Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This isn't a perfect film with the perfect camera...
Remember even expired film still works... depending on how many years. I shot my first box of this film about a year ago and the images were horrid. I shoot it now and the images are far better. Keep an eye on your exposure comp dial (turning to dark will make it dark, turning to light will make it light) so remember your lighting. The film is about ISO 150, camera is a...
Published 6 months ago by Shawn Ramirez

versus
46 of 46 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Still not impossible, but still not perfect
Impossible, this (still) is not. This is perhaps Impossible's third (and latest) formula, and although there are some minor improvements, it is still very fickle. Don't get me wrong, though-- in terms of price and reliability, Impossible's film is a much better alternative than buying old Polaroid film. Overall, Impossible still has a long way to go until their film can...
Published 12 months ago by P. Phan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 46 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Still not impossible, but still not perfect, January 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Impossible PRD2783 Color Film for Polaroid Sx-70 Cameras (Camera)
Impossible, this (still) is not. This is perhaps Impossible's third (and latest) formula, and although there are some minor improvements, it is still very fickle. Don't get me wrong, though-- in terms of price and reliability, Impossible's film is a much better alternative than buying old Polaroid film. Overall, Impossible still has a long way to go until their film can be considered objectively (rather than relatively) good. As always, keep these extremely important tips in mind:

- SET YOUR EXPOSURE DIAL: Start your SX-70's exposure dial from the darkest setting, and work your way up. I've never had to go past the middle point, actually. You will probably never have to set the dial to the brightest setting. Indoors, darkest/ second-darkest (with flash) did the trick, while outside in the day it was anywhere from second darkest to least dark. Not sure yet about night shots.

- SHIELD YOUR POLAROIDS: Immediately turn your camera upside down the moment it spits the camera out, or shield your hand over it, or install the Impossible Frog Tongue. Any light hitting the picture in its first few minutes may dramatically affect the exposure.

- DEVELOP PROPERLY: Polaroids should develop face-down in a dark, warm place (the darkness is the most important part, warmth is optional but helpful.), NEVER in direct sunlight or lamp-light. DO NOT SHAKE THEM! These babies take about half an hour to even start taking shape, and an hour to fully develop. Keep it face-down that whole time!

Warmth eliminates a slight blue tinge. It won't be so dramatic that your friend will comment "Wow, this picture is blue!" But there will be a slight blue filter look to it. If it's TOO warm, like you're developing it outside on a 90-degree day, expect an orange tinge. If it's TOO cold, like you leave it on the windowsill on a 40-degree night, your picture will be underdeveloped.

- STORE PROPERLY: Put film packs in the fridge and make sure they stay dry. Let them return to room temperature (for at least an hour) before use.

THE FILM ITSELF
Compared to the previous formula (in the white box), this film is still pretty much exactly the same. Impossible has promised faster development times, and I have noticed a difference-- however, this is still not *instant* film, with development times shrinking from 50 - 60 minutes to 30 - 40 minutes, rather than to 5.

PROS
- Still great colors and contrast. Not much change compared to previous formulas, but that's not necessarily a bad thing.
- Larger than Fujifilm Instax 8 photos (3" x 4"x vs 3" x 2")-- over 2x larger surface area!
- Sturdy photos, less flimsy than Fujifilm photos

CONS
- Absurdly high price-- $3 a shot, technically $4 if you use disposable flashbars
- Extremely long development times-- over half an hour, compared to less than 5 minutes for Fujifilm
- Tendency to be overexposed-- your camera's exposure dial must (almost) always be in the dark range to compensate
- Extremely sensitive during the development stage

SO HOW DO POLAROIDS COMPARE TO FUJIFILM?

Fujifilm is the only other major manufacturer of instant cameras on the market. They're more successors than competitors, but it's only natural that there's a big divide in the instant photography community over this.

AVAILABILITY
Since this film is specifically for the SX-70 series, I won't have to mention the Polaroid 300 or Z2300. Polaroids are vintage items, so they will be much harder to find, in a much wider variety of conditions than the Fujifilm Instax Mini 8 Instant Film Camera (White) and Fujifilm INSTAX 210 Instant Photo Camera, for example. They WILL however, be about the same price-- as of late 2014, box-type SX-70s are going for around $60 while the folding SX-70s go for around $120. You should know this going in. My only tips are to make sure that the camera you're buying has been film tested, and also to look on more places than just Amazon to buy a camera.

