Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Appealing characters, predictable storylines
Jay, Franny, Stevie, and Emerson became fast friends during their days at Princeton and have remained steadfast. Jay is married to Vivienne. Franny is still single wanting to find true love and have a baby desperately. Stevie has commitment issues since she never knew who her father was as a child. Emerson is a single mother faced with the needs and demands of her...
Published on May 12, 2006 by N. Larrabee

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Painfully unreadable
I'm sure I've read every one of Ms. Goudge's books and, for the most part, have enjoyed each of them. This one, however, was excruciating. I kept waiting for something to happen. Even the death of Jay's and Vivienne's baby was somewhat glossed over - it was obviously just a means of getting Jay single for the sake of the plot.

After I put down the book...
Published on April 9, 2007 by Efrem


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Painfully unreadable, April 9, 2007
By 
Efrem (Cincinnati) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Immediate Family (Hardcover)
I'm sure I've read every one of Ms. Goudge's books and, for the most part, have enjoyed each of them. This one, however, was excruciating. I kept waiting for something to happen. Even the death of Jay's and Vivienne's baby was somewhat glossed over - it was obviously just a means of getting Jay single for the sake of the plot.

After I put down the book (unfinished) half way through, I re-read the acknowledgements. Ms. G. dutifully praised her editor. For what, I have absolutely NO idea. The discrepancies were glaring (things an EDITOR is supposed to catch - which is why they're called editors). For example, when Jay is first introduced, he's a farm boy from Iowa. Several chapters later, he's from Wisconsin. When Franny goes into labor she calls her doctor who is on the golf course and she mentions having interrupted his putting. Not two pages later, there's concern about her not making it to the hospital in time to give birth because of the snow storm. Snow storm? But her doctor is golfing!!! This was just too painful to put up with - so it got returned to the library without so much as a backward glance.

Stick to reading (or re-reading) her earlier novels. They're considerably better put together than this one (which I think became the orphan child in order to get her cook book through publishing).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Appealing characters, predictable storylines, May 12, 2006
By 
This review is from: Immediate Family (Hardcover)
Jay, Franny, Stevie, and Emerson became fast friends during their days at Princeton and have remained steadfast. Jay is married to Vivienne. Franny is still single wanting to find true love and have a baby desperately. Stevie has commitment issues since she never knew who her father was as a child. Emerson is a single mother faced with the needs and demands of her young daughter and dying mother. Franny helps Jay recover from a tragedy and Jay helps Franny with her dream. Stevie's mother one day decides to reveal who her father is. Stevie's father never questions it. Emerson discovers love for herself and not what her mother wants for her. The four main characters were genially written as people anyone could relate to. This novel is for you if you are looking for something easy to read with no surprises.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A closer look at friendship, June 11, 2006
This review is from: Immediate Family (Hardcover)
Four friends, Stevie, Jay, Emerson and Franny, meet at Princeton and continue their friendship long after graduation. This book, although sometimes predictable, tells the story about finding love where you least expect it and how precious friendships can be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book!, January 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Immediate Family (Paperback)
Have thoroughly enjoyed every Eileen Goudge book I've read. Would highly recommend her as an author. Found her accidentally and so glad I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable read, April 12, 2010
This review is from: Immediate Family (Paperback)
I loved this book. It moved quickly. I enjoy how the characters lives are intertwined moving from each characters vantage point. I will be looking into more of Eileen Goudge's work. Positive and uplifting story of young women finding love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well-tied Story of Four Friends, September 27, 2008
This review is from: Immediate Family (Paperback)
Admittedly, I have stayed away from books that focus on multiple characters or sets of friends. I guess I read too many of them when I was younger and I find it more engaging when I can soak up a single character. Given that, this book far exceeded my expectations. The characters where all likable and believable and their stories were smoothly woven together. It kept me fully engaged throughout the book. A really good read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BFF, June 26, 2008
This review is from: Immediate Family (Hardcover)
Stevie Light, Jay Gunderson, Frannie, and Emerson Fitzgibbons have been friends since they met in college. Though life has taken them in different roads they are always there for each other.

Stevie's mom was a hippie and never told her who her father was, so it came as a surprise that her father was Grant Tobin, a member of a popular band in the 1960's who has been a recluse since a shooting at his house left a woman in a comma for many years. Stevie is a Hollywood reporter, who tries to investigate the shooting while trying to get over her former boyfriend Ryan.

