Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: If You Want to See a Whale
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Billy Talent Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$12.67+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 7, 2013
if you want to see a whale is the kind of book you can read night after night after night, and never be bored! It is absolutely lyrical, and the drawings are so comforting. Loved
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 21, 2013
Like many young children, my four year old son is fascinated with animals, including marine life. I read this book to him quite a bit. As an adult, I appreciate it, because of its lyrical qualities, and the beauty in the illustrations. Like another reviewer, I sometimes get a little teary-eyed when reading it. There's something very poignant about this lone boy and his dog, whiling away the days searching for a whale. One of the more moving children's books we read on a regular basis. Really beautiful.

There is also a point to be said for certain younger ones maybe not enjoying this as much. My two year old daughter doesn't have the patience for it. To each their own.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2013
This book is a little slice of heaven... You can read over and over again and find something intriguing every time!!!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2013
We gave this as a gift to a 4 year old who lives near the ocean. I thought the book was sweet and poetic. It also seems good for the age group. My 3 year old daughter has yet to see much marine life (although there is plenty here) because she is looking everywhere all the time and gets distracted :)
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 1, 2013
This book is perfect for little people from 2-5 years old, and also for imaginative "grow ups" too. The story is simply told, and the ending is as creative as the whole little book. The illustrations are outstanding and an integral part of the story. My two granddaughters both love it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon October 11, 2013
Sometimes you want a zippy book and sometimes a funny one and sometimes a silly one. But sometimes you want a quiet book for a quiet time. With its interesting but soothing pastel images this book lends itself to a close and comfortable snuggily reading time. The prose is clear and each word is carefully chosen, but not at all condescending or simplified as in a "See spot run" sort of way . It encourages thoughtful reading and understanding, and lends itself to conversation between the reader and the child as the book progresses. This is awfully hard to do, especially because one poorly framed page can break the spell. It even has a mellow joke ending. What a nice find, with such a light, lovely touch.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2013
This is an incredible book, beautifully written and illustrated. While some reviewers have noted that the story might be a bit slow for a very young child, it really just depends on the kid. When we first started reading this to our son at 20 months, there were one or two pages where we skipped a word or two in order to keep his interest. It was possible to do that without detracting too much from the story, or from the beautiful writing. However, there is no longer any need to do that just two months later. He waits in quiet anticipation for the last three pages -- and is delighted every time we read it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
'If You Want To See A Whale', is the kind of book you can read anywhere, any time. Your child will love it, but most importantly so will you. There are some books, we all know this, that the parent may skip over the pages, hoping your child won't notice. That won't be the case with this book.

If we wanted to see a whale as a child, we realized we had to go to the sea. We had no other options. This young boy and his beagle want to see a whale, and in the process of looking for the whale, they see many other things. Each time you read this story, you will find a new thought. This kind of book opens the door for your children to ask all sorts of questions, and great discussions can ensue. Or, this can be the quiet book, just before sleep.

Julie Fogliano, the author has the ability to draw the readers into her imagination, she takes her time, and we become enthralled with her story. The illustrations by Erin Snead brings the quiet but colorful prose to life. The water colored illustrations give us more time to use our imaginations on our search. This quiet storyline creeps up on us, and the words give us a sense of well being. If you really want to see a whale, you really have to observe, carefully.

Highly Recommended. prisrob 01-07-1
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 30, 2013
This is my toddlers favorite book, one of my favorites too. It is about patience and not losing sight of what you want.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 11, 2013
I love this author and illustrator. The muted images are almost so engaging. The storyline is always slow. For younger children their it is hard to keep their attention. I would recommend this book and "And, then it's Spring..." for older children five and up.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.