Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His most popular album remastered and repackaged
John's back catalog was repackaged to commemorate what would have been his seventieth birthday. This album ranks up with "Plastic Ono Band" as one of his best solo works although this one is a little more accessible. The classic title track and "Jealous Guy" are the two big hits but all the other tracks are great as well. He searches for answers in "Gimme Some Truth" and...
Published on October 19, 2010 by Edgar Olivares

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars One good song
The only song worth listening to on this album is Imagine...
Everything else is terrible! I wish I had just bought the song...
Published 2 months ago by J. T. Berry


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His most popular album remastered and repackaged, October 19, 2010
By 
This review is from: Imagine (Audio CD)
John's back catalog was repackaged to commemorate what would have been his seventieth birthday. This album ranks up with "Plastic Ono Band" as one of his best solo works although this one is a little more accessible. The classic title track and "Jealous Guy" are the two big hits but all the other tracks are great as well. He searches for answers in "Gimme Some Truth" and "How?". There's the anti-war "I Don't Wanna Be A Soldier" and the mellow "Oh My Love". "Oh Yoko!" sounds very catchy while "Crippled Inside" seems autobiographical. Then there's "How Do You Sleep?" (with George playing guitar), where he is clearly talking to Paul. The booklet features sleeve notes and some photos, one of which has John holding a pig by its ears-a parody of Paul's "Ram" cover. The packaging is okay but it's the kind that's prone to scratches on the disc but that's a minor complaint.

John continued to write great songs after The Beatles as this album attests.It is a winner from start to finish that every music fan should have. If you already have the 2000 version, you might not need this but it's still great to have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His greatest Solo Recording Ever!, December 11, 2010
By 
Anthony Accordino (Massapequa Park, New York United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Imagine (Audio CD)
"Imagine", by John Lennon, is the crown jewel of his solo recording career. Released 40 years ago, it still stands as his best and most popular album ever. The title track is to this day, an anthem for peace, and remains a classic rock radio staple. The album is filled with quality musicianship and songwriting. The song "How Do You Sleep", is an obvious attack on Paul McCartney, and the fact that George Harrison appears on the song, playing some of the most stinging solo guitar of his career, speaks volumes about the relationship between Paul, and the other Beatles during that time period. "Jealous Guy", is an apologetic ballad, that hits the listener to the core, and was later remade into a hit record by Bryan Ferry and Roxy Music. The song "Gimme Some Truth", is an all out attack on politicians and the government. The haunting "I Don't Want To Be A Soldier", is a Vietnam era anti-war song that effectively takes the listener to the plight of the draftee, and pending death. Strong stuff indeed. "Oh Yoko", is a fun catchy pop tune, that pays homage to his wife, that actually works as an answer to those who basically trashed her for being Mrs John Lennon. Along with George Harrison's "All Things Must Pass", I believe John Lennon's "Imagine", are the two greatest solo Beatle recordings ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lennon's masterpiece!, January 19, 2000
This review is from: Imagine (Audio CD)
This is a product of a true genius! Not only do we have the song of the millenium ('Imagine') by the artist of the millenium but also an excellent assortment of acoustic and rock tracks. 'It's so hard', 'I don't want to be a soldier', 'Gimme some truth' and 'How do you sleep?' show Lennon's true characteristic grit with biting fuzzy guitar and equally fitting vocals. Emotional acoustic ballads like 'How?' and 'Oh my love' go nicely with the more jolly 'Jealous guy' and the folksy 'Crippled inside' and 'Oh Yoko!'. A great performance by John, Phil Spector and the Plastic Ono's and also by George Harrison who plays brillient slide guitar. Overall, an enlightening and cheerful album which follows nicely from the outstanding melancholy album 'Lennon/Plastic Ono band'. Nobody will ever rival John's lyrical abilities and certainly won't capture John's mood in quite the same way again. We miss you John.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album from start to finish., June 24, 2011
By 
Michael (Bogart, Georgia United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Imagine (Audio CD)
Released in 1971, over a year after The Beatles went their seperate ways. John Lennon's Imagine was the first album where he really recieved recognition as a solo artist and that he wasn't just the former memeber of the biggest band in the world. Although Lennon had a couple of hit singles already including "Give Peace A Chance" and "Instant Karma" and he also had one album to his credit "John Lennon/Plastic Ono Band" a year before but Imagine established him as a true solo artist. While Plastic Ono Band recieved a lot of critical acclaim, many fans were left scratching their heads over the album's raw style. This record (as I said in my review for Plastic Ono Band) sort of went back to the sound that he was known for with The Beatles. The previous record was more confessional which is why it is less produced in style. This time, he includes more echo with more guitars and an orchestra on some songs. The songs are more complex in arragements while I felt the debut included songs that were more simple.