Jay Gunderson is a business man who is married to Vivianne, a French model who is pregnant. He and Franni have always been close so when she is thinking about becoming a mother he offers her his services and she becomes pregnant.

Since Franni turned 35 she wanted a baby. After becoming pregnant by Jay she meets an author who is writing a book about Grant Tobin. They get serious fast, but after the death of Jay and Viviianne's son and Viviannes long term trip to France Franni sees Jay in a different light and she realizes she may have feelings for Jay that are more than just friendly.

Emerson Fitzgibbons is a single mother raising her young daughter while coping with her mother who has cancer. She meets her mothers nurse Reggie, from Nigeria, and starts a relationship with him. Shortly after the relationship though Reggie finds out that he is to be deported and the stress puts a strain on their relationship.

What happens with the four friends? Read Immediate Family
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Friends and family.., June 20, 2006
This review is from: Immediate Family (Hardcover)
This book is full of friends and family. I loved this book and these four friends. We have a whole lot of drama and nothing really surprises you but this is a great book to read on an airplane or at the beach. This is by first book by Ms. Goudge but it won't be the last. We have one, who is married and getting ready to have a child. But when his wife suggests that his best friend Franny get pregnant by him so that she can have a child, it changes everything. Another girl has never even known who her dad is and one day her mom just pops out with it. Her dad is being accused of murdering a woman, but the estranged daughter helps exhonerate her dad. Very intriguing book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fine character study, April 25, 2006
This review is from: Immediate Family (Hardcover)
When the quartet attended Princeton as undergraduates, they became the best of friends. However, over the years since college they went their separate ways, but kept in close contact with one another and soon they plan to get together to celebrate their fifteen year reunion though each has some family issues.

Los Angeles TV reporter Stevie has recently learned the identity of her mystical father, 1970s rock star Grant Tobin. In Manhattan, publicist Emerson knows first hand the troubles of the sandwich generation as she raises a child while caring for her ailing snooty mother. Literary agent Franny has always wanted a husband and kids, but feels her biological clock is winding down and no male seems like Mr. Right. Jay is engaged to pregnant Vivienne, but agrees to donate sperm to Franny.

Franny becomes pregnant and meets the nice Keith, but instead finds she dreams of Jay, who reciprocates her desires. Emerson begins to fall in love with her mother's night nurse Nigerian Reggie, but Immigration has revoked his visa. Stevie meets Grant and begins to unravel why she fears commitment.

The lead foursome are likable flawed character struggling with varying personal issues. Though the story line is straight forward with no twists, fans will enjoy following the quartet's relationships with one another (think the TV show Friends without the humor). Eileen Goudge provides a fine character study that in some ways reads like an IMMEDIATE FAMILY drama.

Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WISH THIS BOOK DID HAVE TO END, January 7, 2007
By 
This review is from: Immediate Family (Hardcover)
I just finished reading IMMEDIATE FAMILY, and I didn't want it to end. I am an Eileen Goudge fan. I can't say I have read all of her books, but I have read some, and I have always liked them.

At times I felt that the books was only about Emerson, Franny, and Jay. And Stevie was just an after thought and sprinkled in at times, but that's okay it was a great book. I had a hard time finishing it because I didn't want it to end.

I was really ready to hate and truly dislike Vivienne, Jays wife, and Margaret, Emerson's mother. But Eileen didn't mean for us to hate them. Maybe not like them all that much, but see that they were flawed, human, and products of their upbringings.

Vivienne being a spoiled only child, was not taught that life had consequences, and that in the end life asks you for payment of that consequence. I think she loved Jay and Franny in her own way, but being selfish and self-centered it never occurred to her that they had feelings. Especially Jay. Having to deal with the death of his son alone while she ran off to France.

Margaret was also self-centered, selfish, and I assume spoiled. She also wallowed in her pride, especially after her husband's death. It must have been really hard to keep up a stiff upper lip when she found out that maybe she wasn't totally poor, but just having enough money to live and keep her nice apt. But then in her time it wasn't proper for her to go out and get a job, even if she had a college degree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Immediate Family
Immediate Family by Eileen Goudge (Hardcover - May 2, 2006)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.