Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you love trees, you should own this book, December 26, 2003
By 
Brad VanAuken (Honeoye Falls, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Trees (Hardcover)
I value this almost as much as I do Dirr's Hardy Trees and Shrubs: An Illustrated Encyclopedia. What I like best about this book are (a) the wide variety of trees that it features and (b) the excellent illustrations, which provide far more detail on tree profiles, leaves, cones and other seedpods than other comparable books. So far, I have found illustrations for every tree that I have considered planting, including many uncommon ones. This book can really help you visualize what a particular tree will look like when you are designing your landscape.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blissful Hours with This Book, July 24, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Trees (Hardcover)
If you love trees you need to own this book. What an achievement for an artist not even 50 years old yet; 800 pages of astonishingly detailed paintings of hundreds of trees. The lifelike realism of form is matched in the coloring of all aspects of tree morphology and development, including bark, seeds, cones, berries, twigs, leaves and silhouettes. The first time I opened the book I thought the pictures were photographs. The more I examine the paintings the more agog I am that they came from a person's vision and hand - and the more I prefer them to photographs. People who love trees will understand what I mean when I say the paintings, with absolute realism,convey the spirit of trees in a way that photographs can't.
A book to covet until you own it. It's brilliant and extraordinary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A color-packed volume organized by type of tree, July 19, 2003
This review is from: The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Trees (Hardcover)
This comprehensive arboreal reference deserves a spot on any serious gardening library shelf. Illustrated Encyclopedia Of Trees has been 12 years in the making and is packed from cover to cover with detailed paintings of living trees which supplements the in-depth research conducted by botanist More and writer John White. The result is a color-packed volume organized by type of tree and including such details as geographic distribution, importance to American industry, and natural history. Some of this information is scattered in other volumes on trees; the depth of detail and intricate drawing of the trees featured in this superbly organized and presented encyclopedia set it apart from all others and make it a highly recommended, 'must' library reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, August 25, 2007
By 
David Owens (La Mirada, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Trees (Hardcover)
I collect books on trees, because I love trees. But not all books will do. I avoid gardening books and concentrate on dendrological or botanical type books because they are more useful to me. This is a great find because it is somewhat encyclopedic in nature and the drawings are wonderful. The only downside is that this is an English book and highlights trees grown there. It is much to large and heavy for a handbook, but it is nice to sit in your easy chair and slowly turn the pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book, May 26, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Trees (Hardcover)
I bought this for the library but now I want my own copy. It answers questions which field guides don't address. I was not bothered by the euro orientation -- in fact it had much more information about the Scarlet Oak than the recently lauded Dirr's.
Tree lovers: Get this book. It is cool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Trees, January 14, 2006
By 
The book is beautifully illustrated and is very thorough. Even though it might have more application in Europe than in North America, it still contains pertinent information for species found in the United States.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Visuals and text both excellent, February 17, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Trees (Hardcover)
The combination of this author and this illustrator has produced an amazing book. Both have a lifelong interest in trees. The author aimed to produce a book to be "read for pleasure", but maintained a high scientific standard throughout, so you'll need to know a scion from a taxon from a sport. (There is a helpful glossary.) But he never forgets his duty to keep the text interesting. So we learn every cricket bat for the last 300 years has come from a single willow and its descendents.

The max height and hardiness are given for each tree, plus a rank as to desirability on a scale of 1 to 5 . One is a top choice for the garden or grounds, 3 might be suitable for commercial use, and 5 is a tree not particularly recommended, if only because of "extreme dullness".

It's rare to find any author this knowledgeable, who can offer anecdotes and historical information on countless specimens. And the accompanying paintings are works of art in their own right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, August 9, 2007
This review is from: The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Trees (Hardcover)
David More has created a massive and beautifully realized book with such precision that it cannot help but leave the reader with a fuller appreciation of the spectacular grandeur and structural marvel known to us as trees. I'm not sure how it fares as a guide for identifying different varieties (i.e. it's organization, writing or ease-of-use) but that is not what initially impressed me about this work. Though retail price is $80 it seems somewhat reasonable given the grand scope of the project, which took More over ten years to complete, and a superior binding with thick glossy pages that shows to full advantage all More's capability as an artist. I can't imagine a better book on trees ever being published with this level of illustration. On a side note, there is something particularly false to me about photographs of trees, no matter how beautiful, or good the photographer is, so I'm discrediting them here--you may make a better guide book using photographs, but that is all, to a certain extent, it will ever be. This book focuses on trees species in Europe--particularly Great Britain--so that may be a tiny draw back, but American tree lovers should not be too disappointed after they leaf through a page or two of this extraordinary work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best darn book on trees u can get!, August 19, 2007
This review is from: The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Trees (Hardcover)
this book has everything u need on trees and it is one of a kind.the colour illustrations are wonderfully painted.the gang responsible for all areas of this book really new what they were doing.isnt there literary awards given out for this kind of acheivement?unique,complete,lovely and breathtaking!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars most comprehensive tree book on market, July 15, 2008
By 
Athaedrielle "Amazonian Denizen" (Greater San Francisco Bay Area, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is comprehensive -- but isn't organized by common or scientific name. It is organized by type of tree, though I'm not certain how they chose the ordering of the groups. Nevertheless, two indices in the back reference all the trees by common names and by latin names.

This isn't a photography-based book, but has everything illustrated with paintings. This is like one of those detailed naturist descriptions you'd see from the 17-1800's. The drawings are very precise -- and full of color (not faded or faint). They aren't fuzzy sketches -- they are precise naturalist drawings -- showing detail of leaves, nuts(fruits), bark, shape -- sometimes with multiple views of the same tree in different seasons (to see color & shape change).

There are few trees you will find that are *not* in this book, but very few. Many of the trees listed will talk about origins, growth conditions & habits, sizing, how it was named, usages, wood quality, author's subjective overall rating (which is a pretty good guide), origins -- (some common trees today are long-ago cross breeds). And -- I underscore this -- it's ALL ABOUT TREES -- so it's an extremely thorough (I've never seen its equal, let along better). At 830+ pages, and over 6 pounds, this isn't a pocket book. But it is a book you'll want to read or skim from cover-to-cover -- and keep as a permanent reference. Would be nice to have a permanent down-loadable version into a palmtop for portability...Encyclopedias are so heavy! :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Trees
The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Trees by John White (Hardcover - December 1, 2002)
Used & New from: $15.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.