Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Educational and essential
I bought this book to learn about fallout, radiation, and preparations that
can save lives. The scope of this book is very broad and I have been able
to educate others using this. I was disappointed that he had no source
listed for renewable power for the fallout shelter light. But I have found
that from other sources. I like the way he gives one the...
Published on February 27, 2012 by jeun

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very confusing and amateur drawings
The written content of the book may be helpful, and the author is certainly known to have a reputation for skills and experience with the subject matter, however, the drawings, which are somewhat important in a book about structures look like something drawn on a early-1980's computer. They're of almost no use for those whom are accustomed to reading any sort of plans or...
Published 20 months ago by Macgyver in PA


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Educational and essential, February 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Implement a High Security Shelter in the Home (Paperback)
I bought this book to learn about fallout, radiation, and preparations that
can save lives. The scope of this book is very broad and I have been able
to educate others using this. I was disappointed that he had no source
listed for renewable power for the fallout shelter light. But I have found
that from other sources. I like the way he gives one the opportunity to
be secure through knowledge and refer to the manual often, especially
to the part about water preservation with a healthy oxygen droplet instead
of using household bleach. He reveals the downside of bleach on one's
health and the fact that it does not last as long as oxygen drops. His
sources are expired on some things but I usually find my own sources
anyway once I know the name of what will work for the long-term.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected but useful, June 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Implement a High Security Shelter in the Home (Paperback)
I was hoping to find a technical book on constructing a reinforced underground room. This book is mainly aimed towards those who want to add a secure room in an existing home. The construction techniques described are unusual from the conventional view point, but coming from Mr Skousen, I'm sure they are dependable. The book includes easy to read technical drawings and step by step instructions for the homeowner that wishes to do the work himself.
Hopefully another manual will come out that will have what I'm looking for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Be aware of newer edition with different title, June 2, 2013
By 
Russell Wier (Pensacola, FL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: How to Implement a High Security Shelter in the Home (Paperback)
In the wake of the tornado that struck Moore, Oklahoma in May 2013, this book has gone into high demand and some sellers are charging ludicrous prices for used copies of it. Be aware that this book is an old edition and a newer edition is available that is titled "The High Security Shelter - How to Implement a Multi-Purpose Safe Room in the Home." You can find it here on Amazon, The High Security Shelter - How to Implement a Multi-Purpose Safe Room in the Home, or purchase directly from the author's website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative Security Shelter Primer, February 4, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Implement a High Security Shelter in the Home (Paperback)
As an architectural designer, I was looking for information for building shelters and safe rooms for clients. I would say that this book is a thorough and well written, and covers a broad range of incidentals that would need to be considered in the design and use of such shelters. I disagree with one of the other reviewers in reference to the architectural drawings in the book. While the drawings have a definite early 1990's feel, and could benefit from newer CAD technology, I found the drawings to be to standard construction drawing specifications and gave the reader a better understanding of the topics that the author was detailing in the text. Much of the book's information is provided more from the standpoint of trying to provide ideas to be applied to each individual situation, rather than a one size fits all design. There are also diagrams provided within the text to simply illustrate the general idea of a layout being described by the text. These Items include trap door escapes, plumbing, battery storage, and off-grid solar, to name a few. These diagrams merely provide an overview of a general set-up as each system is typically different based upon the manufacturer's specifications. That being said, they all seem to provide enough information to help those who are not familiar with the building industry make better, educated decisions on what they need. This also helps the homeowner to have a better conversation with their architect, contractor and building official, if need be.

Overall, I would say this book would be great for anyone from those concerned with their personal safety at home, to the DIYer that wants to build a shelter, as well as architects and contractors. Not only does the book provide the details that need to be considered, but it also provides a step by step construction overview and also sources to contact for materials and additional information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very confusing and amateur drawings, January 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: How to Implement a High Security Shelter in the Home (Paperback)
The written content of the book may be helpful, and the author is certainly known to have a reputation for skills and experience with the subject matter, however, the drawings, which are somewhat important in a book about structures look like something drawn on a early-1980's computer. They're of almost no use for those whom are accustomed to reading any sort of plans or drawings. I'm a handy person with above-average spatial abilities and can conceptualize 3d spaces pretty easily. Despite such, these drawing were more confusing than non-english instructions in cheap products. It's worth about $5 at best.

For the price of this book, I found this to be utterly disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good service, March 29, 2009
This review is from: How to Implement a High Security Shelter in the Home (Paperback)
Received product before expected and have already read book. Focus is on using existing structure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

How to Implement a High Security Shelter in the Home
How to Implement a High Security Shelter in the Home by Joel Skousen (Paperback - February 1, 2009)
Used & New from: $40.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.