Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Melvins Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$12.02+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 19, 2012
Immortals is exactly what you would think it is. A sweet action movie with decent acting and a tense plot line. If you like movies like "300" or "Troy" you will like this movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2012
I actually gave the film one star because the major fight scene near the end did involve some entertaining CGI. However, as for the rest of the film I would warn you to not waste your money. The movie seems to be pointless dribble spaced between several fight scenes. There is no building and expanding of the plot so the viewer is left feeling cold and basically non-invested in the films progress. The characters never develop and remain so one dimensional that if they were to turn sideways one would not be able to see them. in essence it was a gathering of uninteresting characters that lacked any significant background information, a jumpy story line and a few fight sequences of which I only found one actually worth really watching. If you have some money to throw away I would suggest that you find a homeless person to give it to rather than wasting it on this failed attempt at entertainment.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 31, 2012
Really enjoying the new 3D films (with a couple of exceptions). This film was very enjoyable in 3D - decent story with really cool visuals.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon March 29, 2012
One brave warrior, graced by the gods, must overcome enormous odds to save mankind from a mighty and merciless tyrant in the Tarsem Singh directed epic tale of vengeance and destiny. The plot has power-crazed King Hyperion threatening to destroy all humanity in his maniacal quest to obtain the legendary Epirus Bow, an ultimate weapon that can unleash war on both Heaven and Earth. The sometimes visually compelling but weakly told story -- the screenwriters are Vlas and Charles Parlapanides -- is a cutting-edge melding of practical sets and finely honed CG work. The effective cast includes: Henry Cavill, Luke Evans, Kellan Lutz, Isabel Lucas, Stephen Dorff, John Hurt and Mickey Rourke. The combo Blu-ray pack features an Alternate Beginning and two Alternate Endings, Behind the Scenes, Deleted Scenes, as well as a 3-D version.

But that said, this is a horrendous fail on all levels. The flamboyantly silly costumes, the gilded sets and over-wrought dialogue made me think that at any moment the short skirted warriors in their sparkly costumes were going to line up to do synchronized high kicks to a big show tune dance number.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2013
After watching the previews for Immortals, I was expecting the film to be like the Clash of the Titans remake, but a lot gorier. With that in mind, I was not necessarily disappointed when I finally say the movie. Immortals is a simple, forgettable action flick that happens to be set in ancient Greece. With a weak, sometimes presumptuous storyline, and characters that are thrown in seemingly at random, it certainly won't win any awards for writing, nor for acting, though Henry Cavill and Mickey Rourke give convincing performances as the film's hero and villain. Visually, the movie is beautiful; the settings are epic, the CGI is very good, and all the actors and actresses are gorgeous. The action is corny, but well done. The film's style also deserves a nod; it's reminiscent of 300, but brighter and slicker. But its style can't make up for all its flaws. While watching it, I wondered if the producers chose the actors based on physical attractiveness alone. Mix in some unnecessary gore and brief nudity and you've got a film that is not really worth seeing unless it's for free.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2012
This was very well done, with a nice artistic spin. The direction and cinematography was done quite nicely too. I enjoyed the fights and the portrayal of the Gods. Overall nicely done.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 5, 2013
Engaging movie to watch - a bit confusing at first and not exactly the Theseus story that I studied in school, but it's entertaining. Cavill does a very good pre-Superman performance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2012
First of all please get rid of all your expectations! This is not "300" or "Thor", or Greek Mythology 101! This is definitely not "Clash of the Titans"! Much, much better! Tarsem Singh is a visionary genius, that alone should get you interested. If you have never seen "The Cell" or "The Fall, check them out too. With "Immortals" Tarsem has created a truly beautiful film using elements of the Theseus myth. It is a work of art first and foremost. Fantastic cast. Henry Cavill is genius casting as Theseus. If you are familiar with his Charles Brandon in "The Tudors" you will be amazed at his transformation into the quintessential Greek warrior. Frieda Pinto is gorgeous. Mickey Rourke, usually not one of my favorite actors, even he is believable as Theseus nemisis Hyperion. John Hurt, Stephen Dorff, Luke Evans, Isabel Lucas, Kellan Lutz. Beautiful CGI cinematography. Brilliant costume design. Lots of buff bodies. Great fight choreography, including two of the best fight scenes I have ever seen. There is blood but you have to expect that in the context. I am puzzled by some of the bad reviews this film has receive. Several reviewers have put it on their top movies of 2011. All I can say is, in my opinion, this was was one of the best all round enjoyable movies to come along in quite awhile. When I first saw it on cable pay per view I was so blown away that I watched it several more times and then went right out and bought the Blu-ray with the digital copy. I am still kicking myself for not seeing it in the theater with 3D!
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2014
This is not my normal kind of movie. I watched it because Henry Cavill is in it, and wow, it was fantastic. He is an awesome actor, and I'll watch anything he's in form here on out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2012
Uggh. No budget! Throw in t and a and cheap fight scenes. little choreography. he nails the girl after knowing her, uhh, 3 days?
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.