If Love Could Think: Using Your Mind to Guide Your Heart and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Buy Used
$5.99
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Minor signs of wear. Eligible for FREE Super Saver/Prime Shipping. Amazon Customer Service 24/7 with Delivery Tracking. Receive Your Item in 3-5 Business Days!
Add to Cart
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

If Love Could Think: Using Your Mind to Guide Your Heart Hardcover – October 25, 2005


See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$9.47 $0.01

Customers Who Viewed This Item Also Viewed

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 256 pages
  • Publisher: Harmony (October 25, 2005)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1400098157
  • ISBN-13: 978-1400098156
  • Product Dimensions: 8.4 x 5.8 x 1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1 pounds
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #2,421,813 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Review

“If you’ve been having trouble making love work in your life, Gratch’s If Love Could Think is a must read before you go into therapy.” —Mira Kirshenbaum, author of The Weekend Marriage and Too Good to Leave, Too Bad to Stay

“Alon Gratch is a brilliant simplifier. His schema in this book is both original and thoroughly convincing—not to mention practical and potentially life–saving.” —Edward M. Hallowell, M.D., author of Connect and Human Moments

Praise for If Men Could Talk

“Gratch . . . [tells] each clinical anecdote in a moving, compelling way.” —Olga Silverstein, author of The Courage to Raise Good Men

“Gratch skillfully explores the roots of men’s most painful feelings. . . . In doing so, he displays a broad knowledge of literature, history, and popular culture . . . as well as a rigorous and nimble approach.” —Elle

“Follows in the tradition of John Gray’s Mars and Venus series and Deborah Tannen’s You Just Don’t Understand.” —Publishers Weekly

About the Author

Alon Gratch, Ph.D., is the author of If Men Could Talk: Translating the Secret Language of Men, which has been published in more than twenty countries. He has written for various publications, including the New York Times and the Wall Street Journal. A New York–based clinical psychologist and lecturer, Dr. Gratch has presented his work in many academic settings, including the medical schools of Harvard and Columbia.

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
See all 6 customer reviews
Excellent, entertaining analysis.
H. Schwartz
I have read many books like this, being in the psychology field and hold a B.A. in Psychology, but this is one of the books I wish i had before I was married.
Zot
So one thing this book helped me do was consider that.
a gentle sound

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful By Doggoneit on August 22, 2006
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Whether you are disgusted with dating, thinking about dating, already dating, or in a long-term relationship (regardless of whether you believe there is room for improvement in that relationship), buy this book now, read it, and re-read it. It is dense with invaluable insight and practical action plans. The primary theme is ambivalence ... how no person is perfect, and no person is even perfect for another person (the scene in Goodwill Hunting notwithstanding); to succeed in a relationship we must learn to accept our ambivalence about the other person and that person's ambivalence about us. This book describes various patterns commonly found in troubled relationships and even in relationships that might seem to be succeeding, but which could be more rewarding and secure. The author walks you through how to confront your buried ambivalence and make some changes in your own expectations of yourself and your partner and how you interact with your partner. You cannot change the other person, and you probably cannot change yourself; but you CAN change your behavior and your way of interacting with each other once you understand the source of your conflict and discomforts.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful By Zot on January 12, 2006
Format: Hardcover
This book may have been the thing that kept my marriage together. I am used to relationship help books that typically give traditional wisdom and comon sense. This book provided a much more in depth analysis of the reason relationships fail. I have read many books like this, being in the psychology field and hold a B.A. in Psychology, but this is one of the books I wish i had before I was married. The author clearly has a developed sense of cognitive-behavioural psychology and impliments many case studies throughout the book. If you are in any type of relationship that is heading down hill and there is a wish to salvage it, or if you know someone that is going to get married i highly recomend getting this book to read and give.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful By H. Schwartz on October 30, 2005
Format: Hardcover
Excellent, entertaining analysis. Simplifies complex issues without losing sight of their complexity. That's not so easy to do!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Images

Search

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?