulders while ripping the rest of your body apart limb by limb. These songs are as heavy and fast as metal gets this side of the grindcore genre. "Reborn...The Upheaval of Nihility," with its breakneck intro, seemingly octolimbed drumming, and gorgeous (though brief) flamenco guitar solo, and "`Till Death," which weaves some especially melodic and wailing solos in between its pummeling, Nile-esque rhythm, are the two biggest highlights on hand here.

It's almost redundant to say because of the obviousness of it, but "Icons of Evil" is definitely not for everybody. This is a monstrous feast of death metal -- it's so big, in fact, that it will be overwhelming to a lot of listeners. But if you're looking for something that will be more than satiating when you get a hankering for the heavy stuff, there's no album that will get the job done better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A great death metal album but a diminished effort from VR, April 24, 2007
By 
Warheart (Florida, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Icons of Evil (Audio CD)
I waited 4 years after the release of "Dechristianize" for Vital Remains's new album. We get "Icons of Evil" after all that waiting. Was it worth it? Not really. Tony Lazaro said this is their "Raining Blood" and that the predecessor was their "Hell Awaits". I couldn't disagree more. "Icons of Evil", while brutal enough, doesn't live up to the epic masterpiece that was "Dechristianize". Sure, Glen Benton is back and he sounds better than ever, The songwriting is good, but the lack of more guitar leads is saddening. The emotion and dramatic nature that was found in "Dechristianize" is gone. I feel like Vital Remains went back to their older ways, in a sense. It definitely has an old school death metal vibe but it wasn't what I expected. The only songs I go back and listen to are "Icons Of Evil" and "Scorned". The rest of the album just gets worse after that. Hearing a cover of Yngwie Malmsteen's "Disciples of Hell" to close the album is awesome but I wish there was more to the album than good bookends. All in all, it's a great death album but not a great Vital Remains album. 3/5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You are the one, May 10, 2007
By 
J. Staley (Atsugi, Japan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Icons of Evil (Audio CD)
Now 1st of all I don't know people find cds of bands that they know they will not like and talk s^&%. Do they have no life or are just some teenager looking start some S$%# or the are 30 and still live with mom and daddy so they have to take there hate out on something or someone that they know good and well that they don't like. Get over it!!!! If you don't like it then move on!!!!!! Now onto the new cd by Vital Remains. Glen has done it once more putting out something that is worth buying. Def pick this up!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There's something that shocked me..., March 21, 2007
This review is from: Icons of Evil (Audio CD)
How can anyone rip this album and post it on the web, even before it is released? It really freaked me out.

If I wanted Hilary Duff, Paris Hilton or some other craps, I wouldn't mind.

Artists in this extreme field are real artists in the sense that they spend most of their time in live performance, practicing, composing and recording, whatever they do for their own entertainment during the rest of their times, not like so called "stars" who spends most of their time in partying, chatting on the talk shows and sun-tanning.

Remember, however genious and talented prodigy the "magestic" Dave is, it is still the mixture of their flesh and blood and spirit.

If you'd like to save ten something dollars and kill this magnificient artist, google it and enjoy. At least, support them in their concert.

I'll be the first one to get their album, which will again rewrite the history of Death metal(Black metal, whatever).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Icons of Evil
Icons of Evil by Vital Remains (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.