Customer Reviews


275 Reviews
5 star:
 (161)
4 star:
 (61)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


89 of 96 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally! A Lit Keyboard I Don't Hate!
This is, without a doubt, the best backlit keyboard I have owned, and one of the best all-around keyboards I have ever had.

First, a little background: As a computer programmer and gamer, my keyboard is essential to my livelihood and entertainment. I have had a few backlit keyboards from other manufacturers in the past, and they have always had something...
Published 7 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars its a solid keyboard but other than being back lit not all that special
its a very solid keyboard good tactile response and no key ghosting perfect for gaming no macro buttons or customization software either however that was expected before purchase so not weighted in this review.

my only complaint is only a few weeks into use the most heavily used keys are staring to strip i recommend some clear cellophane tape being put over...
Published 5 months ago by Chevon-Wayne Campbell


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

89 of 96 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally! A Lit Keyboard I Don't Hate!, December 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LED Illuminated Ergonomic USB Multimedia Backlight Backlit Gaming Keyboard (3 Colors) (Personal Computers)
This is, without a doubt, the best backlit keyboard I have owned, and one of the best all-around keyboards I have ever had.

First, a little background: As a computer programmer and gamer, my keyboard is essential to my livelihood and entertainment. I have had a few backlit keyboards from other manufacturers in the past, and they have always had something wrong with them--unresponsive, poor lighting, strange key arrangements, or just far too expensive to justify the purchase. I need a full keyboard that would provides clear, sufficient lighting for those late-night gaming/coding sessions, or just when it is a cloudy day and the light is low in my office. I ordered this because it was the only backlit keyboard that was a full, non-compact design that was not outrageously expensive. I was skeptical since it had no reviews and I could find no feedback for AULA's keyboards online.

Buying this keyboard was worth the risk. The keys are sensitive and responsive, with just the right spring-back to let you know they're there. Typing on this keyboard feels fluid and simple. The keys are arranged well, and I quickly adjusted to the slightly-altered location of the "|" key (which is good for programming, anyway).

The backlighting is fantastic. Those pictures are not Photoshopped, people--the keyboard's lighting really can be that bright and clear. Every key is well-lit and easy to read. You are getting your money's worth. The lighting can be adjusted between red, blue, and purple, and the light itself can be adjusted to be off, low, high, or slowly pulsing.

Awesome.

I highly recommend this as a keyboard, and for its backlighting. If you are looking for a well-built keyboard with backlighting that isn't overpriced and doesn't feel cheap, then this is what you want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PRETTY NICE!, January 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LED Illuminated Ergonomic USB Multimedia Backlight Backlit Gaming Keyboard (3 Colors) (Personal Computers)
I just got this keyboard and have been using it for about a week now i can say its pretty good

Fast responding

the lights are bright

and easy setup

only some things that bug me a bit are the keys are a little "slippery" and the enter key the shape throws my pinkie off when typing
all n all its worth the price!

IF YOU CANT FIGURE OUT HOW TO CHANGE THE COLOR YOU HOLD FN AND NUMBER 5 ON THE LEFT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Was weary at first, but I have been impressed, September 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I'll start by admitting that I was quite skeptical when I ordered this keyboard as I had never heard of the brand and there were no reviews ANYWHERE on the internets about this (and the box came straight from China with Chinese writing). I vainly ordered this so that I could keep my color scheme of black and blue (mouse and desktop fans are both black and blue).

I have had this for a few months and so far it has given me no issues whatsoever. My last keyboard was a Razer which lasted me a good number of years, but eventually succumbed to corrosion that I could not fix. So far, this keyboard has not given me any issues. The only problem I had with it originally is the oddly shaped Enter\return key. It takes a little getting used to but it's not a huge issue.

Another small issue I have with it is that there is no palmrest. This can obviously be remedied by the accessories online for those that type excessively, but I don't feel as if it's a real inconvenience.

