Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent film
I had heard neither of the film nor of Rafael Trujillo (shame on my narrow education) until I saw the movie at a museum in New York City a few years ago. Isabella Rossellini spoke afterward about how important the story was to her and why she readily took a tremendous salary cut to perform in the film. The movie is beautifully shot and all performances are stellar. I...
Published on August 1, 2010 by Shopaholic

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars BUY BOOK INSTEAD!
Movie is weak and watered down. I guess the producers/directors thought transferring the hardcore events within the book to the movie was too much. Why? I have no idea. But what a waste! They focused on his lite whore mongering NOT on his unsatiable appetite for young flower girls, or his hate for Blacks coming in from Haiti or the notorious house of horrors 'La Cuarenta...
Published on November 24, 2011 by spain fuentes


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent film, August 1, 2010
By 
Shopaholic (Fleetwood, NY USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: La Fiesta Del Chivo (The Feast of the Goat) [*Ntsc/region 1 & 4 Dvd. Import-latin America] Isabella Rossellini (Spanish subtitles) (DVD)
I had heard neither of the film nor of Rafael Trujillo (shame on my narrow education) until I saw the movie at a museum in New York City a few years ago. Isabella Rossellini spoke afterward about how important the story was to her and why she readily took a tremendous salary cut to perform in the film. The movie is beautifully shot and all performances are stellar. I searched for this film for quite a while and I am delighted to have finally acquired La Fiesta Del Chive in English as I first experienced it and I will enjoy watching it many times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars BUY BOOK INSTEAD!, November 24, 2011
This review is from: La Fiesta Del Chivo (The Feast of the Goat) [*Ntsc/region 1 & 4 Dvd. Import-latin America] Isabella Rossellini (Spanish subtitles) (DVD)
Movie is weak and watered down. I guess the producers/directors thought transferring the hardcore events within the book to the movie was too much. Why? I have no idea. But what a waste! They focused on his lite whore mongering NOT on his unsatiable appetite for young flower girls, or his hate for Blacks coming in from Haiti or the notorious house of horrors 'La Cuarenta Prison'. THe best movie is Tropico De Sangre and second to that is Time of the butterflies. Honestly the BOOK IS THE BEST.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Mind Opener into Dominican History, October 8, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: La Fiesta Del Chivo (The Feast of the Goat) [*Ntsc/region 1 & 4 Dvd. Import-latin America] Isabella Rossellini (Spanish subtitles) (DVD)
This film gives insight as to some historic events during the Trujillo era. It left me spelled bound and I wonder how people permit these kinds of atrocities to go on. It also left me wondering as to what goes on in the makings of monsters who are capable of committing these kinds of atrocious crimes. Question: Why did they named him "El Chivo." Does anybody out there know?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Dvd, March 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: La Fiesta Del Chivo (The Feast of the Goat) [*Ntsc/region 1 & 4 Dvd. Import-latin America] Isabella Rossellini (Spanish subtitles) (DVD)
This Dvd is based on the book by the same name. It is part fiction part reality. Gives you an inside look at some of the not so nice stuff that Mr. Trujillo did along his political reign. The movie is very interesting, but like I said before it is part fact part fiction, so if you wish to learn a bit more about this character, you will need to read a bit more about him, this is just one man's interpretation of him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Trujiloo, the enD OF AN ERA, February 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: La Fiesta Del Chivo (The Feast of the Goat) [*Ntsc/region 1 & 4 Dvd. Import-latin America] Isabella Rossellini (Spanish subtitles) (DVD)
Good, strong, real picture. It portrays a real and raw President who did not care who and when he step on his 'enemies'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dad's collection, December 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: La Fiesta Del Chivo (The Feast of the Goat) [*Ntsc/region 1 & 4 Dvd. Import-latin America] Isabella Rossellini (Spanish subtitles) (DVD)
My dad was telling me about his country and the things he had to deal with growing up haveing this book he was able to tell me if the information was accurate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Maravillosa, March 26, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: La Fiesta Del Chivo (The Feast of the Goat) [*Ntsc/region 1 & 4 Dvd. Import-latin America] Isabella Rossellini (Spanish subtitles) (DVD)
Great Movie Love it, Muy buena me parecio maravillosa poder ver la historia de mi patria aunque sea parte ficticia...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good and acurate account of the Trujillo era.., October 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: La Fiesta Del Chivo (The Feast of the Goat) [*Ntsc/region 1 & 4 Dvd. Import-latin America] Isabella Rossellini (Spanish subtitles) (DVD)
For those who are interested in the Trujillo era in Dominican Republic this is a must have. I wish more motion pictures would be made of the bygone era of military dictatorship in Latin America which beats today's opportunistic crooks and demagogs. Latin America is not the United States and people respect order not an imposed quasi democracy. With the military in power there was law, respect, order and definition. Now many of those country's are simply floating aimlessly like a log in a bog while the elected leaders prostitute the county's politics and enrich themselves with complete impunity and to their hearts content. Interested in a liberal view of what was... definitely buy it, it's what we have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, August 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: La Fiesta Del Chivo (The Feast of the Goat) [*Ntsc/region 1 & 4 Dvd. Import-latin America] Isabella Rossellini (Spanish subtitles) (DVD)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.