The album opens with the title track which is Lennon's most popular but also universal song. The lyrics, while simple, make a strong statement but I always felt that was Lennon's best quality when writing lyrics. He was always direct and just said what was on his mind and it makes it even more poetic. The album closes with "Oh Yoko!" which is the happiest song on the record and a very beautiful but honest tribute to his wife. Other highlights on the album include the bittersweet "Jealous Guy" which shows a lovely side of Lennon I think. A personal favorite of mine is "I Don't Want To Be A Soilder Mama" which pre dates most of the Alternative music that came after Lennon. It's a song that sort of has to grow on you but I couldn't get enough of it after a few listens. "Gimme Some Truth" again shows how great John was at expressing his mind in the most honest and straigtforward way. I have in a way always felt the same way he describes in the song except I don't have the courage to express it the way he does. It's raw but still catchy in my mind. "Oh My Love" is another happy song from the record and one of Lennon's most underrated tracks, I think it should be included on every greatest hits compilation, even though it was never released as a single. "Crippled Inside" is a fun honky tonk song but the lyrics are still very personal and in a way in the style of Plastic Ono Band's lyrics. "How Do You Sleep" is another favorite and includes amazing guitar work. I always loved the track "How?" as well.

1971 was a pretty good year for most classic rock acts. The same year The Rolling Stones released Sticky Fingers, Led Zepplin 4 was also released the same year and even The Who released Who's Next. Put these albums together with Imagine and you have yourself a great year for rock music. This album still holds up very well and I highly recommend it to any music fan. While it may take a few listens to get into some of the tracks, it may end up on your favorite albums list. It did for me at least.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 100 Proof, Undiluted, Lennon, January 9, 2011
This review is from: Imagine (Audio CD)
"Imagine" is the pinnacle of John Lennon's solo albums. Coming after the experiment "Two Virgins" and the primal scream motivated "Plastic Ono Band," it was his turn to classic, accessible melodies and multi-faceted look at his complex personality. The title track alone is one of the best songs ever written, an anthem to Utopian vision that still rings true some five decades later.

In the course of "Imagine's" eleven songs, you hear Lennon the hippie romanticist on the title track, the hard edged political commentator ("Gimme Some Truth," "I Don't Wanna Be a Soldier"), the artist battling self doubt ("How?," "Jealous Guy") and the lovesick puppy ("Oh! Yoko!"). Of course, there's also the infamous divorce from Paul McCartney, "How Do You Sleep," where he snarls "the best thing you done was "Yesterday"...the sound you make is muzak to my ears." George Harrison adds a wicked slide guitar, which left little doubt to whose side he was on at the time (he also added a great solo to "Gimme Some Truth").

Probably more than any of his other solo albums, "Imagine" was Lennon's statement of purpose. It was his very public dismissal of The Beatles, an openly obvious attempt to prove that he could make 'hits' on his own, and proof to himself that he was still on solid musical footing in the seventies. "Imagine" was a kiss goodbye to the sixties as well as John Lennon's look to a hopeful future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most powerful song I've ever heard., September 5, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Imagine (Audio CD)
Simply put, Imagine is an unbelivable tune with lyrics so well thought out that the instint I heard the sample, I knew I had found a tune that would be by far better than any thing I think I'll ever hear again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars everything has an edge, April 25, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Imagine (Audio CD)
This album helped me survive adolescence. There is humor here (the lyric to "Crippled Inside", the harmonica in "Oh, Yoko"), but everything has an edge. The hard-rock string arrangements in "It's So Hard" and "How Do You Sleep" are brilliant and original. George Harrison is in eloquent form in "Gimme Some Truth" and "How Do You Sleep".
I also recommend PENTATONIC SCALES FOR THE JAZZ-ROCK KEYBOARDIST by Jeff Burns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, January 5, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Imagine (Audio CD)
Imagine is one of my favorite albums not only by John Lennon but by any artist. In my opinion, Imagine is John Lennon's best album and extremely progressive. Whether you are a fan of the Beatles or just love music, Imagine will be a wonderful addition to everyones collection of mucic albums.Recently, the world mourned the 30th anniversary of the passingor assasination of this great artist. Everyone will enjoy the sound of this great collection of songs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A dreamer, February 20, 2007
This review is from: Imagine (Audio CD)
An important element of the success of John Lennon's second solo effort, IMAGINE, was the musicians who assisted in this project: George Harrison, King Curtis, Nicky Hopkins, Klaus Voorman, Jim Keltner, Alan White, Joey & Tommy Badfinger, Jim Gordon, Mike Pinder and others contributed their talents to the sessions.

As on his first album, Lennon explored his concerns and pain on IMAGINE, (minus the scream therapy). He also expressed the love in his heart and his optimism for the future. Almost 40 years later, we need that hopefulness more than ever.

Includes a 16 page booklet that has song lyrics as well as stills from the IMAGINE movie, and other photos. Highest recommendation.

TOTAL RUNNING TIME -- 39:25
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Oldie but a Goodie, January 18, 2007
This review is from: Imagine (Audio CD)
I'm so glad to have purchased this CD. It's been long enough since I've heard it to serve as a great reminder of what a talented man John Lennon was. His music is beautiful yet raw, simple yet sophisticated. This album has stood the test of time very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6c5d648)

This product

Imagine
Imagine by John Lennon (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.