Customer Reviews


265 Reviews
5 star:
 (177)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (34)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


81 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works perfectly in a Mac Pro
I installed a Corsair P128 SSD into the Icy Dock and mounted the Icy Dock onto one of my Mac Pro's internal drive sleds. The sled-mounted Icy Dock slid right into the Mac's SATA connectors, and I was good to go.

Installing the SSD into the Icy Dock is a tool-less affair. An ingenious, rotating "flap" clamps onto the back of the SSD when the top cover of the...
Published on February 17, 2010 by Bike Geek

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gets the job done
There are two very similar products by ICYdock - this all plastic model and a slightly more expensive model with an attached cover. This model, the cheaper one, has a cover that is all plastic and is removed manually. This is ok for occasional, semi permanent use. If you are going to be frequently swapping drives, get the more expensive version with the lever action...
Published 23 months ago by J. Atkins


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

81 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works perfectly in a Mac Pro, February 17, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Icy Dock EZConvert 2.5-Inch to 3.5-Inch SATA SSD / Hard Drive Converter (Personal Computers)
I installed a Corsair P128 SSD into the Icy Dock and mounted the Icy Dock onto one of my Mac Pro's internal drive sleds. The sled-mounted Icy Dock slid right into the Mac's SATA connectors, and I was good to go.

Installing the SSD into the Icy Dock is a tool-less affair. An ingenious, rotating "flap" clamps onto the back of the SSD when the top cover of the Icy Dock is slid on; therefore, the SSD is held securely onto the Icy Dock's internal SATA connectors. The outside of the Icy Dock has all of the mounting holes expected for a normal 3.5'' hard drive, so the Icy Dock is interchangeable with all standard 3.5'' drives. Four mounting screws are even included. (These screws were not needed for mounting the Icy Dock onto a Mac Pro drive sled.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mac Pro Dual-Core Intel Xeon, June 20, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Icy Dock EZConvert 2.5-Inch to 3.5-Inch SATA SSD / Hard Drive Converter (Personal Computers)
I was wanting to put my system on an SSD drive and needed a case to fit into my computer. This case fit perfectly into the hanging slides inside my computer with no problem
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for Hot-Swap Bays, May 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Icy Dock EZConvert 2.5-Inch to 3.5-Inch SATA SSD / Hard Drive Converter (Personal Computers)
My chassis is a NORCO 4U Rack Mount 10-Bays SATA/SAS Server Chassis RPC-450TH, which like many enclosures, has a number of trays, each of which will hold a "standard" 3.5 inch form factor drive. The trays then slide into the chassis with the drive inside them, and the drive's connectors mate perfectly with the backplane upon insertion -- if the connectors are where they should be for a 3.5 inch drive.

However, most of the "adapter" and "conversion" kits I encountered when shopping seem to be intended for mounting with screws or rails in a PC's main drive cage. This one would work for that too, I'm sure, but those others would definitely not work in hot-swap trays.

The reason this one works so beautifully is that the exterior of this product is actually a faithful reproduction of a 3.5 inch drive, with screw holes and cable connections in precisely the same places that an actual drive would have them. For all practical purposes, this is indeed a 3.5 inch drive, except that it has your 2.5 inch drive connected on the inside doing the actual job.

Bottom line: If you need a way to put a 2.5 inch drive into a 3.5 inch hot-swap tray, like I needed in order to insert use an SSD boot disk in my chassis, this is the one. Get it.

(Or get the metal version, if that's your taste, since I imagine it's functionally identical; I see no need, though, since this one is plenty sturdy enough for every use I can think of.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A necessity for 2.5" drives in a MacPro, May 4, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Icy Dock EZConvert 2.5-Inch to 3.5-Inch SATA SSD / Hard Drive Converter (Personal Computers)
The MacPro is designed for 3.5" drives, which hang from a sled inside the chassis. This is great, except that you cannot mount 2.5" drives. Rails won't work. 3.5" to 2.5" converter sleds don't work either. However, IcyDock works perfectly, the installation is easy and only takes a few minutes.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works perfectly with Samsung 840 Pro SSD **Special Directions for smaller SSDs**, August 17, 2013
By 
Mark Matsumoto (San Jose, CA, US) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Icy Dock EZConvert 2.5-Inch to 3.5-Inch SATA SSD / Hard Drive Converter (Personal Computers)
If your computer/notebook has an unique configuration where you cannot simply attach the SSD inside, then this converter is perfect. I have a Dell XPS One 2710 which is configured for a 3.5" Hard Drive. With that being said, you could probably get away with installing a SSD with a simpler and cheaper 2.5" to 3.5" bracket. However, given the wide variation in brackets, and the fact that this Icy Dock Converter replicates a 3.5" Hard Drive perfectly, this unit is insurance against any possible complications.