Overall, this keyboard surprised me in it's reliability and it's smooth typing. I would definitely recommend it for anyone who is looking for that certain color scheme as I was
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very solid keyboard if you don't mind that all of the directions are in Chinese!!, January 28, 2014
By 
Aeta Capella "Aeta" (Washington DC metropolitain area) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Item was received very quickly, which was very surprising given the weather at the time of ordering. Everything is as pictured, however, you must be aware that the box markings, directions, and package inserts are all in Chinese. Mind you they are poorly and hilariously translated in to English (as well as other languages) Phrases such as, "Hex mans star prevent slippery design, use more comfortable." are not an uncommon sight. This is really very amusing and does not detract from the item at all. It is a plug and play USB keyboard, I did not need to install any drivers for it to work with my MSI mother board/AMDFX custom rig.

All keyboard functions are accessible by holding the "FN" key located where your right-hand "windows" key would normally be (next to "Alt") the left "Windows" key is still there if you need it to pull up your Start Menu from a fullscreen program.

Usin "FN" and the "8" and "2" on the num pad you can access 4 different light settings. Off, Dim, Bright and Pulse. I would estimate that the "dim" setting is roughly 50% brightness. And while the slow pulse setting (roughty a 5 second cycle) is really cool looking I can't imagine that I would use it for anything other than showcasing my rig at PAX or something.

The "FN" key also gives you access to volume controls and media controls mapped to F1 through F6, which while more aesthetically pleasing this way is not quite as convenient as having dedicated keys.

The keys have a fairly light touch, and while they do still click, they they are much quieter than most keyboards.

Lastly I do need to warn you, that the "enter" key is weirdly shaped. takes up 2 rows, between "backspace" and "right shift" and is about 1 and 1/2 keys wide. versus the 1 row, 3 keys wide that I am used to. So while this isn't really a problem for me anymore, now that I have gotten used to it. I wouldn't whip this out for the first time at a tournament, because you WILL hit the "\" when you mean to hit "enter" ALL THE TIME for about a week or so.

so in recap, or TL:DR

Pros:

-HILARIOUSLY mistranslated Chinese box/instructions
-4 glow modes, off, dim, bright and pulse
-Aesthetically pleasing
-Seems sturdily built
-Light touch
-Plug "n" play (although this should be the standard by now, right?)

Cons:
-Weirdly shaped "enter key"

Other thoughts:
The shape is pretty cool, and it looks good with my Razer Death Adder mouse, which is have only JUST now noticed also pulses... huh :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The second best version of this keyboard, October 29, 2013
I have both the red & blue versions of this keyboard; they are identical except for the LED color. The red one is slightly brighter and easier for the eyes to focus on, so I prefer it over the blue. But they are both nice keyboards. The size is the same as a standard keyboard, and the cord length is 70".

Tear-down: There are a lot of screws holding this keyboard together, and they are all needed. Don't disassemble if you are a novice; there is so much flex in the parts that once any screws are removed the keyboard starts coming apart, and pretty soon you have a hundred little silicone cones all over the place. Reassembly is possible but it's not easy. The LED backlight is a custom panel, so changing the LED color is not possible.

Also comes with a key puller and 8 spare keys, and I have no idea why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect. Big Answers to the usual questions...., February 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LED Illuminated Ergonomic USB Multimedia Backlight Backlit Gaming Keyboard (3 Colors) (Personal Computers)
I have been looking to replace my old Dell keyboard for a while, finally pulled the trigger. My criteria: 1- needs to be splash-proof, with actual drain holes. 2- Needs backlighting to shine through the individual keys, not just around the keys. Super picky, I know, but that's what I want. 3- Needs to be very responsive, not necessarily mechanical, but has to be snappy, can't have a funky layout or odd-shaped keys. 4- Can't have extra drivers, discs, or any other garbage to make it work. I need to be able to throw this thing in my backpack and hook into my normal laptop, or any server in a datacenter.

