Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeously illustrated, but...
...the editing leaves something to be desired. The paintings themselves are all beautifully executed and vividly rendered in full color (indeed, some are so finely detailed and realistic that they might almost be taken for modern photographs). Since the illustrations are likely the reason most people will purchase the book, I still give it four stars overall, in spite of...
Published on October 13, 2010 by Matthew Humphrey

versus
3 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars errors abound
its odd that such historians would allow the french army in 1870 to be armed with muzzle loaders and not chasspot breechloaders and boers in the early 1880s to be armed with later model mausers. whats up with this?
Published on October 7, 2010 by Frank Devones


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeously illustrated, but..., October 13, 2010
By 
Matthew Humphrey (Baltimore, MD United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: An Illustrated Encyclopedia of Military Uniforms of the 19th Century: An Expert Guide to the American Civil War, the Boer War, the Wars of German and Italian Unification and the Colonial Wars (Hardcover)
...the editing leaves something to be desired. The paintings themselves are all beautifully executed and vividly rendered in full color (indeed, some are so finely detailed and realistic that they might almost be taken for modern photographs). Since the illustrations are likely the reason most people will purchase the book, I still give it four stars overall, in spite of the caveats listed below. (Military modelers like myself, for instance, will no doubt find the book a great source of detailed pictorial information on post-Napoleonic 19th century uniforms, and some may not notice or care much about relatively minor textual quibbles.)

However, the supporting text seems to suffer somewhat from a lack of careful copy-editing; I have not yet read the book through, so I can't say for sure how widespread the errors are, but at least twice a caption or paragraph breaks off in mid-sentence, leaving the reader to suppy the rest as best they can. Once a pair of captions is transposed, with an American artillery officer in the Boxer Rebellion misattributed as a Bengal Lancer, and vice-versa. (Not a major problem of indentification for anyone at all interested in the subject, of course, but a minor annoyance at least.) I would hope that the publishers correct these errors in a subsequent edition, or at least issue an errata sheet.