PHOTOGRAPHY
If you're a serious lomographer, then you want the Polaroid SX-70 Alpha Instant Folding Camera. It's an SLR with manual focus. Back in the day, this was the choice for professional Polaroid photographers. No Fujifilm Instax compares.
If you just want pictures for memories and for fun, then you want the Polaroid OneStep SX-70 White/Rainbow Camera or Impossible PRD3109 SUN 660 Auto Focus Camera Kit (Black). This camera was for people who just wanted snapshots. However, there are several other factors to consider...

EASE OF USE
Fujifilm wins, plain and simple. Fujifilm has captured that instant magic, with photos that takes less than 5 minutes to develop. Furthermore, their film is nowhere near as sensitive and unstable as Impossible is. If you want instant photography AND the experience of using an authentically vintage piece of machinery, then go Polaroid. If you just want instant photography with no hassles and you don't care about any vintage-ness, go with the Fujifilm. If you do end up choosing the Polaroid, I encourage you to look at blogs, how-tos, etc. and avoid making any rookie mistakes.

PRICE
Fujifilm is also the clear winner here. At $3 a shot, Polaroids are triple the price of Fujifilm's nice-and-easy $1 a shot. The Fujifilm cameras also come with built-in flashes, while the SX-70s do not. You have to either buy disposable flash bars (10 flashes per bar, $10 per bar) or a electronic flash attachment (one-time purchase around $30), which also factor into the cost. Bear in mind that the Polaroid 600 series have built-in flashes, so you can save that $1 per picture.

SUMMARY
It's like the choice between a 2013 Honda or a 1967 Beetle. Polaroids provide an experience that is unmatched by modern instant cameras, but of course require a lot more investment, care, and patience. They're fun in a different way, and much more charming. But who knows? Polaroids may not be right for everyone. People like me, though, love the feeling of driving in a Beetle and would take it over the Honda any day.

NOTE: Polaroid cameras do not need batteries. They are powered by batteries built into each film pack, which may be another reason film is more expensive. Not to worry, though-- these internal film pack batteries can last for years. A Polaroid camera running out of batteries is never gonna be an issue. Fujifilm cameras, on the other hand, take regular batteries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This isn't a perfect film with the perfect camera..., July 29, 2014
By 
Shawn Ramirez (San Antonio, Txx USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Impossible PRD2783 Color Film for Polaroid Sx-70 Cameras (Camera)
Remember even expired film still works... depending on how many years. I shot my first box of this film about a year ago and the images were horrid. I shoot it now and the images are far better. Keep an eye on your exposure comp dial (turning to dark will make it dark, turning to light will make it light) so remember your lighting. The film is about ISO 150, camera is a f/8 and has a shutter speed range from 1/175s to more than 10 seconds. So shooting indoors may not work to well considering the mirror slap and any shaking from the user.

Now some people complain that the price is to much and I have to kind of agree. But I also try to remember that I'm paying for batteries, ink and developing.

Don't shake the film when developing, the film develops slooooooow. Put it face down in a dark bag and leave it there, light will effect its developing. You have to learn its ways and how to work with it. This isn't a perfect camera with perfect film. It's old, it has character... it has soul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great alternative for Polaroid Film, August 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Impossible PRD2783 Color Film for Polaroid Sx-70 Cameras (Camera)
This batch of the SX-70 film works great. I love the range of colors and it works wonderfully with my SX-70 Land Camera. My only real complaint is that it takes so long to develop (an hour to an hour and a half). It's also incredibly temperature sensitive (like all Impossible Film), which makes it pretty difficult to shoot in a hot climate.

Some general tips for using this film:
- Ideally, shoot and develop your film at room temp (70-80 degrees).
- If you're shooting outside on a hot day, try keeping a cooler with you, or leave your film in an air-conditioned car. Too much heat will make your shots appear yellow and over-exposed.
- If you're shooting outside on a cold day, immediately press the film to your body or put it in a warm pocket, etc. Cold film tends to come out blue/green.
- Expect it to take a while to develop. When the blue coating dissolves, it's finished.
- The date on the box is the production date. It's recommended you use the film within a year of that date. Note, this is NOT the expiration date. The film "expires" a year after the date printed on the box.
- The film is sensitive to light as it develops, so shield it ASAP. I usually put mine back in the box the film came in, and keep it closed in my purse (or pocket, or bag).