This keyboard fulfills all of these requirements, for much less money than most the others. You can get three of the four criteria for less money, but not all four, from all the hunting I've done here at Amazon. And I'm typing on it right now, it just plugged in, found itself, and went. And even in my dining room, under my skylight, I can clearly see it's backlit brightly (including through the keys) and looks fantastic. My 3 year old daughter asked to play with my new space ship, while pointing at it... my work here is done.

The keys are plastic, and do not have any silicone padding or anything. The key presses are quiet, and a bit on the mushy side, but it's fast and responsive enough for what it is. It did come with a key plucker and 8 clear replacement keys that look super sharp. The keys mate to a square hole in the chassis, and do *not* have the flimsy little pieces that always break if you pull the keys off to clean it. I'm unwilling to dump a coke in my new keyboard, but it wouldn't surprise me if this thing survived both the spill and the cleanup. If I do not update this post, assume that this keyboard is still running. Rangers Lead the Way!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars its a solid keyboard but other than being back lit not all that special, February 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LED Illuminated Ergonomic USB Multimedia Backlight Backlit Gaming Keyboard (3 Colors) (Personal Computers)
its a very solid keyboard good tactile response and no key ghosting perfect for gaming no macro buttons or customization software either however that was expected before purchase so not weighted in this review.

my only complaint is only a few weeks into use the most heavily used keys are staring to strip i recommend some clear cellophane tape being put over high traffic keys if your a gamer such as the W,A,S,D keys . it could have been that my finger tips were rather oily at the time which contributed to the paint stripping but still my old Logitech keyboard which i put through all hell lasted 3 years before any noticeable key stripping so after just 2 to 3 weeks is a serious issue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Performance, A Few Problems, January 18, 2014
By 
Risingpanther (Deep in the realm of books) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LED Illuminated Ergonomic USB Multimedia Backlight Backlit Gaming Keyboard (3 Colors) (Personal Computers)
The performance of this keyboard is fantastic thus far. The backlights are bright and colorful without being glaring, and the response time is significantly faster than the keyboard that this replaced. There are a few concerns that I would like to bring up for another potential buyer that brought it down a star.

First, it came with a manual that specifies that there are above regulation amounts of lead in the plastic (the regulations of the Chinese government from what I can tell in this case) so anyone who has kids may want to consider this purchase carefully. Also according to the same packaging there is a similar overabundance of cadmium in the circuit board, which is also known for causing heavy metal toxicity.

The second is that the small tri-fold manual that came with it was clearly put through Google translate with often hilarious results. Midway down it discusses "elegant humiliation function" regarding the backlights, and it took me a little while to make sense of how the backlight color change command works (it's Fn and 5 on the number pad for anyone else who had that problem) do to the absolutely poor English.

I'll continue to see how well it performs, those were just a couple of considerations for people who may want to purchase it that have small animals or kids that could potentially be harmed by the harmful substances used in the manufacturing process. So far, I'm pretty happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent keyboard, February 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Upon my first peruse of keyboards online, I was hesitant to purchase this because of the slightly different keyboard layout (the enter key and a couple of special characters are different from normal US keyboards due to the layout) and the Japanese markings I noticed on the box (just call me skeptical). I purchased it anyway because I thought I'd take a chance and save some money. I couldn't be happier! The layout is easy enough to get used to, and the onboard option for gaming mode is a helpful addition. The biggest plus I can give to this keyboard is the default setting for the Function key. The F1-F12 keys can be keybound easily in any game but have addition Function abilities that require the use of the Function key to activate, rather than other keyboards I have used that come set up to default to those abilities and require the use of the Function key for keybindings. This can be changed very easily if you want to revert to the other setup, however, making this keyboard perfect for anyone's desire. It is also built to be very fluid friendly: it includes a drain system to allow for easy redirection of any spillage down through a hole underneath the keyboard should any spillage occur.

Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, January 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Such a bang for your buck with 4 led modes. Keyboard is great! I just wish the legs lifted the back of the keyboard higher for a more angled typing. Overall defidently worth a 4 star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.