Customer Reviews


113 Reviews
5 star:
 (83)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


234 of 241 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An honest, charitable look at the holes in Protestantism
Apologist extraordinaire Devin Rose has just released his first book. It's titled If Protestantism is True. In the book, Devin explores how things like the canon of Scripture, the saints, and Scared Tradition all lead not to Protestantism but into the Catholic Church.

The book's title reveals its primary method of exploration: If Protestantism is True leans...
Published on June 7, 2011 by Brandon Vogt

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A helpful book but not as well written as the apologetics books written by Scott Hahn
Not a bad book but not as well written as the apologetics books by Scott Hahn who is much more skilled as a writer and apologist.

I did find this book helpful in explaining the Catholic position on many of the objections raised by Protestants regarding teachings of the Roman Catholic Church. Each section ends with a paragraph that begins, "If Protestantism is...
Published on April 18, 2012 by Barry Owens


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 512 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is a precious gem. It clearly demonstrates ..., July 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is a precious gem. It clearly demonstrates that "if protestantism is true" then the only logical conclusion one can arrive at is to affirm the incoherence of the christian faith. Catholicism exclusively has the fullness of the truth and all means of salvation. The ecclesial communities originated from the pseudo-reformation are defective in many aspects, notwithstanding the fact that "many elements of sanctification and of truth are found outside" the Catholic Church (Lumen Gentium, n. 8).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very informative., July 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
An informative, well documented, yet easy to read book, that will leave the average Catholic better informed and more confident when answering half-baked anti-Catholic drivel we are confronted so often today.

As long as secularism is dominant in the world we are going to have to defend our Church and why we love Her.
The only way to do this is by being well informed and prepared. This book is an excellent start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book for those who want to defend their Catholic beliefs, September 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a well written treatise on the truths of the Catholic Church. Those Catholics who want to confirm their fatih will find plenty here to do so. Most non Catholics will likely not be persuaded by intellectual arguments and will find this book self serving. The book should be read to help one better understand the Catholic faith and to prompt them to lead more witnessing Christian lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pilate asked, What is truth?, May 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: If Protestantism is True: The Reformation Meets Rome (Paperback)
Is helpful in knowing how to answer the misguided or those who refuse to hear the truth, with simple statements and no arguments. Good insight into faith teachings. Begins with the mistaken notion or belief as taught by Protestant leaders and why the errors or erosion of the truth came about and then concludes with the correct answer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Apologies, March 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is well written and filled with wonderful nuggets of wisdom concerning the authority of the Church. Every Christian should read this--it does a great job of answering the question: by what authority do you interpret that scripture verse that way? If Christ truly left us with no authority but our own interpetation of scripture as our separated brothers and sisters believe, then there should only be one faith, one baptism, not over 34000 different denominations with new ones starting up while others disappear on a regular basis. This book is an excellent source for those looking for the true Church established by Jesus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Convincing while Kind, February 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Excellent description and defense of the Catholic Faith. The convert-author understands the arguments made by Protestantism against the Church and handles them deftly and with insight. He shows the shifting sand on which the various Protestant sects have built their houses of belief. Useful in responding to claims of both liberal and fundamentalist Protestantism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great book with good commentary, October 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
good straight forward comment and arguements. i was able follow and understand the logic. especially when trying to understand the protestant argument from the original reformers. especially appreciated the distinctions pointed out between the original reforms and modern day protestant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed feelings, September 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: If Protestantism is True: The Reformation Meets Rome (Paperback)
I was brought up a pretty much non-practicing Catholic by rather agnostic "Christians". So I went to a year or two of Sunday school before getting baptized at the age of 11 and that was it. At the age of 34 after having a kid, I had a sudden inexplicable urge to go back to the Church, after a lifetime of feeling like a wandering agnostic. So I started consulting Catholic friends, reading up to help find guidance, and this book seemed promising at first but about halfway through has made me feel more conflicted about it than not.

While he certainly has learned a bit of history of the early church and his sense of logic which lead him away from Protestantism and into Catholicism has constructed some thoughtfully argued points, I find myself less and less convinced and less enthusiastic about my idea of rejoining the Church. For example, if disagreeing with official doctrine is heretical and sinful, then he certainly paints the picture that all the schismatics over the centuries were just sinners off straight to Satan. However if those rebels and reformers had "toed the line" as expected of them, would the Church ever have felt the need for reform? If the popes are the infallible heads of the Church destined to carry the torch handed off by Jesus to his disciples, then are we or are we not supposed to just grin and bear any greedy, oppressive, or corrupt pope?

And I'm definitely not sure that I agree that it's so wrong that branches spring up and/or certain denominations adapt to the changing attitude of the times. If the Church has adapted to shifts in the moral compass of the public at large before, why could/should they not do it again? His arguments seem inconsistent - he supports pushing for reforms within the Church, but puts down as hell-bound sinners the thinkers and questioners who desire to do so. (Those people who desire to believe but for whom hell and damnation provide a rather demeaning, condescending, and ultimately unfulfilling answer.)

I haven't ruled out rejoining just yet, and I agree that the schisms and disunity have overall caused more problems than not, at the same time I have a hard time dismissing the important role that such "heretics" as Luther and King Henry VIII played in the history of Christianity and the Western World...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth reading, July 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Easy to follow, reasoned and well researched book about the differences between Protestantism and the Catholic Church as well as presenting the case that the Protestant views on Catholic Church authority and teachings are based on flawed beliefs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Truths and Facts, November 5, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: If Protestantism is True: The Reformation Meets Rome (Paperback)
This book was very easy to read with an abundance of little known facts going back to Jesus and our early Church Fathers. It's clear and simple explanations really opened my eyes to the misenterpretations of Faith by many non-Catholics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 512 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

If Protestantism is True: The Reformation Meets Rome
If Protestantism is True: The Reformation Meets Rome by Devin Rose (Paperback - June 6, 2011)
Used & New from: $21.70
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.