**SPECIAL DIRECTIONS FOR SMALLER SSDs"
By "smaller" I am referring to the height of the SSD. SSDs like the Samsung 840 Pro are only 7mm in height. This Icy Dock Converter (Model: MB882SP-1S-2B) is specifically designed for SSDs that are 9.5mm tall. If you have a smaller SSD, then the directions as shown in the diagrams or instructions will NOT work. That is to say, simply inserting the SSD and closing the hatch will not connect your SSD to the converter properly. Your BIOS or computer will not detect the SSD. I am guessing that a number of the reviews claiming that this item did not work are the result of this fact.

To install a smaller SSD, you have to perform what is called a "manual installation." Icy Dock has made a YouTube video on the process here: [...] Its a little hard to see what the person is doing, but the key is to make sure the connectors are fully connected (There should just be a very small gap that remains-you can see it in the video).

My method for installing (for smaller SSDs):
1) Place the SSD into the converter
2) You will see inside the converter where the retainer for the SSD is cutout so that you can grip the SSD on its sides (This space would normally be used so that you can pull the SSD out from the connector). Once you are sure that the connectors are lined up, grip the SSD on the side and push it into place.
3) This initial push will likely only get you about 3/4 of the way connected (If you are lucky, you may already be done and you can skip to step #4). You'll probably still see a relatively large gap between the SSD and connector. The initial push should have cleared some space between the back of the SSD and the back of the converter. With this open space, you can push from the back of the SSD with your fingers and it should connect further.
4) Reattach the lid of the converter and you're done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gets the job done, October 9, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Icy Dock EZConvert 2.5-Inch to 3.5-Inch SATA SSD / Hard Drive Converter (Personal Computers)
There are two very similar products by ICYdock - this all plastic model and a slightly more expensive model with an attached cover. This model, the cheaper one, has a cover that is all plastic and is removed manually. This is ok for occasional, semi permanent use. If you are going to be frequently swapping drives, get the more expensive version with the lever action cover. It is worth the price difference.

As for the product itself, this version is ok. Two of the four I ordered arrived DOA, but thanks to Amazons frictionless exchange policy this did not cost anything but a couple of days time. While this version is compatible with 7mm drives, it can be tricky to install them properly. Once installed however these work great for making a 2.5 drive (HDD or SSD) into a standards compliant 3.5" drive. I installed four into a Mac Pro no problem, using a combination of HDD, SSD/ 7mm, 9.5mm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works a expected for my Mac Pro desktop - SSD mount, July 11, 2012
By 
Alvaro Castillo (Long Beach, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Icy Dock EZConvert 2.5-Inch to 3.5-Inch SATA SSD / Hard Drive Converter (Personal Computers)
This is exactly what I needed for my MAC Pro desktop. No tools needed, fit perfect. SSD fit like a glove. I got installed in 30 seconds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fits nicely in my Aurora R4, April 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Icy Dock EZConvert 2.5-Inch to 3.5-Inch SATA SSD / Hard Drive Converter (Personal Computers)
Had a heck of time looking for a bracket to fit my Alienware Aurora R4 until I found this. Looks and feels sturdy, but more importantly it fits. Now, my rig is rocking a Crucial M4 256GB SSD OS setup.... Very Happy, Indeed!!!

Arnold M.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for MacPro!!!, December 29, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Icy Dock EZConvert 2.5-Inch to 3.5-Inch SATA SSD / Hard Drive Converter (Personal Computers)
This worked perfectly for my MacPro. Some other adapters did not fit the hard drive sled in the MacPro.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Life Saver for Adding SSD to MacPro, January 17, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Icy Dock EZConvert 2.5-Inch to 3.5-Inch SATA SSD / Hard Drive Converter (Personal Computers)
If you are looking for an bracket to install a 2.5" SSD in a MacPro's 3.5" slider tray, look no further. This is the answer. I've purchased a Kingston bracket from MacMall, assuming it would work in my MacPro. No! I spent a couple hours trying all different ways to screw on and screw off the SSD and the bracket/adapter only to get more and more frustrated. Luckily, I searched the internet again and find this little converter in Amazon. It took two days to arrive and 3 minutes later I had the SSD drive running in my MacPro beautifully. I did not even need to use any tool, just my bare hands. Amazing. When it is designed right, it just fits and a no brainer. Thank you for a great solution!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.