Happy shooting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fills a void, April 4, 2014
By 
Stacey G. Lloyd (Manassas, VA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Impossible PRD2783 Color Film for Polaroid Sx-70 Cameras (Camera)
It is very slow to develop (more so than I remember for Polaroid film), but there aren't many other choices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Your results will vary..., August 30, 2014
This review is from: Impossible PRD2783 Color Film for Polaroid Sx-70 Cameras (Camera)
I'm shooting with a vintage mint condition SX-70 and I've not had an undeveloped print yet, but the Impossible film isn't nearly as good as the Polaroid film, and you need to be aware of this going in. I prefer to use expired Polaroid film as you end up with a 70's look to your photos, but there's no guarantee that expired film will work. The reality is that the expired Polaroid film that works today, won't be working tomorrow. What Impossible has done is truly impossible, and if they lower the price point, which hovers close to the cost of expired film, then I wouldn't hesitate to give this film 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars pretty, or even the right color, November 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Impossible PRD2783 Color Film for Polaroid Sx-70 Cameras (Camera)
There really is no other option out there for a vintage polaroid camera. There is barely any "color" - it's mostly different shades of pale brown. However, the product is just as described - you get polaroids from the photo. Sure, they aren't high quality, pretty, or even the right color; but this is probably all we photo buffs can get. The instructions are very clear and the film useable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, October 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Impossible PRD2783 Color Film for Polaroid Sx-70 Cameras (Camera)
Incredibly sensitive film. Really expensive for the quality you receive. More trouble than it's worth.

If you're used to the polaroid or fuji pack film, you will be highly disappointed in the quality. If you like an expensive "you never know what you're gonna get" adventure, then go for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 8 Awful photos, October 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Impossible PRD2783 Color Film for Polaroid Sx-70 Cameras (Camera)
Was looking forward to using the SX-70 again and bought a pack of this film. Here are the results by installations and picture:
Install - did not eject top paper...paper as out by about 1/16th inch. Tried again, again, again, again, again. Finally it ejected the paper.
1) Took a photo, did not eject. Camera locked in mirror up. Opened compartment and shut it, camera ejected two frames at one time. Had to pry them both from the camera. One all white the other has this weird bubble thing halfway up. Both photos leaked nasty blue stuff from the top.
3) (skipped two because 1 and 2 came out as one). All white. Probably because mirror stuck up from previous photo? More nasty blue stuff - cleaned the eject area.
4) Photo of a cat. It cut off the top of his head. He is OK...it was only the photo - his head is still attached. More nasty blue stuff - cleaned the eject area.
5) Second photo of cat - at it looks like the cat. I can see it is really him. Blurry and greenish. More nasty blue stuff - cleaned the eject area and really washed my hands - am I going to die?
6) I have no idea what this photo was even of. It is a bizarre combination of blues greens and blacks. I like it. More nasty blue stuff.
7) Flower in the sun - completely washed out and over exposed and greenish. More nasty blue stuff. Can I sell the blue stuff?
8) Photo of the front of my house. I recognize it because I have lived here for 17 years. It is spooky and fabulous and crappy all at once - another art piece with more nasty blue stuff leaking out the back.

I might buy again in awhile....but for the price it is outrageous to pay $3 a photo for some really crappy photos. Perhaps if the camera gets working regularly it might get better...but until that time I will stick to DSLR. 1 star at this point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I wuz ripped off!, May 21, 2014
By 
michael s. THUSS (birmingham, alabama United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Impossible PRD2783 Color Film for Polaroid Sx-70 Cameras (Camera)
Film shipped was out of date. Very disappointed with this purchase! Going somewhere else to find SX-70 film. You are warned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid like the plague, January 26, 2015
This review is from: Impossible PRD2783 Color Film for Polaroid Sx-70 Cameras (Camera)
For Xmas I asked... and received a Polaroid SX 70 camera. I was giddy as a school girl. I was aware the film was no longer available but heard there were resources to purchase it. Was a little shocked to learn the price... but you can't put a price on Nostalgia. My Daughter was so intrigued by my camera, she purchased one as well.

Spoiler Alert... don't expect the 70s awesomeness with this film. So far we just have piles of blacked out or washed out pictures. NOTHING usable. When I contacted Impossible, the just told me I probably had expired film... whaaaa? If I purchase from Amazon I'm getting expired film? I've read other reviews and they agree. Avoid this film like the plague.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.