Overall, though, I am pleased with this purchase, and I would still recommend the book on the strength of its excellent illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, But Full Of Errors, Errors & More Errors, November 7, 2010
By 
Michael J. Lubrano "Minister of Silly Walks" (Staten Island, New York, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: An Illustrated Encyclopedia of Military Uniforms of the 19th Century: An Expert Guide to the American Civil War, the Boer War, the Wars of German and Italian Unification and the Colonial Wars (Hardcover)
Once again, Lorenz Books issues a title with such great promise that turns out to be a let-down due to really poor editing. I just received my copy on Friday & was very disappointed in many errors that should have been caught before the book went to press. This book should be mandatory for any military history or uniformology buff's bookshelf but turns out to be one that you have to check the accuracy of by comparing with other titles.
Some of the worst offenses are:
1. Page 82/Brunswick Infantry Sgt:The uniform should be black & not green.
2. Page 114/Private,U.S. Sharpshooters: The frock coat is missing the early sky-blue or later emerald green piping. The print from the Company of Military Historians dating from the 1960's was relied on for this illustration but that was a mistake to not check other references.
3.Page 114/Private of Wilder's Lightning Brigade: This should have been labeled as a Brigade scout as the bulk of the Brigade carried full-length rifles such as the Spencer & not carbines.
4. Page 127/ 3rd New Jersey Cavalry: The hussar-style shell-jacket is missing the regulation yellow braid over the orange patch on the front of the collar. Also there is a bit of "blue" by the top of the collar patch just like in the CMH print's coloring error.
5. Page 131/Sgt. U.S. Marine Corps: This is a TOTALLY inexcusable error, the USMC undress frock coat had red piping on the cuffs & lower part of the collar only, not yellow piping all around the collar. That was part of the dress uniform's frock coat which was a totally different garment.
6. Page 117/ 39th New York-Garibaldi Guard & 88th Volunteer Infantry: The uniform jackets should be dark blue & not grey.
Considering the amazing artistic style of the illustrations it is a real shame that the book is ruined by piss-poor editing just like the previous "Uniform Encyclopedia" titles by Lorenz Books. Yes, errors do happen but with these books there are just far too many for them to be relied upon as a trustworthy reference. While I feel the American Civil War could have warranted it's own volume & it would have made an indispensible work for younger readers new to the subject I do recommemend the book but as always with these titles from Lorenz, with reservations. Hopefully the upcoming title on World War I will be properly proof-read & edited. I also feel it's about time for some real original research instead of just copying what's found in Company of Military Historians prints & Osprey Men-At-Arms titles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Uniforms are largely correct, Weapons are not, June 2, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: An Illustrated Encyclopedia of Military Uniforms of the 19th Century: An Expert Guide to the American Civil War, the Boer War, the Wars of German and Italian Unification and the Colonial Wars (Hardcover)
This is the third of these books I have bought and they are are excellent for the cheap price but come with some errors. No flipped plate descriptions like in previous volumes but the arms carried, particularly by the Imperial French troops are entirely wrong. The uniforms are great but they are shown carrying flintlocks rather then Chassepot or Tabatiere breechloaders. Same with the Zulu War era Boers show carrying 2nd Boer War era Mausers. The American Civil War, German, British and Italian sections don't seem to have these errors. Still a great book for the price as another has reviewed the cost of this book alone is less then the Osprey titles needed to cover one era, nation or war covered in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love the book!, April 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: An Illustrated Encyclopedia of Military Uniforms of the 19th Century: An Expert Guide to the American Civil War, the Boer War, the Wars of German and Italian Unification and the Colonial Wars (Hardcover)
Excellent and beautiful publication. Great info as well as many detailed and beautiful colorful illustrations. Only problem was that my first shipment was either lost in the mail or stolen from my doorstep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Military Uniforms of the 19th Century, June 22, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: An Illustrated Encyclopedia of Military Uniforms of the 19th Century: An Expert Guide to the American Civil War, the Boer War, the Wars of German and Italian Unification and the Colonial Wars (Hardcover)
I originally purchased this book for myself. As it was so interesting, I sent a copy of it for my son's birthday. We both think it is great. As a fine artist, the illustrations are exceptionally clear and very accurate portrails (we both liked the short "vignettes" (i.e.: the descriptions of the uniforms and the short stories as with Colour Sgt. Bourne of Rourkes Drift fame.) My son says he was very impressed with it (and gave it a positive thumbs up). If you are looking for a great reference book to the Imperial Armies and the standing armies of other countries that were once prominent during the Victorian-Edwardian Age or for just fun reading, this is your book. Very user friendly! Thank you for carrying such a fine product in your collection.
Sincerely yours, Two History Buffs,
Walter G Smythe, (USA Ret.) and Walter G.H.Smythe, Wareham, MA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely pictures, May 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: An Illustrated Encyclopedia of Military Uniforms of the 19th Century: An Expert Guide to the American Civil War, the Boer War, the Wars of German and Italian Unification and the Colonial Wars (Hardcover)
Bought this as a reference for model figures and it just gave me more ideas. Amazing pictures, interesting text. I want the whole series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, May 31, 2013
This review is from: An Illustrated Encyclopedia of Military Uniforms of the 19th Century: An Expert Guide to the American Civil War, the Boer War, the Wars of German and Italian Unification and the Colonial Wars (Hardcover)
Great book for anyone who needs accurate reference for uniforms. I competition paint historical miniatures and this book has it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A valuable tool!, June 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: An Illustrated Encyclopedia of Military Uniforms of the 19th Century: An Expert Guide to the American Civil War, the Boer War, the Wars of German and Italian Unification and the Colonial Wars (Hardcover)
A very informative book with great illustrations. Very useful for military historians, modelers, war gamers and anyone with an interest in this period of History. Highly recommend this book and the others in the series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellant referance source for period uniforms., July 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: An Illustrated Encyclopedia of Military Uniforms of the 19th Century: An Expert Guide to the American Civil War, the Boer War, the Wars of German and Italian Unification and the Colonial Wars (Hardcover)
I hand paint military 54mm soldiers both plastic and metal, excellent reference for uniforms of the period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome for uniform reference, October 8, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: An Illustrated Encyclopedia of Military Uniforms of the 19th Century: An Expert Guide to the American Civil War, the Boer War, the Wars of German and Italian Unification and the Colonial Wars (Hardcover)
I just got this and am completely blown away. What would have cost me a fortune in Osprey titles is nicely put together in one volume. I use it for my amateur toy soldier modeling, and there are more than enough great images to inspire years of projects ahead. I'm sure with any particular era there are a nearly infinite variety of uniform possibilities, but this is a good place to start for 19th Century reference. Now I can't wait to get that WW I volume next...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

An Illustrated Encyclopedia of Military Uniforms of the 19th Century: An Expert Guide to the American Civil War, the Boer War, the Wars of German and Italian Unification and the Colonial Wars
$35.00 $25.13
Usually ships in 1 to 4 months
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.