Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Single Best MPA Book
This was the single best book of all the books I was required to read for my Masters in Public Administration, and it remains a valued reference in my rather large personal library.

Other books I recommend:
Normal Accidents: Living with High-Risk Technologies
Radical Man: The Process of Psycho-Social Development.
The Innovator's Dilemma: The...
Published on November 30, 2007 by Robert David STEELE Vivas

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Informative But confusing
This book was very informative but seemed packed with too much information and at times confusing. If my instructor had not assigned Intro to Public Administration along with this it would have been a little more difficult. Too much for a beginner.
Published 17 months ago by princess7


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Single Best MPA Book, November 30, 2007
This review is from: Images of Organization (Paperback)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Organizational Overview, May 22, 2011
By 
Greg Rogers (Columbus, GA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Images of Organization (Paperback)
Morgan's Images of Organization is a well written book. I purchased this book for a class in Adult Education, and it is remarkably interesting. The book is organized around eleven chapters and a postscript. The most interesting parts of the book are Chapters 2 through 7.

CH 2: Organizations as Machines
CH 3: Organizations as Organisms
CH 4: Organizations as Brains
CH 5: Organizations as Cultures
CH 6: Organizations as Political Systems
CH 7: Organizations as Psychic Prisons

These chapters represent the majority of the material relevant to organizational theory. Anyone who wants to learn more about organizational design should read this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and Brilliant, April 19, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Images of Organization (Paperback)
I loved reading this book. As a life-long student of organizational dynamics, I found Morgan's use of various metaphors to describe organizational theory to be both fascinating and an outstanding teaching tool. The book is a great teacher of the basic theoretical models and draws from the work of key thinkers in describing each model. As a stand-alone text it is very good, but I also envision using Morgan's metaphorical approach to enable organizations to become self-aware of their own patterns and how they impact overall effectiveness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books ever on organizations, November 9, 2010
This review is from: Images of Organization (Paperback)
Ignore the bad reviews below. This is one of the best books ever written on
organizations. If you are a serious student of management, this book is an essential
text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Images of Organization, May 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Images of Organization (Paperback)
Gareth Morgan has created a resource for global managers! The images of organization educate the reader on the eight metaphors, that, are designed to teach valuable insight on the different behaviors encountered in the workplace. This book is a well written artifact. Too bad there isn't a certifiable study guide that compacts the information for busy scholars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great book, February 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Images of Organization (Paperback)
This was a great book and nice to read.
It flowed well and really explained things....

Great historical perspective also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Identification of the images of organization, November 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Images of Organization (Paperback)
The metaphors of understanding the image of organizations and to identify the image by the characteristics exhibited by an organization became clear with help of Gareth Morgan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Different images of organisations, September 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Images of Organization (Paperback)
I iked the different paintings of organisations and helps one locate where their organisations are and where they can move to, I liked the fact that disadvantages and advantages are outlined. A reading reccommended for big and small organisations whether private or public
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Informative But confusing, August 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Images of Organization (Paperback)
This book was very informative but seemed packed with too much information and at times confusing. If my instructor had not assigned Intro to Public Administration along with this it would have been a little more difficult. Too much for a beginner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book.....Very Thought Provoking., July 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Images of Organization (Paperback)
Morgan's book helps you look at the organization in a metaphorical way. By doing that, it forces you to raise questions and examine objective avenues. Very enlightening. Great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Images of Organization
Images of Organization by Gareth Morgan (Paperback - May 9, 2006)
$103.00 $72.92
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.