Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Imagining Monsters: Miscreations of the Self in Eighteenth-Century England 1st Edition

3.7 out of 5 stars 3 customer reviews
ISBN-13: 978-0226805566
ISBN-10: 0226805565
Why is ISBN important?
ISBN
This bar-code number lets you verify that you're getting exactly the right version or edition of a book. The 13-digit and 10-digit formats both work.
Scan an ISBN with your phone
Use the Amazon App to scan ISBNs and compare prices.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Buy used On clicking this link, a new layer will be open
$13.94 On clicking this link, a new layer will be open
Buy new On clicking this link, a new layer will be open
$34.00 On clicking this link, a new layer will be open
More Buying Choices
20 New from $23.60 14 Used from $9.89 1 Collectible from $39.99
Free Two-Day Shipping for College Students with Amazon Student Free%20Two-Day%20Shipping%20for%20College%20Students%20with%20Amazon%20Student


Save Up to 90% on Textbooks Textbooks
$34.00 FREE Shipping on orders over $35. In Stock. Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

  • Imagining Monsters: Miscreations of the Self in Eighteenth-Century England
  • +
  • Monsters of the Gévaudan: The Making of a Beast
Total price: $66.72
Buy the selected items together

Editorial Reviews

About the Author

Dennis Todd is Associate Professor of English at Georgetown University.
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE



Product Details

  • Paperback: 357 pages
  • Publisher: University Of Chicago Press; 1 edition (November 15, 1995)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0226805565
  • ISBN-13: 978-0226805566
  • Product Dimensions: 6 x 0.8 x 9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 3.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #2,075,396 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

5 star
67%
4 star
0%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
33%
See all 3 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback
You really must read the first page of this -- it's shocking, true, and the study never lets up. Todd has a brilliant and learned eye for what's most interesting about this era. Great book.
Comment 3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
This book is a undiscovered treasure that deserves a much larger audience. Todd is an extremely gifted writer with a talent for dry understatement. His style is perfectly suited to his story, which, in a lesser writer's hands, would read like an 18th century supermarket-tabloid tale (which it is, in many ways!). The stylistic subtleties appear to have flown straight over the head of the first reviewer. Never mind. This book is solidly in the tradition of W. J. Bate and Simon Schama: a scholarly work written with an elegant fluency that's far too rare among scholars. It will appeal to all kinds of readers, in the academy and far beyond.
I was able to locate a paperback edition that was much cheaper than the hardcover, but apparently is out of print. I urge the publisher to reissue the paperback, and find this gem the audience it deserves.
Comment 4 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
This book attempts to put the the theory of 'maternal impressions' into the context of 18th century society and medical thinking. In particular, it recounts the case of Mary Toft, a woman from Godalming in Surrey who claimed to give birth to numerous rabbits! It is clearly the result of considerable research, but the author is very far from a 'natural writer' and bores his audience throughout. A generous helping of turgid sociological commentary throughout does not help matters. I can now understand why this book semms to have sunk without a trace soon after publication.
Comment 4 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
Imagining Monsters: Miscreations of the Self in Eighteenth-Century England
This item: Imagining Monsters: Miscreations of the Self in Eighteenth-Century England
Price: $34.00
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com