Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book about an awesome journey
This book arrived at our library last week, and I was immediately blown away by it! Faith McNulty and Steven Kellogg have done a great job of showing and telling children what a trip to the moon would really be like.

One thing that is great about this book is the way experiences and things that are familiar to children are used to describe extraordinarily...
Published on October 13, 2005 by sister taxi hopscotch

versus
40 of 53 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A New Fact-Checker Would Be Helpful
This is a handsome-looking book about an interesting theme, but it is painfully obvious that both the author and the fact-checkers employed by Scholastic are not well versed in science. There are minor mistakes like the statement that the lunar craters are made by "meteors that have rained down on the moon," when in fact a meteor is not a rock from space, but is the...
Published on October 18, 2011 by Richard Sanderson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book about an awesome journey, October 13, 2005
This review is from: If You Decide To Go To The Moon (Hardcover)
This book arrived at our library last week, and I was immediately blown away by it! Faith McNulty and Steven Kellogg have done a great job of showing and telling children what a trip to the moon would really be like.

One thing that is great about this book is the way experiences and things that are familiar to children are used to describe extraordinarily UN-familiar experiences and ideas. The book is written in the second person point of view -- directly addressing the reader. I thought it was brilliant the way McNulty captures what a child's (or anyone's) feelings might be as they hurtle through the dark expanse of space, far away from the comfort of Earth and home. ("Up here in space you may feel very alone. Don't look back at the Earth. It would make you even lonelier.")

Kellogg illustrates a variety of moods, experiences and concepts from eye-catching perspectives. There is whimsy: an astronaut floats weightlessly around inside the capsule amidst a swarm of playing cards, and, later in the book an unexpected herd of hypothetical moon cows makes an appearance! There is quite a lot of loneliness in Kellogg's space: A lone astronaut hops around and explores the strange, barren, black and grey moonscape for several pages. In a compelling two-page spread, Kellogg depicts a lone astronaut, standing on the Moon under a lonely black sky -- the scene is printed with the darkest jet black ink I have EVER seen printed in any picture book. At the end of the journey, the astronaut returns to an exuberant fold out frieze of Earth's magnificently varied biodiversity, under a shining sun and clear sky with children swimming in fresh, clear water -- the essential element that makes our planet habitable. I was especially pleased to see this book, since another excellent children's book about the Moon, E.C. and Robin Krupp's book, The Moon and You, is not readily available anymore. I highly recommend this book for any elementary school library, or for the book collections of Kindergarteners to second graders. I also would not be surprised if it wins some children's book awards in the months to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, June 22, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: If You Decide To Go To The Moon (Hardcover)
This is a beautiful book that my 3 year old loves, but, despite being appropriate for a 3 year old, it is a pleasure to read to him, because it is full of provocative ideas that adults enjoy. I suspect we will both continue to enjoy it for years to come. It is a great companion to 'On the Moon' by Anna Milbourne and Benji Davies, which is essentially a re-telling of the Apollo mission for kids, whereas this book is a re-imagining of the Apollo mission. It follows an imaginary modern journey to the Moon, where, among other things, the young astronaut finds the flag left by the Apollo astronauts blown over by their blast off, and re-erects it. It ends by comparing the richness of life on Earth, made possible by air and water, to the desolation of the Moon. It is also beautifully illustrated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Informative for parents too, November 28, 2010
By 
Tammy (Salt Lake City, UT) - See all my reviews
This review is from: If You Decide To Go To The Moon (Hardcover)
My 7 year old son loves this book and I learned a few new things too.

