Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST read for children of East Indian descent.
This book is inspiring and full of hope for India. As an Indian, it reminds me who we are and what we are capable of. Dr. Abdul Kalam is the current president of India, father of India's satellite and missile technology.

However, his passion is to ignite young minds. I have heard that even now, with his busy schedule as the president of the largest...
Published on December 10, 2002 by Bob

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book and must read for teens of India
Ignited Minds: Unleashing the Power within India examines the reasons and causes for Indians capable of being the best, settle so often for the worst. What can make the great nations as India to truly prove them selves?

This book is great book and President. Kalam is good author but it fails to touch the soul of reader. Many times reader feels that this book is...
Published on February 21, 2005 by Avid Reader


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST read for children of East Indian descent., December 10, 2002
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ignited Minds: Unleashing the Power Within India (Hardcover)
This book is inspiring and full of hope for India. As an Indian, it reminds me who we are and what we are capable of. Dr. Abdul Kalam is the current president of India, father of India's satellite and missile technology.

However, his passion is to ignite young minds. I have heard that even now, with his busy schedule as the president of the largest democracy, he spends much of his time teaching young people both in person and via the Internet. I understand he has a goal of personally meeting 100,000 students. I believe he is more than half way there.

My daughter has ADD. When she picked up this book she read 80 pages in one morning. To my knowledge, this is the fastest she has ever read any book. This book inspired her and I'm sure it will inspire any teenager.

I encourage parents of East Indian origin or anyone who cares about India or wants to know about India, to read this book and encourage their children to read it. This book shouldn't just sell briskly, it should be flying off the shelves. Lets ignite the minds of our next generation, who can and will make a difference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dreams, Thoughts and Action., August 1, 2003
This book is a powerful message to all Indians especially the youth. Dr Kalam's vision of a developed India, his stress on technological and scientific engines to propel us into a higher orbit in the new millennium is well known. In this book, Dr Kalam is on mission mode - to ignite the passion in the minds of our children to achieve this vision. His numerous interactions with school children, political leaders, saints, scholars and industrialists have a common theme- India can do it.
India is a land of cultural and religious diversity and the world's largest democracy. The challenge is to harness this diversity and channelise our energies in nation building. Great leaders of all religions seem to be in perfect agreement on this. I was moved by an example Dr Kalam has cited in this book. In the southern Indian town of Kanchipuram, there exist a mosque and a Hindu mutt side by side. When there was a move to shift the mosque further away to reduce congestion , the Hindu saint vehemently protested - "In fact , when at 4:30 AM the call for namaz comes from the mosque, it acts as a wake-up call for my divine duties". This is the message the nation needs most at this moment.
This book to some extent repeats from "Wings of Fire" and "India 2020". But to me it is not repetition, but reinforcement. The challenge to remove poverty by 2010 and achieve the status of a developed nation by 2020 is no simple task. This is a call to all Indians to join forces in this great mission.
On 30 September 2001, Dr Kalam narrowly escaped unhurt in a helicopter crash. This event seems to have had a strong impact on his mind , resulting in greater vigor and resolve to accomplish his mission . God has been kind to him and to us the citizens of India, in saving this noble man and assigning him the responsibility to the highest office of this country.
"Dream, Dream, Dream
Dreams transform into thoughts
And thoughts result in action."
The time for action in NOW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must Read, December 24, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Ignited Minds: Unleashing the Power Within India (Hardcover)
APJ Abdul Kalam, is a spokesperson for the collective desires of the people of India. In this simple book, he writes in lucid words, what Indians want for their country.
This small book puts the goal of a developed India in the hearts and minds of its people.
APJ Abdul Kalam, now the President of India is a living example that decent, honest, people can still suceed. His books are a refreshing read to any Indian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ignites your mind and soul., January 12, 2005
A thought provoking and well written book by the current President of India is a gem of a book. A must read for all Indians young or old. It truely reflects the mood of the young Indians who want to see the true power of India be unleashed. Share Dr. Kalam's dream of a developed India by 2020. Understand the part we commoners need to play to chip in with our insignificant though valuable contribution to the great task we have at our hands.
Very inspiring. Highly recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book and must read for teens of India, February 21, 2005
Ignited Minds: Unleashing the Power within India examines the reasons and causes for Indians capable of being the best, settle so often for the worst. What can make the great nations as India to truly prove them selves?

This book is great book and President. Kalam is good author but it fails to touch the soul of reader. Many times reader feels that this book is talking for long but that could have been said by using little words and concise phrases. Even though I believe that this is must read book for every Indian school going kids. As said this is truly good book and will fire the minds of the young Indian, who are the future of India.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must read, September 6, 2013
By 
Ravindra Babu Gadde (MORGANTOWN, WEST VIRGINIA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Must read book for indians. This books explains the importance of achieving big for better india. "Possession of more things leads to insecurity in life"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harnessing the Power with in us., September 16, 2012
Young minds have immense latent energy.Accomplished professionals would find strategies to harness the energy for a better world.Parents and Society leaders would recognize the link between spirituality and education.Author's effort is laudable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Book, February 28, 2006
By 
Dr.Kalam has written a very inspiring book. He gives examples of great Indian scientists, right back from Aryabhata to the Nobel Laureate Prof.S.Chandrasekar and motivates young Indians to seek Knowledge to make India the great country she deserves to be.

Highly recommended for anyone who has read 'Wings of Fire' or wants to get inspired.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent book, June 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Good work by Abdul Kalam ji.. This book shows how India can develop in various fronts.. He used all his experiences and is a must read book for every Indian
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for every Indian, December 24, 2013
This is a well written book by one of the great scientists and a respected leader of our country. I agree with him on the importance of education and rural development. India has great natural resources and talented human resources. These resources need to be used in a systematic way keeping long term interest of the nation and people.

I recommend this book to every one who is interested in learning about India as well as to every one who has a desire to see India as a developed country with the basic necessities fulfilled for every citizen. It is a must read for every politician, bureaucrat, NGO, NRI, and every policy maker of the country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Ignited Minds: Unleashing the Power Within India
Ignited Minds: Unleashing the Power Within India by A. P. J. Abdul Kalam (Hardcover - January 1, 2002)
Used & New from: $3.71
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.