Canon Rebel XSi DSLR Camera with EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS Lens (OLD MODEL)
Used & New from: $262.50
DSLR with Image stabilization in camera body or the lens ?? which is better Hi all,
I am a novice in the DSLR field and on the brink of buying my first DSLR.
I see some brands(Sony, Pentax, Olympus) having Image Stabilization included in the body of the camera (I think so) and Cannon has ImageStabilization in the lenses. The lenses with IS cost more than the ones without IS.
So is it better to buy camera body with IS and save some money with lenses as camera already has IS or invest more for lenses with IS??

Thanks...
asked by Grasshopper on October 15, 2008
Sort: Most Helpful first | Newest first | Oldest first
Showing 1-5 of 5 answers
A
votes
Ah Grasshopper,
As in most things in life, the answer depends on who you ask (says the old Kung-Fu matser as he strokes his long, white beard)

The argument in favor of in-body image stabilization sounds very convincing on the surface: Pay for the extra cost just once, save on all existing lenses, or new lenses that follow.

If you already have some good lenses from Pentax, Olympus or Minolta, then choosing a corresponding dSLR body with built-in image stabilization makes perfect sense. If not, then consider the following counter-arguments:

1. Good lenses (with or without IS) are often more expensive than a digital camera body, and have longer lifespan. Your digital camera body will most likely be obsolete in 4-5 years, but good lenses may serve you for 10 years or longer. So it makes less sense to pay extra for dSLR body with built-in IS.