It's about a boy who is going to the moon. You learn that you will travel 240,000 miles to get there and if you average 3,750 mph you will arrive in 2 1/2 days. There is no air, clouds, or rain in space. Once you arrive you will float like a feather. You can't drink out of a glass, you must use a squeeze bottle. The moon is covered with rocks and craters. Some craters are hundreds of miles across. Everything on the moon is a silvery gray. If you weigh 60 pounds on Earth you will weight 10 pounds on the moon. Each step takes you five times further than when you step on Earth. If you don't wear a space suit, the heat will burn you up. There is no wind or rain to erase your footprints and when you walk it's like walking in cake flour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 53 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A New Fact-Checker Would Be Helpful, October 18, 2011
By 
This review is from: If You Decide To Go To The Moon (Hardcover)
This is a handsome-looking book about an interesting theme, but it is painfully obvious that both the author and the fact-checkers employed by Scholastic are not well versed in science. There are minor mistakes like the statement that the lunar craters are made by "meteors that have rained down on the moon," when in fact a meteor is not a rock from space, but is the flash of light caused by the passage of a meteoroid through the Earth's atmosphere. There are no meteors raining down upon the moon because the moon has no atmosphere. Meteoroids do, however, sometimes impact the lunar surface. Lots of people mix up this terminology, but a book aimed at teaching science to children should get it right. Likewise, the author butchered the text of the iconic plaque left on the moon by the astronauts of Apollo 11 ("Here men from the planet Earth..."). The most grievous error is when the author tells us that, "Both meteors and comets are pieces of stars that exploded long ago and have been flying around in space ever since." Meteors in the earth's atmosphere are pieces of stars??? I'm stunned that such a ridiculous statement could have been written by a children's science book author and then missed by the fact-checkers at Scholastic. I contacted Scholastic about this and received a brush-off reply. At least one other Scholastic book (The Earth and Sky) has a similar horrific science error (read the reviews for that book). Until Scholastic can get their act together, I would advise parents to avoid science books published by this company.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How Does It FEEL to Go to the Moon?, September 2, 2012
By 
Gael Linn (Residing in Texas, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: If You Decide To Go To The Moon (Hardcover)
I read a previous one star review and decided to check the book out from the library before purchasing. I concur there was a spelling error and after checking out the definition of meteor, found the one star reviewer was correct.

HOWEVER, the errors seemed minor compared to what really stood out in a positive way: the author's description of what an astronaut actually thinks and FEELS!

My 6 1/2 year old granddaughter loved the story and asked me to buy her one, which I have. I really enjoyed the story, too. I felt it told of the journey to the moon from a very human point of view, maybe even from a child's point of view - something we still are deep inside.

You can point out the errors, but what I think readers will take away from this book is a sense of personal connection to space flight and astronomy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, May 19, 2006
By 
This review is from: If You Decide To Go To The Moon (Hardcover)
If you have a child like mine who loves scientific minutia then this is the book for you. It is technical and not appropriate for younger preschoolers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, my kids love it!, April 9, 2009
This review is from: If You Decide To Go To The Moon (Hardcover)
This went over really well with my two year old and four year old boys. I'll consider this one as a birthday give for other children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome addition to my libraby, April 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: If You Decide To Go To The Moon (Hardcover)
I was very pleased to purchase this wonderful book. It was in excellent condition. I am a kindergarten teacher. We were studying Space. The students enjoyed this book and learned a lot from the contents and illustrations.It was as if they had become astronauts and were really traveling into space
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book for the right child, July 19, 2012
By 
Sue (Richmond, VA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: If You Decide To Go To The Moon (Hardcover)
My six year old son loves this book. I can see that it would not be right for every child. It's perfect for him because he is interested in space and can read at a high level but isn't interested in chapter books yet. There are a lot of words on a page and I think the average six year old would have difficulty reading it. He also loves How to Dig a Hole to the Other Side of the World by the same author. I wish there were more books like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BUY this Book!, June 29, 2008
This review is from: If You Decide To Go To The Moon (Hardcover)
My 5 yr old has been riveted by this book since he got it at the age of 3.....we have given it as gifts to 4-5yr olds and always got a call or email commenting on how great the book is. The story is imaginative and well written, with interesting details, it is actually educational but mostly fun. The pictures are what take your breath away. It is a great birthday gift for boys and girls!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

If You Decide To Go To The Moon
If You Decide To Go To The Moon by Faith McNulty (Hardcover - October 1, 2005)
$18.99 $16.73
Usually ships in 1 to 3 months
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.