Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who, what, when, where why + how..., March 10, 2006
By 
B. Teris (San Francisco, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Illuminating the Word: The Making of The Saint John's Bible (Hardcover)
This book covers all the 'W's and the 'H'. This is a remarkable book to The Saint John's bible series/collection. You learn all the behind the scenes events as Calderhead spends years interviewing the crew and the Bible's sponsors/investors. Hundreds of colored photographs accompany the book allowing you to get a better feel for the construction of the Bible and its illuminations. One of the best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly entertaining, January 15, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Illuminating the Word: The Making of The Saint John's Bible (Hardcover)
I bought this book expecting to find at least general interesting facts and maybe an inside look at the illustrations in case that I never get to see the real thing and was surprised by the well told and interesting story behind the project, the author creates an atmosphere of closeness and inside access to something very important and treasured.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Making of the Saint John's Bible, August 25, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Illuminating the Word: The Making of The Saint John's Bible (Hardcover)
Elegant presentation. Beautifully printed book. Makes you want to run out ASAP to see the creation in the flesh!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Glorious Experience, August 5, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Illuminating the Word: The Making of The Saint John's Bible (Hardcover)
Illuminating the Word is beyond description for its beauty and transcendent text and illustrations. The
images are of the highest quality, and anyone who has actually seen the traveling exhibit of these illustrations
will find the book fabulous. Anyone who has not seen the traveling exhibit will find the book breathtaking, as
well. A must for anyone who is interested in the Bible, either historically, artistically, or for spiritual
inspiration. Bess Kuzma
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Illuminating, December 17, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Illuminating the Word: The Making of The Saint John's Bible (Hardcover)
I finally bought my own copy of this book after keeping a friend's copy for a shamelessly long time. Everytime I would pull it out to return it, something new would catch my eye and I would get sucked back in to sit down and read and I'd think, "I'll just keep it for a few more days and read this other part." A fascinating book with all the back story on a wonderful and fascinating project.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Illuminating the Word, March 8, 2007
This review is from: Illuminating the Word: The Making of The Saint John's Bible (Hardcover)
Over the top writing! I thought "page turner" only referred to novels but Christopher Calderhead's style had me riveted for hours at a time, unable to put down the book. As a calligrapher the subject matter was near and dear to my heart and to hear the process described in words of the scribes themselves was moving. Calderhead's attention to detail, minute observations of the scribes at work and his skill as an interviewer make for an interesting and compelling read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Illuminating the Word, January 3, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Illuminating the Word: The Making of The Saint John's Bible (Hardcover)
Excellent book depicting the making of the St. John's Bible. The pictures and illustrations are wonderful. It clearly brings back the experience of seeing the Bible display in person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ST JOHN'S BIBLE, August 3, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Illuminating the Word: The Making of The Saint John's Bible (Hardcover)
This is the first book of the St. John's collection I purchased and I am now addicted. It is wonderful and expains the history and the techniques used to create this amazing Bible. I recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The story behind the Collegeville Bible, March 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Illuminating the Word: The Making of The Saint John's Bible (Hardcover)
I have shared this book with a number of people and they have all been fascinated by the images from the Bible and the background information. I keep going back to it over and over as it is rich in content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars St. John's Bible, February 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Illuminating the Word: The Making of The Saint John's Bible (Hardcover)
The book is a very nice edition to my library. It has beautiful illustrations and text. I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Illuminating the Word: The Making of The Saint John's Bible
Illuminating the Word: The Making of The Saint John's Bible by Christopher Calderhead (Hardcover - April 1, 2005)
Used & New from: $6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.